petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Rat Manor features four 3/8" wire mesh levels and three laddersWire mesh platforms provide a safe and sanitary living space for your pet ratFeatures washable, chew-proof, heavy duty welded wire that also has a convenient stain-resistant powder coated finishDeep metal base helps to prevent to prevent scatters and spills, which reduces mess around the habitatSpacious enough to allow for various toys and rat suppliesPetco rat cages feature easy to assemble interweaving wire connection
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(256 Reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 256 reviews
5 stars
167
4 stars
55
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
10
235 out of 256(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 206 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Review 1 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, Fl
I bought this cage for my son's pet rat. It was an emergency because he had chewed through his other cage and we needed one fast! Not only did we receive this cage three days after ordering it, but it is an excellent cage. It was a snap to put together. It's sturdy, huge, and best of all...completely chew proof!!! There is enough room in this cage for atleast two or three adult rats. My son loves that there is a complete second level floor for his rat to play on, instead of just all half shelves. I wish I had done my homework before buying the first cage we got which cost almost twice as much, and it was much smaller and had a lot of plastic parts. There is so much more room for extra toys for him to play with. My son is thrilled! Thanks so much for not charging the shipping that other stores charge that double the price. I will definetly recommend this cage to all his friends mothers who are know contemplating a rat for a pet! ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+77points
84of 91voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petco Rat Manor Habitat

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought this cage for my two male rats. The cage was easy to put together. The rats love the cage because of how much room there is. However, there are a couple of reasons why I would not give this cage five stars. The first being that each level's flooring is wired and this is not good for the rat's feet. The next reason why I didn't give this cage a five star is due to how the ramps don't always stay in place. I was able to fix the wired floor issue by putting tiles down. Over all I like this cage so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rat manor habitat

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from lebanon tn
My hamsters are so happy with this cage. They were living in an aquarium, but now they can go up and down and get more exercise. I is easier to keep clean because they sleep on the 2nd floor with bedding. Just take it out and put new in. The bottom fluff stays cleaner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This Is My Fault

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Folsom, PA
I had planned to house my juvenile ferret in here since the cage looked relatively large enough for her. No bueno. Quality wise however, it's not too great either. The ramps don't really stay in place. The landings are rather flimsy and one was bent when I was putting it together but could bend it back easily(sadly). The bottom ramp doesn't have anything to connect to so she went right under it like a swinging gate. All in all, not for ferrets and the quality isn't too great either. Will be returning sadly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Ratters

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Dakota
After searching several options, I settled on this habitat for my pet rats. This cage is HUGE- I've got two rats, but you could easily put one or two more in it comfortably. It is all metal, and pretty well made (couldn't give it a "Five" because a couple wire joints came loose during assembly, and putting it together can be a little trying), but you can be confident that your pets will stay where you left them. The four levels ensure your pets get plenty of exercise, and the price is more than reasonable when compared to other alternatives.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jonesboro, AR
I bought this cage while on sale, I do not have rats in it yet since I am building them the perfect habitat to come home to first, but I already love it! It is much bigger than I expected it to be, and very well constructed. Of course I still have to make covers for the levels, but I would have had to do that with any cage. It is so huge and spacious, it has tons of room for all the essentials plus lots of extra fun stuff! My girls are gonna love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

All banged up...

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
I ordered this cage for my 3 rats. Upon delivery I noticed the box was pretty rough looking to start with, which naturally worried me. I open the box to see the bottom metal pan has been bent out of shape and one of the hooks for the shelf is also bent so you can't connect it to the cage. This would have been a great cage to own if I didn't have those problems plus slightly warped shelves. I only recommend the product because it is a good cage if it isn't banged up like mine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the price!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from long island, ny
I spent quite some time comparing cages from numerous sites and stores, and the Petco rat manor can't be beat! More than enough room for 2, and I love that it has 2 full floors - others I looked at just had shelves. I would've paid twice the amount for something half as good! (and they also assembled it for me at no charge!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly a Great Cage

