petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver

PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver

Designed for stubborn or hard-to-train pets 4 levels of correction, plus tone-only optionUses 9-volt alkaline battery (not included)WaterproofWeight includes receiver, collar strap, battery and contact pointsModel PRF-275-19
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Review 1 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement Receiver

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
cooperdog
Have had the Pet Safe fence for 7 years. Time to replace the receiver. Worked great!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lovepets12
from nc
Works really well! Also worked with my old fence I had already for 3 years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
mommaB
from Galliano, LA
This one is definitely better than the regular receiver because it also has a vibration warning. My dog is more sensitive and on alert with this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT!!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lazer1
from Grand Rapids, MI
Have a boarder collie, and this collar works great. Border Collies love to chase anything that moves, and without this and the underground Pet Safe fence, he would have been gone long ago. He learned very quickly and never challenges the boarders of the fence and can leave him unattended for periods without worry. Great product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PetSafe Radio Fence

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
nhdogowner
from Alstead NH
We have used the fence and collars for years and they work wonderful spring to fall, but once winter arrives, the dogs have to be put on runs because the units do not work. I know other people who use these and have no problems in the winter so I do not know why we have always had a problem. We have replaced the wires twice and the collars, so it is a mystery to us and to the company. Otherwise, we love the product because we cannot afford to fence in our huge yard and this system allows our dogs to run freely in the yard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

wired vs wireless

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
dalps5
from Quincy, IL
The PetSafe collar advertisement did not state if it was pertinent to the wired vs wireless containment system. I purchased it thinking it would work for the wireless system (which I had already acquired). But the collar was for the wired system.
Be aware that the collar & advertisement description does not state that it is for the wired or the wireless system.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lazydog
Dog still runs through - what a waste
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace of mind

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Troy, Mi
I have two dogs and I don't have to worry when I let them loose in the yard. They have freedom to run and stay in my yard. Even a squirrel or a rabbit may come by but the dogs still stay in the yard. I recommend this to anyone who wants their dog to have freedom in their yard and not be tied down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice but bulky

PostedJune 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
bigj
They work but are big and heavy. I like that 9 volt batteries are cheap and easier to get but not the size and weight. Overall it works just fine though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best investment ever made!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Khristian
from Bowling Green, KY
We have a giant schauzer and a mut and this collar works wonderfully! Our schauzer is so use to it he doesnt even have to have the collar on to stay in the yard. I dont have to worry about them or keep them locked up in the house while im at work! This was definately worth the money and i definatley recomend it to anyone looking for an underground fence. I also love the 5 settings so you can adjust it to the specific dogs needs. I would however recomend you get extra prongs and washers if you have more than one dog and if they like to play rough.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful

PostedFebruary 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Boxerlovers
This is a wonderful collar. It worked very well for our very stubborn boxer. He's a bit of a "meatball" but we love him all the same.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Standard Battery!

PostedApril 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
LotsOCritters
I love that this collar uses a 9v battery instead of having to order expensive button cells. We've been using the system over 9 months now, and are still on our first battery. Just tested it today, and it's still working.
My dog isn't the brightest, and refuses to figure out the white flags. He's just doesn't go anywhere NEAR the fence line. I feel kind of bad that he thinks his yard is so much smaller now. But at least he's safe. He was escaping out the front door every chance he got to go on a grand tour of the neighborhood. I love that he can hang out with us out front now. (We have a traditional fence plus the Petsafe invisible in the back.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Radio Fence Systems Extra Receiver -- Super Receiver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedAugust 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
totall
The stubborn dog system does indeed keep your hard to handle pet wherethey belong, however if you have 2 or more decent sized dogs, the collar doesn't hold up well to rough play.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.