petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge

Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge

Allows precise monitoring of both temperature and humidity in your hermit crab's homeUnique Velcro(R) backing allows for removal when cleaning enclosure
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Review 1 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hygrometer NOT accurate!

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hmmm
from NE
Before I review, I want to say that there is a TON of correct info on the web about properly setting up a crabitat. Please research BEFORE you buy crabs!! Esp. info about PPS (potentially fatal stress related to conditions in harvesting & pet stores). hermit crab paradise is one very informative site.
Now, I bought this for setting up a 10 gal tank for our first Hermit Crabitat. Checked its accuracy against our home weather station--indoors, outdoors & bathroom after a hot shower. Temp readings were fine, relative humidity was at least 10% points off, sometimes more. Ex: indoor= 50%RH, this gauge read 62%; outdoor was 39%, gauge reading was 70%. The hygrometer also moved to the extremes in response to being held in my hand and blown on gently. NOT ACCURATE.
Again, humidity is crucial for hermit crabs & their chances of survival. You need to be able to regulate it properly, and this gauge did not work correctly! Thankfully, I was able to return it for a refund with no problems.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Humidity gauge for snake

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
smg1169
from Oklahoma City, OK
It seems to work fine. Temp is steady with my other thermometer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
FavysMom
from PA
It worked perfectly out of the packaging and now has shown me that I have plenty of humidity in the crabs' aquarium. Great purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mother2all
from Houston, Tx
This was great for my Sandy and Shelly! Since I live in Texas and it is hot I need to regulate the temp. in my crabitat. It has worked great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Petzyperson23
from Glen Ellyn Il
I loved this!!! It read very well and I loved how it was velcro so when you clean the habitat it was easy to remove. It was a great price for such a good quality! If you are looking for a thermometer I would definitly get this product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice

PostedMay 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
animallover4567
from San Diego Ca
this is an awesome hermit crab thermometer and humidity reader it looks good and is very easy to read
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not the best

PostedJanuary 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
petsinvadedmyhouse
i bought this but had to return it because it had inaccurate readings and i belived it wasnt worth the chance for my beloved hermies. its a good idea though with the colors and was easy to read.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Gauge

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
AnimalLover1123
This product works well to measure the humidity but it does not stick to the side very well in high humidity (which hermit crabs MUST have) so it would work better for dry habitats. If you don't have the money for a digital one or one that hangs (not sticks) then this will work but don't be surprised when it falls down. Overall I would recommend it to a friend! Another plus is that it comes in different colors and you can match it to your animal's habitat or to your personal preference!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Easy to Read

PostedJune 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nickel2007
from Caribou, Maine
This product is very small but easy to read. If you want your habitat to look naturaul it is very easy to hide. It has the perfect temp/humidity for a hermit crab marked in yellow so you know when your crabitat is at the perfect conditions. It is a little pricey but it is worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Dual Thermometer & Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap and Efficient

PostedApril 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
megamelfina
This is a very cheap and working hydrometer/thermometer. It works just as well as the more expensive ones and comes in fun colors. It's also easy to read.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.