petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter

Multi-stage external canister filter system includes a self-priming instant-start system that eliminates the need for manual siphoningFeatures multi-directional twin output nozzlesPurge valve allows for partial discharge of debris without needing to move the unitConvenient, easy to change lift-out stack of media basketsFor freshwater and marine aquariums up to 400 gallons
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter
Review 1 for Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the best

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
CALTREK
from Canton, MI
This filter is the best I have ever seen. I purchased this for my 75 gallon reef tank and its doing an excellent job.
The only negative is the hoses are not too secure at the top of the tank if you have a rim tank. The hoses will not fall off but could be a little steadier
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great filter

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeremy1975
from Millington MI
This filter works great. It has a huge filter area and holds just over 5 gallons of water. I would recommend that you do not use the water polishing pads without using the fine particle pads placed in the filter before them. If you use just the polishing pads you will likely be changing them once or twice a week. Like in another review I made a spray bar discharge out of appropriately sized pvc pipe with a T in the middle. The correct size will plug right into the rubber connector on the supplied corrugated hose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

just OK.

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
lowzone
from Rochelle Park NJ
ive had fish tanks over 30 years, from reefs to shrimp only tanks. the filter does well for cleaning larger tanks but it doesnt catch all the fine particles that my smaller fluvals seem to catch. if you use the polishing pads in the FX5, it will get the water crystal clear, but you will be cleaning the filter out every 3-5 days. thats how much water this filter flows. It has a tendency to suck up air bubbles and gets noisy. the pump is loud as well, again comparing it to a Fluval 405. Dont use with a sand bed, gravel only. any disturbance in the sand and it will circulate it and never have a clear tank. running mine on a 125 until i upgraded to a 220 RR with sump set up. personally, i think 2 405 (or newer) would work better and give better flow control. not worth it in my opinion, there are better Fluval systems out there...also the screw down nobs break easy...and about 15.00 each, the o rings start to leak after a few valve removals, from excessive cleaning due to polishing pads...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best canister filter on market

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
saltandfresh
from Belleville, IL
The fluval fx5 is by far the best canister filter i have ever purchased. I use it for a 220 gallon fresh water cichlid tank. This filter keeps my water quality great and water changing fast and simple. This filter is also very easy to clean and care for. I would recommend this to anyone who has a good sized or overstocked aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must for large tanks!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
I have been running two of these on a 210g tank for a few years now. Never once have I had a problem with it. If you own a large tank of at least 75 gallons or above I would recommended this filter. It will stir up quite a current. I wish they made spray bars for it, but if you have a little diy in you, they can be made from pvc pipe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Filter

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
ESzelestey
from Pittsburgh, PA
This filter does a beautiful job on my 120 gal freshwater tank. It was easy to set up, and is super quiet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME FILTER

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
reefhead92
this filter works great, i have had a 100 gal reef and a 100 gal fresh i used this filter on both setups and it works wonders. within an hour of installing the filter my water was crystal clear and sparkaling. this filter pumps a TON of water creates a nice amount of current even for a reef tank, also LOVE the HUGE media trays.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval FX5 External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Satisfied

PostedSeptember 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
redshorts47
My first canister filter. Was recommended by a friend to purchase a fluval canister filter. Decided on the FX5 due to the 120 gal. take I recently purchased. Was a little overwhelmed at first glance of the manual due to the thickness but it was only thick because it is in multi-languages. Fact is,it was really simple to put up. Went through the directions one step at a time which are very nicely and clearly written. The canister works amazing, and is super quite. Couldn't be any happier with this product. A+++
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
19of 42voted this as helpful.