petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash

PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash

Safe and secure cat walking harnessNo pressure is applied to the throat when bungee cat leash is pulledHarness gently tightens along shoulders as needed to help direct your catBungee leash provides gentle give when walkingSternum sides adjust for perfect placement and for a custom fit
Average Customer Rating:
4.264 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
45 out of 53(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Review 1 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect kitty harness

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
TxRedhead
from Texas
This is a wonderful product to train a cat on walking on a leash. It's safe and it does not hurt your pet. Very durable and easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Box says size medium fits cats up to 20 lbs....

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Favian
from New York, NY
I bought a size medium. The box says it is good for cats up to 20 lbs, my cat is 19 lbs but still a little bit tight for him even though I adjusted the side straps to the maximum girth fit. Will have to exchange it to a size large instead.
The material is made of great material and it seems sturdy.
FYI, if your cat weighs 19 lbs or heavier, you must buy a size large.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for my furbabies

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
2kittyhouse
from Tulsa, OK
I bought the large size because my kitties are at the small end of the girth range for large and still growing. It fits them both great even though they aren't too keen on wearing them just yet. I can't wait to take them outside when the weather gets warmer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits better than my old one

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
thatcatlady
from Lakeview, OR
This harness (unlike an old one) fits my cats very well (I purchased the large size)! It can adjust to fit both my cats comfortably, and it doesn't pull or tug in any weird way. The bungee leash seems a bit silly and unnecessary, but whatever, it doesn't hurt anything.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat loves going outside!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
AllieB
from Salt Lake City, UT
When I first put this harness and leash on my cat, he wasn't very happy about it. But once I started taking him outside on it, he really liked the chance to smell things, lay in the dirt, and watch the birds. The hard thing is keeping him close, since he wants to explore, but the harness is secure without being near his neck or throat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cat's slip Out!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosepettal
from Montrose, CO
This product is neat. It go's on in about 1 minute. It comes in lots of different colors. But in 30 seconds My cat said "I don't think so!" My cat laid down no biggie. Then my cat up and ran then darted backward and slipped out. All in 30 seconds! I'm grateful this was in the house and NOT outside. The elastic leash is silly in my opinion. The cat will hit the end of the leash much the same way. We took it back right away and purchased something else! Petco was great in helping us exchange this for a harness and leash that so far are working great without escape!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cat LOVES going outside in this!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvRPets
from Oklahoma
This harness and leash is awesome. My savannah cat LOVES it. She is high energy and the bungee leash expands with her leaps and jumps. She does not mind the harness, (except a little when having to sit and get it on). It allows he to safely go outside and explore the outdoors without getting lost or hurt. The harness is very secure, but does not bother her. It's great to see her enjoy exploring the yard and chewing on grass which is good for digestion. The only drawback (which really isn't one) is she doesn't want to stop and go in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for your cat

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
DWatson
from Gloucester, MA
If you want to use a leash and harness for your cat, this is the one you should choose. It is light in weight and it is customizable for the exact size of your cat. It can grow with your cat by making the adjustments, so you do not have to replace it every time your cat gains weight or grows. Sizes for kitten to adult cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Safe Outdoor Fun

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oceanbrz
from Chicago, IL
This bungee leash is a great idea! I used to follow my kitten around the back yard on a regular leash and even though it was attached to a harnass I worried she might jump and accidentally hurt her neck. This leash made a world of difference for me. If she takes a leap the bungee gives, and she's fine. The medium size was perfect for my 10 month old. The length is good too. My only issue is the harness is a little tricky to put on but after a while I got used to it. Great product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harness & Bungee Leash

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
cuteasabutton
from Maryland
My cat doesn't actually work like a dog on this... YET but is happy to be outside checking things out like the dog.
He doesn't fight when I put it on him and walks in the yard on his own pace... I am there to follow him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits good

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
LittleD
from Caribou, ME.
I wanted to be able to take my cats outside safely. It fits nice and they aren't struggling with it when I put it on them. I think it will work out fine. Right now we still have snow so I can't use it yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Read the instructon manual carefully