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Downingtown, PA
Overall I am very satisfied with this cage. I have two cages with two rats in each.
PROS: Plenty of Room, Easy to Assemble, Reasonable Price
The only con I have is it is not the most securely built cage, don't get me wrong, it will do the trick and your animals are safe, but it could have been designed to be more secure. Also, it is hard to clean. However it is worth the price. This cage is a good beginner cage and I would buy it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I thought it would be!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I originally bought this habitat as a Christmas present for my sister. I ordered it online and had it shipped to her and because she lives clear across the country I never saw it in person. She absolutely loved it! She insisted that I buy one my my two rats so I did. I was expecting it to be about the same size as the one I already had which was a 10 gallon fish tank with a Jotco 10 gal tall tank topper. After it arrived I assembled it and it was much larger that I thought it would be. It is absolutely the best rat habitat I have come across. I'm only sorry I didn't buy it sooner. It is big enough for at least 3 rats, maybe 4, to live comfortably.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good bang for your buck cage!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Douglassville, PA
This is a very good cage and certainly you get a lot of bang for your buck with it.
Features I like:
The size is great! It allows our two rats room to roam comfortably. It's easy to put together as well and solidly built. I especially like the deep metal bottom which prevents them from chewing a hole through it and from allowing the bedding to fall out. There' s room to put a house and even a large wheel. There are two large doors for easy access to them no matter where they are in the cage. The price can't be beat! We got it on sale for about $60 and you're simply not going to find another cage of this quality for such a low price.
Things I would change:
I wish the platforms where solid instead of made of mesh. Though the mesh openings are small, it still requires them to be covered with felt or something to protect their feet (thus, the four paw rating instead of five).
Overall, this is a great cage. I would highly recommend it,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great habitat

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from tarpon springs fl
Great habitat easy to put together. Wish the doors were larger though. Makes it difficult to clean or access cage. Also the ramps could have better connections. Overall though excellent cage with a lot if room. I have two rats in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than expected - but w/a discount

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NC, NC
I had then we had a rat and now two female rats over many years. I only dealt with one rat at a time, though. At another store where we got the girls, the only reasonable-looking cage they had for two female hooded rats was a guinea pig cage (also recommended for small guys like hamsters, etc. & rats). But the cage was going to be way too small in time. I didn't like it - one level and I bought a ladder and hammock to attempt to make it workable. It helped and I wish I had seen this one first.
About six weeks later, I started looking for another cage. Times have changed since our last rat and cage (20 years). They've become much more cheaply made - no doubt about it. Reviews on so many were bad by too many people. This cage was on sale and the worst complaint appeared to be that the instructions were bad.
I read/skimmed them and had the base assembled in under ten minutes. The sides just stuck together (they were hooked) but it wasn't a problem to use my noodle and lay it out. The directions are klutzy but I used them as a guide rather than a step-by-step booklet. So, they didn't bother me.
The base is flexible and a bit flimsy and could be made more sturdily and it would be much heavier. That's about the only thing (thus far) I'd change in it. We moved the girls from the guinea pig cage (I've had them, too) to this monster and they look like midgets. It allows them running room and they can use the ladders or just climb up the sides. I love that the food dish is not in the shredded paper. I haven't seen any issue with their toes being stuck in the flooring - I understand how some rat's could get stuck, though.
Bernie and Ziva are sleeping comfortably in their new space. It has more room for another female but we're not doing that.
I think if I had to pay full price, I would keep it but would've been annoyed. The great thing about Petco is we have a 60 day return policy and I'm not worried about it.
Cleaning it was also listed as an issue. But I don't know why. Press in the cage to extract it from the base holders and lift off the top. Rather than disposing the litter in a kitchen bag, it will go in a larger leaf bag. Cleaning the cage is not going to be an issue either. If the ladders come off, putting them on will take 30 seconds for two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A very fine cage!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
I had quite an escape artist rat who went through two cages. The first had bars that she could squeeze between, and the second had a chew-able plastic base that she made a hole in. This cage, however, is perfect for her and her companion. The bars are narrowly spaced, and the base is made of durable metal. My little girls can climb around and expend energy without escaping!
The only problems with this cage are that:
a) It takes time to assemble and disassemble, and the complex process makes it difficult to put large toys, such as houses and running wheels, on the central floor. I did manage to fit their wheel there, but I struggled to place it.
b) The smaller platforms, particularly the lowest one in my case, sometimes fall down, and the ramps fall with them. I have managed, however, to make them stay for the time being.
In addition, the platforms need to be covered with fabric or cardboard, but this is not too much of a hassle as long as these materials are readily available and changed regularly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome habitat!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from elk grove, ca
This cage is absolutely perfect for my two rats! Each one has laid claim to their own level! It's MUCH larger than it appears! Very easy and quick to set up as well as clean. The mesh on the 'ladders' and levels is a brilliant idea so their feet won't get stuck in the bars, a problem I've had with other cages. I just wish they would sell extra levels you could add to the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My rats love this cage!!!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Molino Fl
I just got this cage today and I love it! So do my 3 girls! So easy to put together! It may need a few reinforcements with zip ties if you have big boys. My girls are still climbing all over it checking it all out! I was going to buy it online last week but didn't so I decided to stop in the store today and they had 1 so I snatched it up!!! So glad I did! Highly recommend this cage! I have searched high and low and this one was the one that I landed on. Its chew proof...BIG...bar spacing is perfect ( I have two 9 week olds and a one year old)! Love it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect cage for the price

