petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors

PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors

Premium quality transparent vinyl replacement flap for PetSafe Freedom aluminum and plastic pet doorsIncludes easy-to-follow instructions and all necessary hardwareModels: Small PAC11-11037; Medium PAC11-11038; Large PAC11-11039; Extra-Large PAC11-11040
Average Customer Rating:
3.522 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
6
17 out of 23(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Review 1 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just In The Nick Of Time!

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Newburyport, MA
We have a set of Freedom Doors that we mounted through an exterior wall so that our cats can enjoy the luxury of coming and going on their schedules - not ours.
After a couple of seasons of heavy use, we needed to replace both flaps as the temperatures began to drop and the winter winds began to blow. The replacement flaps arrived quickly, installed in a couple of minutes and now we can relax, knowing the doors will again function as designed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this product

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, texas
The original flap did not seal very well and I was hoping that a new flap would seal better. WRONG!! It is no better and may even be worse.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Freedom replacement flap

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Davenport, IA
The XL doggie door flap fit just fine and works fine. The only criticism is that it is not as heavy duty as the original.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Door Flap

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Graham, Washington
Having had our Dog door builtin to our rear sliding door I never thought about the flap wearing out. Well we are down to one dog, we usually have three, and two cats who have all used it daily. When friends and family come over their pets are welcome too, the door gets a lot of use. It was nice to be able to replace the flap without having to replace the whole door, thank you Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop the outside walking

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hiawatha,Ia.
Needed replacement flap for your doggie door.
Fits perfect and shipping was very quick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from VA
This was a replacement flap to the ensemble I purchased about 10 years ago. The replacement is slightly longer than the opening, and is NOT made of the hefty and sturdy rubber as the original flap, on top of that; the replacement flap does not have the ridges to keep the flap in place. I had to rig it and I know it will not hold up as it was not designed to be rigged / screwed on the outside of the metal frame. It's a mess. I don't understand how the company is even passing these replacement flaps as actual replacements. I am absolutely NOT happy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

replacement flap for pet door

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Mexico
The dimensions of the replacement flap matched that of our door but it did not fit. The magnetic closures did not connect. Local stores do not carry replacement flaps and ordering one on the internet is not a good solution as it is difficult to know if it is the right match.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love PetSafe Doggie Doors

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I have had the PetSafe Doggie Door for several years. I have had the same flap on it for the entire time until recently. It stands up to weather and large dogs well. I have had others in the past that the flap did not last like this one does. I would definitely recommend it to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product was as expected.

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
The replacement flap fit my existing door as it should. There was a small gap where the platic was curved out but I am hoping that will straighten out over time. The only complaint is that this is not available in the Petco store and had to pay for shipping. It was expensive enough to replace just this one piece was 25% of what the entire unit cost me. Had to replace because my dog chewed both corners when I "locked" him out with the hard insert. I have learned to put this on the outside to prevent this from happening again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BUYER BEWARE!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Layton, UT
As mentioned by several other reviewers, the replacement flaps sold today DO NOT even fit the door models of a couple of years ago. I have purchased Pet Safe brand Dog Doors for 2 different homes over the past 20 years, and used replacement flaps before with them. However, this is the FIRST TIME that that replacement flap is NOT THE SAME. Our original door has a groove at the top, and the prior replacement flaps had come with a piece that slide into that groove from one side or the other. NOW, the replacement flap comes with screw holes at the time which don't line up with anything and technically make the flap a bit to long to properly catch the magnet and hold it tight. My husband is going to have to try to re-rig it to work or worst case scenario, we might have to purchase new doors altogether.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping out the cold

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bloomington, IL
I love this replacement flap from Petco because they offer it for less than the manufacturer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PetSafe Replacement

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Unless you have the original Freedom Doors, the flap will NOT work for any other frame. We purchased a house with a dog door already installed, but the flap needed to be replaced. The measurements were almost to the T, but the holes did not align properly where the screws hold together. Now we either need to purchase an entire dog door system, or on a mission to find a flap that fits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Much better than old flap door

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
We needed to replace the flap on our doggie door which was installed about 15 years ago. That brand is no longer offered. (we have replaced the flap a couple of times in the past) This item worked fine for our neeeds. It also helped that my husband is able to fix, adjust or build just about anything. He had to cut some extra off the sides of the flap and drilled new holes in the metal top of the flap so it would fit with our existing screw holes through the door support and wood. It is much nicer with the new flap, no hot air coming in from outside and a secure magnet to keep it in place. It is opaque not clear which the dogs had to get use to :-) Doggie door 101 for a day or two. However I hope the fact it isn't clear will help keep the sun from heating up the room like it use to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not perfect

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sebring, FL
Ordered the medium size replacement plastic Freedom Door Flaps (2). The width was fine but length was way to long for the opening & top holes punched in wrong spots. The plastic holes are not as reinforced as the original. Had to cut length & punch new holes myself. Good but much effort for correct fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to install

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Murphy,NE
never realized how bad the old flap was until I replaced it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Geneva, NY
I have a dog door that we put in for our 5 year old German Shepherd. The door works great except for the fact our Shepherd pup thinks it's a chew toy. She destroyed the original flap on the door, so I ordered two replacements to be safe. The first replacement lasted 2 hours. Guess I will wait til she outgrows the chewing stage to put on the second replacement. Flap however is perfect and easy to install, I would need a steel replacement to cure my chewer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant product

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
our replacement flap fit and works beautiful, easy to replace
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Settled

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Northern California
We purchased our dog doors years ago and now can't find the right replacement size. This one was the a little too long but still worked.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Customer Service/Had hard to find product

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio
I was a little concerned about ordering this product because I have a different size dog door than the stock photo that is shown and there are a different number of holes in the door that I have vs. the one shown on the web site. I haven't been able to find a replacement flap at any of my local stores because of the size I needed, so my only option was using the internet. After talking to customer service, they helped me make sure that it was the correct door and explained that if it wasn't the door replacement that I needed that I could return it to a local petco for a full refund. In addition to the good service, the door was cheaper through petco, and shipping was free on top of it all. Thanks Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Replacement Flap for Freedom Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad purchase

PostedApril 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from alabama
Looks great but flaps will not last! Had to replace twice in 4 years! Design flaw- holes at top of flap tear. Holes too close to top and no reinforcement. Expensive to replace. Doesn't close properly- leaves drafts
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>