petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box

SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box

Keeps cats entertained for hours while they try to get toys and treats out of the boxGreat for when your pet is home aloneIncludes two fun toys for added cat attractionSturdy wood construction will last for years
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
27 out of 30(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Review 1 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smart Cat Peek-a-Prize Toy Box

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jenmb
from Milwaukee WI
Great toy! Bought for kittens but my 6 year old cat loves as well. Arrived slightly damaged-wood cracked on corner. Too much of a hassle to send back.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Busy Box

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
BobStitch
from North Hampton, NH
I call this their busy box because my two rag dolls are at this at least once a day trying to get the balls out of the holes. If that doesn't work they indignantly sit on top of it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product has natural instinct features

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
star45
from massachusetts
have two two year old cats and they took to the Peek-A-Prize box faster than most of the other toys we have given them. They always stick there toys under the coffee table so hunting for them in the box came naturally. The box is also very sturdy. I am very happy with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Toy Ever

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
ManagerieMom
This is the best toy I have ever bought. This is the first time I have bought a toy that both of my cats will play with. Our girl loves the balls that came with it. She will work hard to get at them and then will play with them for hours. I have gotten in the habit of putting them back in the box every time I see them just sitting out, and she loves getting them back out. For our boy, I leave some of their dry food in it, so he can get a snack if he wants (since frequently our girl steals the food out of his bowl). Surprisingly, she won't touch the food in the box, so it is a great solution for allowing him some extra food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great toy!

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Catdiva1950
from Collierville, Tn
Sadly none of my 3 cats seemed interested, even when I put their toys in the box. Product is well made. Customer service was great on return. I would recommend you give it a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fun at first...

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris10Leah
from Virginia
I bought this for my kitten so she would have some form of entertainment while I'm at work. She figured it out pretty quickly, and she still plays with it. I think the claim that it will keep her entertained for hours is a bit of a stretch, since once she figured it out it doesn't take her very long to get all the toys and treats out. Also, it only comes with two toys in it, so I recommend buying more so it's not empty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun toy!

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
PufftailOwner
from Pittsburgh, PA
All 3 of my cats enjoy this toy. They played with it right away, and a few days later are still interested in trying to get toys out. One cat even puts toys back in! Great purchase, good value, well made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great ongoing toy & can utilize other toys too

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
lupinsgal
from Minnesota
My 8-yr old kitties didn't tire of this toy - they love it & enjoy it almost daily, and it's great because one of my 2 cats is blind & she can easily use this toy. I put catnip onto the 2 ball-toys included, as well as onto other small toys they already had which I tucked into the puzzle/box as well. Now my cats play with those old small toys which prior to the puzzle-box they had tired of. It's such a good toy that I chose to buy one for friends for their new cat - to entertain that cat & also give an alternative to some naughty little tricks he was getting into from boredom. Excellent & challenging toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
EM104
from TX
My cat loves this. Not for toys but for treats. We put toys in there, too, to make it harder to get the treats out. She's gotten very good at it and will keep at it until she's gotten all the treats out. Smart kitty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 month kitten loves it!

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
WhiteTabbyToes
from Highlands Ranch
Our kitten loves this box! We bought 2 and use with the balls that were included. And with Pet Stages Dental Health Cat Chew Toys/2 Pk (sold by Petco) which we prefer as the balls keep rolling under things (the kitten can't reach under) and that require a long reach for us to retrieve! These chew toys allow much longer play inside the box as well. We also use a squeaky toy mouse which he also loves in the boxes!
We really appreciate the neutral color and hard wearing finish since this item sits out in our lounge and master bedroom. We have now ordered the SmartCat Scratching Post as it looks like it will blend into the home surroundings nicely as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

peek a prize

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
scubagirl06492
from wallingford, connecticut
I adopted 5 kittens. They are all active, love to play and will be 1 yr old in March and April. This peek a prize was fun the first evening it arrvived. Its now a center piece in my living room floor. Actual toys would have been nice also instead of two economic balls.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mildly amusing

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
fluffykitties
from San Diego, CA
My kitties only use this for as long as it takes them to push the balls out of the side holes; which is about 3 minutes. Then I have to hunt down the balls put them back into the box. Not very much fun. Not even a challenge to push the balls out of the toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great toy!

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
lilwhiskers
from Oregon
I got this toy box for my two kitties and it has done wonders with keeping them occupied. It comes with two toy balls and I put my own toys in there along with some treats and sprinkle cat nip. They love it! So happy I got it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun for kittens to find all the treasures

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
GracieJ
My three kittens really like this toy. My older cats ignore it however. The kittens can get bored with it easy tho so make sure you exchange the toys frequently. Treats & catnip toys are also great ways to keep them engaged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fun for my Cats

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom2CharleyMya
from Englewood, NJ
Charley, my 4-year old, and Mya, the new kitten, needed something fun and challenging to play with. The Peek-a-Prize Toy Box has been great! In addition to the two balls it came with I've added two plastic balls with bells, several small toy mice, and sometimes cat treats. They both have a great time getting things out (surprisingly Charley has been more successful at getting the treats). The only problem is that I have to track down all of the toys so I can put them back in. Very glad we got this very sturdy, well-made toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SmartCat Peek-A-Prize

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2CHimplay
from ND
If your cat is FOOD MOTIVATED ... he will work & work at getting all those treats out of every corner and space in the box. My son's 11-year-old cat started out slow, but can now send a treat "flying" from the center of the box, out the hole on the side ... or ... he will fling a piece stuck in the corner toward the nearest hole & fetch it from there. BTW ... this cat is left-handed; no doubt about it. He may leave some treats sitting in the box but will come back later to get them out too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great toy

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lucy24Fast
from New York
When I noticed that my 1 year old cat was deliberately hitting her favorite balls and toys under the refrigerator or behind the 7 foot bookcase, I realized that she likes the hunt! So with this box, I can put her favorite balls in there and then put other small stuffed toys in the way so as not to make it that easy for her to retrieve them. She's so delighted for a long time. She's so excited when she finally gets her coveted ball out that she drops it at my feet as if to say "do it again!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

lots of fun

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
DarcysMom
from Cocoa, Florida
My two cats love this toy. The only thing is, it is way too easy to get the balls out of the box. They should have made it a little more difficult for the balls to come out of the side holes. One of my cats had both balls out and "lost" in less than 10 minutes. I managed to find one of the balls but still haven't located the other one. The good thing is, almost all of their other balls and small toys fit into the holes so there is still lots of fun to be had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not so interested

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
AliceL
from Washington DC
I have no complaints about the construction of this product. My cat who loves to chase and bat a ball around a track was not so interested in it. She did seem to play with it a little, but she was not immediately fascinated.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Peek-A-Prize Toy Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Peek a Prize Toy Box

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
DelSp
from Charlotte
My cat plays with this toy for a short while. She gets the balls out and when I put them back in she is not really interested in playing again. Also She is not interested in playing with the toy when i put her personal toys in the box, just the balls that comes with it. Only negative is that the box only comes with 2 balls. They should include at least 5 balls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>