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dika
from Calif.
At first I did not think it possible to leash a cat and walk him. But I saw my neighbor do it with their cat. I have been walking my cat indoors at first and he is slowly adjusting to the harness. Like anything with cats it takes several days for them to accept change. I am hoping to walk him outdoors soon. At first I bought the medium size which was to tight for him. He is about 9 years old and a little overweight. The large size is perfect for him, but finding the large harness and leash in petco stores is impossible so you will have to buy it online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
oldbear1957
from Winston-Salem,N.C.
Fits well. My kitty even sleeps in it. Does pull on her hard
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bungee and the cat!

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
HKDexter
from Louisiana
I got this harness and leash for my 3 year old male cat. I thought that I could take him for walks and the bungee would be easier on him. He lets me put it on him but then he just plops down and doesn't move. It's not tight on him and he isn't acting like he is in pain. Looks like he just needs to get used to wearing the harness. I try to let him wear it 10 to 15 min. a day. Hopefully he gets used to it because it is a neat product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far, So Good

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dail
from Wyoming
My cat actually let me put this on him which was pretty amazing. So far, he wears it around the house and plays with the leash so as a toy, it works great! We haven't taken a walk yet and if that happens, it will be a bonus. If he was any bigger(18 pounds), the large wouldn't fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's a ok product

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hutchinson,Mn
The come with me kitty harness is a good product because it's a one size fit's all and it doesn't need to be adjusted or fit to the cat. It is really confusing thought because of the fact that it doesn't need to be adjusted. When I pull back on the leash the harness tightens and fits to my cat but when I relax the leash the harness looks a little too big and it makes me fear my cat might escape. I try tightening it and adjusting it, but it just goes back to the way it way because it self tightens. The extra section of the harness where the leash hooks on is annoying because it just hangs their and gets in the way. My kitten likes to play with it. The bungee leash is a great safety tool because if my cat jumps then he won't get hurt.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Harness and bungee leash

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
love2walk
from McAllen, Tx
Love this product. The fact that the leash has a bungee cord is awesome, it allows my cat to be safe even if she gets spook. This product was recommended it to me by my vet Dr. She says she owns one as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice harness but has design issues?

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
BfromAZ
from Tucson, AZ
This harness is nice, the bungee leash is really nice, the material is good and it seems to be durable. However, one of my cats is able twist his body out of it. My other cat is more quiet so he hasn't tried to get out of this harness (yet) but I am assuming he also could if he wanted to. The way I am using it now is I use another manufacturer's harness with the leash that come with this one. I guess if they re-designed this harness it would be a perfect combo. :-)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ok harness

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beachgirl
from Youngstown, OH
My cat did not fight me the first few times putting this harness on. He did fantastic playing around inside. This is the only harness he was able to walk around in too. I was very optimistic about going outside. However when I tried to bring him out in the harness with the leash and he was still able to wriggle one leg out he absolutely freaked out! I thought I had the harness on well and had given him enough treats. I feel like now after trying a few times with different harnesses my cat is just traumatizied. I am not sure if these cat harnesses are the best idea because he almost hurt his leg and I was scared that worst was going to happen with how he fought me trying to get out of the harness! I was so scared he was going to get loose and I almost hurt him between the leash and him trying to run back inside. It became a dangerous situation, not to mention embarrassing because the neighbors were watching the whole time and thinking I am some crazy cat owner trying to let my cat enjoy the outdoors! I am not taking him out on a leash like that again. It might work for some cats but mine just won't get used to it. I live in a fairly calm apartment building but there is something that has my cat very upset--either another dog or person. It could just be the location of living in an apartment building with a lot of different activities going on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Gentle Leader Come with Me Kitty Harness & Bungee Leash
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good design for kitties

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
bodacious
from 46952
Ordered a large size for my six year old 18 lb. kitty. It seems to fit well & he didn't "fight" the harness as he had a previous harness.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>