petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Rat Manor features four 3/8" wire mesh levels and three laddersWire mesh platforms provide a safe and sanitary living space for your pet ratFeatures washable, chew-proof, heavy duty welded wire that also has a convenient stain-resistant powder coated finishDeep metal base helps to prevent to prevent scatters and spills, which reduces mess around the habitatSpacious enough to allow for various toys and rat suppliesPetco rat cages feature easy to assemble interweaving wire connection
Average Customer Rating:
4.395 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(286 Reviews) 286
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 286 reviews
5 stars
185
4 stars
60
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 star
11
261 out of 286(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Review 1 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, Fl
I bought this cage for my son's pet rat. It was an emergency because he had chewed through his other cage and we needed one fast! Not only did we receive this cage three days after ordering it, but it is an excellent cage. It was a snap to put together. It's sturdy, huge, and best of all...completely chew proof!!! There is enough room in this cage for atleast two or three adult rats. My son loves that there is a complete second level floor for his rat to play on, instead of just all half shelves. I wish I had done my homework before buying the first cage we got which cost almost twice as much, and it was much smaller and had a lot of plastic parts. There is so much more room for extra toys for him to play with. My son is thrilled! Thanks so much for not charging the shipping that other stores charge that double the price. I will definetly recommend this cage to all his friends mothers who are know contemplating a rat for a pet! ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+101points
109of 117voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Cage!

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Utah
I'm a first time rat owner and decide to get this cage due to its affordability and some of the good reviews. I have not been disappointed! I have two male rats and they love the different levels. Cleaning is a breeze because all I have to do is make sure my boys are in the top most level (preferably lounging in their pineapple hut- also sold by Petco) and I lift the cage out of the base- where the care fresh is kept. The base easily fits into the width of a tall trash bag, also. It takes me MAYBE five minutes total to clean the cage. Very easy, very durable. Well worth the buy. Putting it together was quite simple, also. I'd recommend this cage to every rat owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good cage 4 the $

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Queens,NY
Although I would like to get 1 of the bigger cages they r a lil pricey n might b 2 big but who am I kidding I'll prob go all out n get 1 but as for this cage....it was a lil bit of a pain to set up the levels but good news once there in ur pain is over,it's a decent space for my 2 baby rats&they seem to like it running around making noise at 5am Lol...I do plan on putting some padding in cas of the dreaded bumblefoot but they've been in it almost 2months n their feet r fine. I wish the cage was a little wider but still it's a good size cage n good price,I haven't really seen anything else I like that's between the size of rat manor n the $250 ones,would b cool if they came out w rat manor 2 for around $150 n it was bigger but not as big as the $250 cage. My negatives are that the stairs always fall down,I dunno if there's something wrong w my stairs maybe I have to tighten em w something after putting em in but they constantly fall especially the 1 on the lower level however my rats can obviously still get around,also they r always knocking stuff out of their cage(like poo)&they've peed off the sides onto the floor n wall but I'm guessing that can happen w any multilevel so that's not really a negative with this cage,so all in all it appears I have no really big negatives. I am happy I got this cage n would get it all over again although I'd like 2 get a bigger cage it may b more of a pain to clean this cage is still light enough I can take everything out n throw it in my shower n wipe it down 2 give it a good cleaning every now n then since my rats like to potty everywhere n just flip over their litter pan. I would like to get a bigger cage to put even more stuff in but right now I'm able to fit in a lil hanging toy,hamster hide out,a hammock n I actually got a birds nest that they love that I put in as well as a bird hideaway thing(4got what itz called but they constantly slept in it for a month till I put the hammock in,they sleep in the hammock cas they got 2 big for both of em 2 fit in the bird thing),so yea I have a decent amount of stuff in their for em n am happy w the cage. If a friend was asking me I'd say either go all out n get a huge 1 or get rat manor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Cage, Could Use Improvement

PostedMay 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
This cage was on sale for a really good deal when I bought it, but it's still worth the money compared the other cages that are just as expensive (even when it's not on sale).
It was pretty challenging to put together because the black bars kept messing with my eyes and sometimes I'd find a bar bent out of place. But with some patience, it can be done by one person in about 30 minutes or less.
The uneven cage platforms need to be covered up with towels or fleece to help prevent bumblefoot in rats, but that can be easily fixed. So although I'd love to have plastic levels, the metal ones are more secure.
So all in all, the cage is a good value and pretty sturdy, but needs a few improvements.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Minnie mouse loves her new mansion.

