petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Rat Manor features four 3/8" wire mesh levels and three laddersWire mesh platforms provide a safe and sanitary living space for your pet ratFeatures washable, chew-proof, heavy duty welded wire that also has a convenient stain-resistant powder coated finishDeep metal base helps to prevent to prevent scatters and spills, which reduces mess around the habitatSpacious enough to allow for various toys and rat suppliesPetco rat cages feature easy to assemble interweaving wire connection
Average Customer Rating:
4.437 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(245 Reviews) 245
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 245 reviews
5 stars
163
4 stars
50
3 stars
17
2 stars
6
1 star
9
225 out of 245(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 200 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Review 1 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
bellridge
from Orlando, Fl
I bought this cage for my son's pet rat. It was an emergency because he had chewed through his other cage and we needed one fast! Not only did we receive this cage three days after ordering it, but it is an excellent cage. It was a snap to put together. It's sturdy, huge, and best of all...completely chew proof!!! There is enough room in this cage for atleast two or three adult rats. My son loves that there is a complete second level floor for his rat to play on, instead of just all half shelves. I wish I had done my homework before buying the first cage we got which cost almost twice as much, and it was much smaller and had a lot of plastic parts. There is so much more room for extra toys for him to play with. My son is thrilled! Thanks so much for not charging the shipping that other stores charge that double the price. I will definetly recommend this cage to all his friends mothers who are know contemplating a rat for a pet! ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+69points
76of 83voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than expected - but w/a discount

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
oldenoughtoknowbetter
from NC, NC
I had then we had a rat and now two female rats over many years. I only dealt with one rat at a time, though. At another store where we got the girls, the only reasonable-looking cage they had for two female hooded rats was a guinea pig cage (also recommended for small guys like hamsters, etc. & rats). But the cage was going to be way too small in time. I didn't like it - one level and I bought a ladder and hammock to attempt to make it workable. It helped and I wish I had seen this one first.
About six weeks later, I started looking for another cage. Times have changed since our last rat and cage (20 years). They've become much more cheaply made - no doubt about it. Reviews on so many were bad by too many people. This cage was on sale and the worst complaint appeared to be that the instructions were bad.
I read/skimmed them and had the base assembled in under ten minutes. The sides just stuck together (they were hooked) but it wasn't a problem to use my noodle and lay it out. The directions are klutzy but I used them as a guide rather than a step-by-step booklet. So, they didn't bother me.
The base is flexible and a bit flimsy and could be made more sturdily and it would be much heavier. That's about the only thing (thus far) I'd change in it. We moved the girls from the guinea pig cage (I've had them, too) to this monster and they look like midgets. It allows them running room and they can use the ladders or just climb up the sides. I love that the food dish is not in the shredded paper. I haven't seen any issue with their toes being stuck in the flooring - I understand how some rat's could get stuck, though.
Bernie and Ziva are sleeping comfortably in their new space. It has more room for another female but we're not doing that.
I think if I had to pay full price, I would keep it but would've been annoyed. The great thing about Petco is we have a 60 day return policy and I'm not worried about it.
Cleaning it was also listed as an issue. But I don't know why. Press in the cage to extract it from the base holders and lift off the top. Rather than disposing the litter in a kitchen bag, it will go in a larger leaf bag. Cleaning the cage is not going to be an issue either. If the ladders come off, putting them on will take 30 seconds for two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A very fine cage!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
MeggySue
from PA
I had quite an escape artist rat who went through two cages. The first had bars that she could squeeze between, and the second had a chew-able plastic base that she made a hole in. This cage, however, is perfect for her and her companion. The bars are narrowly spaced, and the base is made of durable metal. My little girls can climb around and expend energy without escaping!
The only problems with this cage are that:
a) It takes time to assemble and disassemble, and the complex process makes it difficult to put large toys, such as houses and running wheels, on the central floor. I did manage to fit their wheel there, but I struggled to place it.
b) The smaller platforms, particularly the lowest one in my case, sometimes fall down, and the ramps fall with them. I have managed, however, to make them stay for the time being.
In addition, the platforms need to be covered with fabric or cardboard, but this is not too much of a hassle as long as these materials are readily available and changed regularly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome habitat!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
lots4cats
from elk grove, ca
This cage is absolutely perfect for my two rats! Each one has laid claim to their own level! It's MUCH larger than it appears! Very easy and quick to set up as well as clean. The mesh on the 'ladders' and levels is a brilliant idea so their feet won't get stuck in the bars, a problem I've had with other cages. I just wish they would sell extra levels you could add to the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My rats love this cage!!!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
gins04
from Molino Fl
I just got this cage today and I love it! So do my 3 girls! So easy to put together! It may need a few reinforcements with zip ties if you have big boys. My girls are still climbing all over it checking it all out! I was going to buy it online last week but didn't so I decided to stop in the store today and they had 1 so I snatched it up!!! So glad I did! Highly recommend this cage! I have searched high and low and this one was the one that I landed on. Its chew proof...BIG...bar spacing is perfect ( I have two 9 week olds and a one year old)! Love it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect cage for the price