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
I LOVE this cage. My two happy rats have plenty of room to play and climb. I would say it could probably house three females max. It's all black so it looks nice anywhere you put it so you can have fun with adding colored accessories.
The cage was simple to assemble but a bit tedious. Worth it, though!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A GREAT BUY!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma, WA
I purchased my Rat Manor about 3 weeks ago and my 2 rats are loving it! The shipping was quick as well. The installation/ set up was not difficult. The only thing I wish was different is the sturdiness of the ramps leading up to the next level... granted my rats don't really use the ramps, they jump up to each level or climb the walls. It was a lot bigger than what I thought it would be, which is great. The only draw back to the cage being massive, is that it can be a little tough to clean. Overall, great product and I think any rat would enjoy this habitat as their home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice cage!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, Hawaii
PRO'S-
-i got this at the store, & the manager at the store i got it from was VERY nice to me, & gave it to me discounted!!!
-i got it home, my boyfriend & i put it together rather quickly. it might be possible to put together by yourself, though i think it'll be easier to have someone hold sides of cage while putting level's in.
-bar spacing is PERFECT for rats of all sizes. i have babies & adults in mine. & no incidents.
-the bottom pan is is about 3 inches tall so if you put bedding there its very unlikely for it to get out & on the floor. personally, i use baby blankets & clip them down.
-how the level's are set up its easy to move them around & rearrange where they go, i like to change it up every other week & if you want to close off a level of the cage, you could take one of the ladders & cover the little hole in the mesh floor level. & zip tie it, because my kids always find ways to get through if not zip tied.
-the mesh is very close together. better than most for rattie feet. less likely injury. but please, i suggest you cover it anyways, better safe than sorry:)
-very sturdy
-it looks very nice.
-the bars are ran horizontal, rather than vertical, so it makes it very easy to climb for ratties, my kids like to climb up the walls of the cage instead of using the ladders.
CON'S-
-i think the only con is that the doors for the cage (there are 2.) are kinda small:/ like a small/ medium. i think they should be bigger. i cant fit some things in there, like wheels, igloo's, & boxes. i don't buy lots of toys/ houses for my rats. i usually make them, or find things they like. but some things are hard to get in, & even take out.
- because of the small doors, its kinda hard to stick your arm in there, & clean. like i said in the PRO'S, i use blankets & clip them for bedding. its kinda hard to clip them to the sides. i change them every week.
over all, its a good cage for ratties. my kids love their home. good for babies as well as adults:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great cage

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ventura, CA
It was hard to build and the ladders don't stay in place well at all. But, it is spacious enough for our 2 rats to get some exercise. We put their food in different locations so they have to hunt for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>