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Downey, CA
This is a nice size for my mouse. She loves to run around and makes tunnels underneath the towels that we place inside on the bottom. She likes to go up and down on the ladders. It's just the right size spaces between the bars so she doesn't find a way to get out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Louisville
I use this cage for my sugar glider and he loves it! its amazing quality the cage doors slide up. came with everything on the picture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the rat manor!

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Spokane, WA
great product and my rat loves her new home! Pretty easy to set up and clean. cheaper to buy online then in store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy cage fore my rat's

PostedApril 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from WA
Before this cage i had a single level cage the rat's i had before the ones i have now were OK with it though it was a little small it had q plastic base they never gnawed through it i put my new rat's in it they gnawed i could see after awhile they would get through it i have been looking at this cage for some time so i got it the rat's seem to like it allot not going to gnaw through this one they seem to be happy and play fight allot with the extra room they sometimes sleep one at the top and one at bottom then come together in the middle i took them a few hours to get used to it now they can fly from bottom to top in less then a second was not to hard to assemble overall i would recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Redding, California
We are so happy with this habitat. I wasn't sure what to expect but it was easy to assemble, just the right size for our two rats and offers plenty of options for them to sleep, play and just generally hang around comfortably. Highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Big enough...but beware bumblefoot

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from MN
Definitely big enough for 2-3 rats, but the wire levels are painful on their feet and can cause bumblefoot, and extreme swelling of an area on the foot. Nice cage, but cover the levels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy!

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Clyde, NY
I had to get a new cage for my two rats because I had them in a ferret cage and they were getting out. So I bought this cage. To start off all of the boxes in the store were damaged. So then when I got home and tried to set it up the bottom tray was damaged. I let this one go because it was still usable. But after about half an hour of trying to get this cage together it was all done. I woke up one night to one of my rats making this noise of pure pain and one of the shelves had fallen on him. And this was not my error this the cage designs error. I couldn't get the level to stay in place for anything. I had this cage for a little over a month and I couldn't wait to return. I recommend if you have rats avoid this cage!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large & Spacious; My 2 Rats Love It!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster, PA
Way bigger than I thought it was going to be. I got a super awesome deal for $57.99 or so... What a steal! I have two female, adult rats and there is plenty of room for climbing, toys, hammocks, cubes, a wheel, and more. Easy assembly. No issues with the shelves or ladders - everything fit together perfectly and was the exact length/width it needed to be. Would definitely recommend. Two thumbs up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not impressed

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia
This cage was easy enough to put together although I did pinch my fingers about a thousand times. It's so hard to clean and the doors are way too small to fit anything through. I guess it's okay if you are on a super tight budget but I don't recommend this cage if you're looking for something easier to clean.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cage!

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ely, MN
This is an awesome cage! Plenty of room where I put tubes inside the cage. Our "Houdini" Teddy Bear Hamster had not escaped from this cage. Very easy to put together & clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rattie heaven

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
This set up is sturdy and roomy, my little ratties are really enjoying all the levels and climbing availability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fredericksburg, VA
I bought this cage for my 3 rats. They love it and so do I. Only problem is thhe bottom door is kinda hard to open but I would much rather have that than my ratties be able to push it open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pa
My rat was previously in a glass terrarium. He loves this cage, it provides excercise that he needs to be healthy. Two people put it together pretty easily. He does knock the bottom ladder off, but it's not a big issue. Big cage, could definitely hold a second rat. Very pleased with the quality and price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I ordered this cage Sunday night and received it Friday morning, I was so beyond excited for my babies! Other reviews mention the box was in bad shape when they got it, but fortunately mine was not. Putting together the cage is a little bit of a pain but once it's finished and put together it is so worth it. I have been wanting to get my babies a cage like this for a while and when I saw the 40% off sale I had to get it. I am extremely happy and so are my 3 rats!
I still have some decorating to do, but the picture shows the size!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Enough room

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, TX
We have two rats are there is plenty of room for both of them. The assembly was a little frustrating without help of another person. They love going up and down the levels. The only problem I have seen is the ladders do not secure perfectly on each level so it makes noise when they travel up and down it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from kenosha,wi
It is perfect, my little female rat kept escaping from my old one i had so i needed a new and i found this one for a good price and when i received it was easy to put together. ...and now my little girl cant escape anymore and i dont have to worry that she get hurt or aattacked by my moms cat...,both my female rats love this cage they get to climb everywhere in it with the 3 lvls it has....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>