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
TheJessness
I LOVE this cage. My two happy rats have plenty of room to play and climb. I would say it could probably house three females max. It's all black so it looks nice anywhere you put it so you can have fun with adding colored accessories.
The cage was simple to assemble but a bit tedious. Worth it, though!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A GREAT BUY!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Quincy1989
from Tacoma, WA
I purchased my Rat Manor about 3 weeks ago and my 2 rats are loving it! The shipping was quick as well. The installation/ set up was not difficult. The only thing I wish was different is the sturdiness of the ramps leading up to the next level... granted my rats don't really use the ramps, they jump up to each level or climb the walls. It was a lot bigger than what I thought it would be, which is great. The only draw back to the cage being massive, is that it can be a little tough to clean. Overall, great product and I think any rat would enjoy this habitat as their home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice cage!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
ZeldaLove
from Honolulu, Hawaii
PRO'S-
-i got this at the store, & the manager at the store i got it from was VERY nice to me, & gave it to me discounted!!!
-i got it home, my boyfriend & i put it together rather quickly. it might be possible to put together by yourself, though i think it'll be easier to have someone hold sides of cage while putting level's in.
-bar spacing is PERFECT for rats of all sizes. i have babies & adults in mine. & no incidents.
-the bottom pan is is about 3 inches tall so if you put bedding there its very unlikely for it to get out & on the floor. personally, i use baby blankets & clip them down.
-how the level's are set up its easy to move them around & rearrange where they go, i like to change it up every other week & if you want to close off a level of the cage, you could take one of the ladders & cover the little hole in the mesh floor level. & zip tie it, because my kids always find ways to get through if not zip tied.
-the mesh is very close together. better than most for rattie feet. less likely injury. but please, i suggest you cover it anyways, better safe than sorry:)
-very sturdy
-it looks very nice.
-the bars are ran horizontal, rather than vertical, so it makes it very easy to climb for ratties, my kids like to climb up the walls of the cage instead of using the ladders.
CON'S-
-i think the only con is that the doors for the cage (there are 2.) are kinda small:/ like a small/ medium. i think they should be bigger. i cant fit some things in there, like wheels, igloo's, & boxes. i don't buy lots of toys/ houses for my rats. i usually make them, or find things they like. but some things are hard to get in, & even take out.
- because of the small doors, its kinda hard to stick your arm in there, & clean. like i said in the PRO'S, i use blankets & clip them for bedding. its kinda hard to clip them to the sides. i change them every week.
over all, its a good cage for ratties. my kids love their home. good for babies as well as adults:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great cage

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
DQGQ
from Ventura, CA
It was hard to build and the ladders don't stay in place well at all. But, it is spacious enough for our 2 rats to get some exercise. We put their food in different locations so they have to hunt for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this cage!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Theanimalladyy
from Roseville, Ca
I used 2 of these cages for my 2 Rats and they loved all the room. They are very sturdy and I would definitely recommend them to anyone with small animals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Spacious but noisy

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
cmickani
from MA
I've had this cage for about four months now and have my three medium-sized female rats living in it. There is more than enough room for the three of them; for the price, it's very spacious. They love climbing up the sides and hanging from the top!
I do have a few complaints, however. Maybe it's just the one I got, but the platforms are very noisy. They rattle every time a rat so much as puts a tiny rat hand on it. It's also very time-consuming and frustrating to put together because the hooks that hold everything together tend to hook on just about everywhere but where you actually want them to be. This also makes it very difficult to wash. I supposed if you had access to a hose and could cover it with soap and spray it off it would be much more efficient, but I live in an apartment with no access to a hose. Every time I want to wash the whole thing I need to fully disassemble it and wash it with a sponge in the bathtub. I've also had problems with the top part coming unlatched from the base when trying to move it around.
All in all, if you have the patience to put this together and the ability to wash the whole thing without completely taking it apart (which I don't), this cage is great. I think in the future though I'll invest in a cage that's easier to disassemble and maybe has plastic platforms.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay cage, poor ideas in constructon

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kirima
from Port Jefferson, OH
Although the box it was shipped in had a LOT of damage to it, holes, tears, loose flaps ect, when my Rat Manor came I was so excited and promptly began setting it up. One of my J-hook connectors at the very bottom does not reach where it should so the cage sits uneven on the fleece liners and wobbles at the slightest touch. That setup was easy to do but the shelves came very warped and so bent that I had to forcefully bend them back to a normal shape to get them to work. I assume this is because of whoever they use for their shipping carrier does NOT treat their products well in transit. The shelves also very very hard to get in and out of the cage, and sometimes they just fall from the weight of my rats. The middle shelf was the worst to get in and back out once I realized I wouldn't be able to fit their wheel into the VERY TINY DOORS! Plus the top of the cage is not meant to open so the doors are the only place to get things in and out of. So the litter box and hideaway have to be put onto the cage floor before I put the top back on, and with the litter needing cleaning daily it's already becoming a huge hassle. It's a pretty spacious cage but my boys rarely use anything other than the ground floor(food and water is on upper level) so a lot of space is going to waste. It's biggest saving grace is the drop pan made entirely of metal so I never have to worry about chewed plastic bottom escapes which is basically the only reason I bought this besides tight budget. I expected much better quality for the price I paid for this hunk of junk. Down the road I will probably get one of the ones that sits on castors with large doors and save the trouble.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jgrove
from Tarpon Springs, FL
I actually have 3 of these for my 11 rats. I have them all separated right now, but you can also put 2 of them together to make one large cage. Just take off the sides on each cage then put them together and zip tie the cage together. The only complaint I have is because it's metal, in shipping the pan was bent up and wobbly. The other 2 I got in the store, but they don't seem to carry them locally anymore. wish they did :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My rats approve of this cage.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stormey
from San Diego, CA
Overall a great cage. You can comfortably house 2 to 3 rats. I currently have 3 males in mine and they absolutely love it. There is plenty of room to put a 12 in wheel, hammock, large litter pan, huge bed, food dish, and all sorts of toys.
Pros: Large and roomy, tall cage (rats love to climb), great price for the size, chew proof (made with all metal)
Cons: Two really small doors, hard to put together (my pieces did not want to lock in right), very heavy, and one level and two shelves have metal grates which can irritate rats feet (I had to line mine with fleece).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

May be better from store

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
4women1apartment
We purchased the cage from the online store, it arrived during the expected time frame. When we tried to put it together we found that some of the hooks were already on wires while still folded up, fixing this took about half an hour to do, and we still had to get our pliers out since some of the hooks did not align properly with the wires. The balconies don't sit quite right in the cage and the ramps don't attach well either. Over all it is an improvement over what we had before but was far to much hassle trying to assemble it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My rats seem to love it!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
tigerstripesk8
from Denton, TX
This cage is surprisingly cheap for its size, yet seems well made and is cleverly constructed. I have no fear of my rats escaping, even the juveniles. There's no plastic for rats to gnaw through and since everything is held together by what is essentially woven hook-and-eyes it could be folded if ever I need to move.
The second floor's hole can be blocked off with the aid of one of the ramps and a couple carabiners to make it easily a separate cage if you need to separate rats for some reason. :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the best

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
rattiesarelife
from Miami, FL
I had this cage for about three months before I got annoyed with it and decided to use it as my traveling cage instead. It is fairly easy to assemble if you have the patience, and it is sturdy. However, I couldn't deal with the tiny doors. The doors to this cage are extremely small and I had trouble cleaning the cage because I couldn't get into the corners very well. Fitting in hide-outs was challenging as well. In order to fit my igloo in I had to squeeze it and that still took about five minutes to get it inside fully.
In conclusion, it's okay, but not for me. I don't have the patience to be constantly trying to shove my hide-outs in every time I clean the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bang for your Buck

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
DaBidge
from Omaha, Ne
This cage was way larger than I expected it to be. quite large enough for two to three rats. My little ratties love it. Assembly was a breeze. It it sturdy enough to give me the peace of mind that my rats will not escape. The front side access doors make for easy cleaning. The price was very reasonable. The biggest perk is that the cage is chew proof!! best option for housing rats without spending too much money on a habitat or having to replace one every time it gets chewed through. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy & Spacious

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amel
from Las Vegas, NV
My rats seem to like this cage. The several floors are great for them to run up and down and it is actually spacious enough for several toys and hammocks. The only downside is that it doesn't seem to be exactly square and a couple of the shelves leave a gap between the sidewall and the shelf. It's not a large gap but my baby rat can squeeze through it. Shouldn't be a problem after they are full grown. Otherwise I would recommend this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Large cage essential for a pet rat

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
KimnPinto
from Quad Cities, IL
I purchased this for my son's pet rat, and it stunned me at how much space is really available. The rat loves his new cage, especially now that he can climb more. The only downfall would be that the ramps shift a bit. The rat is still nervous to use them, though he is getting more comfortable. Overall, I am very happy we purchased this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>