petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Rat Manor features four 3/8" wire mesh levels and three laddersWire mesh platforms provide a safe and sanitary living space for your pet ratFeatures washable, chew-proof, heavy duty welded wire that also has a convenient stain-resistant powder coated finishDeep metal base helps to prevent to prevent scatters and spills, which reduces mess around the habitatSpacious enough to allow for various toys and rat suppliesPetco rat cages feature easy to assemble interweaving wire connection
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(271 Reviews) 271
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 271 reviews
5 stars
175
4 stars
58
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 star
10
248 out of 271(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
60 Questions | 209 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Review 1 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, Fl
I bought this cage for my son's pet rat. It was an emergency because he had chewed through his other cage and we needed one fast! Not only did we receive this cage three days after ordering it, but it is an excellent cage. It was a snap to put together. It's sturdy, huge, and best of all...completely chew proof!!! There is enough room in this cage for atleast two or three adult rats. My son loves that there is a complete second level floor for his rat to play on, instead of just all half shelves. I wish I had done my homework before buying the first cage we got which cost almost twice as much, and it was much smaller and had a lot of plastic parts. There is so much more room for extra toys for him to play with. My son is thrilled! Thanks so much for not charging the shipping that other stores charge that double the price. I will definetly recommend this cage to all his friends mothers who are know contemplating a rat for a pet! ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+94points
102of 110voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pa
My rat was previously in a glass terrarium. He loves this cage, it provides excercise that he needs to be healthy. Two people put it together pretty easily. He does knock the bottom ladder off, but it's not a big issue. Big cage, could definitely hold a second rat. Very pleased with the quality and price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I ordered this cage Sunday night and received it Friday morning, I was so beyond excited for my babies! Other reviews mention the box was in bad shape when they got it, but fortunately mine was not. Putting together the cage is a little bit of a pain but once it's finished and put together it is so worth it. I have been wanting to get my babies a cage like this for a while and when I saw the 40% off sale I had to get it. I am extremely happy and so are my 3 rats!
I still have some decorating to do, but the picture shows the size!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Enough room

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, TX
We have two rats are there is plenty of room for both of them. The assembly was a little frustrating without help of another person. They love going up and down the levels. The only problem I have seen is the ladders do not secure perfectly on each level so it makes noise when they travel up and down it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from kenosha,wi
It is perfect, my little female rat kept escaping from my old one i had so i needed a new and i found this one for a good price and when i received it was easy to put together. ...and now my little girl cant escape anymore and i dont have to worry that she get hurt or aattacked by my moms cat...,both my female rats love this cage they get to climb everywhere in it with the 3 lvls it has....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good space but interesting to decorate

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from WV
This cage has pretty good space however since the doors are so small then you have to make sure that you put anything that is big (igloo,wheels..ect) where you want them on the cage before you put the middle level in. We forgot to put our wheel in and then had to leave out the igloo because only one or the other would fit in the bottom and still leave decent space to move and potty.A couple of sections were bent a bit so hooking everything in to place was interesting at times. But I would definitely buy another one of these cages in the future for my rescues :) Oh and another thing that the ramps aren't that secure so I would recommend zip ties to make sure they don't fall down on your ratty friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Frustrating, but decent once put together

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
First off, this cage came with no directions. The shelves were very difficult to get in correctly and, as others have said, do not stay in place. I used black zip ties to keep them from moving. The ladder at the bottom doesn't reach the pan, there's at least 3 inches between. Stupid design. Also you have to connect the edges of the cage together and they didn't line up right so the last hook was 1/4 of an inch lower than the other side and impossible to connect. Once I got it all rigged and zip tied it's pretty decent, my two young male rats seem to like it, but it certainly isn't the best quality. I got this cage for half off and free shipping and would have returned it if I had paid the full price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for parakeets too :)

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Front Royal, VA
I bought this cage a few years ago for a rat I had. She was very happy with it. After her death I cleaned and stored it in my garage for a year or so. I purchased two parakeets and decided to use this cage for them. I took all of the ramps and platforms out and this cage is working amazing. Not only does it provide tons of space for the birds but the deep bottom pan is perfect for catching seed and droppings. I could not be happier with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not great

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
First off, I had to jump through hoops to find a rat cage that my 2 female rats would not squeeze themselves through. I went through 3 other cages before finding this one, with half inch spacing between the bars, which is definitely ideal for ratties. I love the height of the cage, the spacing, the ability to customize the cage with the different levels (we actually took a few ramps out for more climbing room) BUT it is VERY DIFFICULT TO TAKE APART AND CLEAN. I use fleece to protect my rats' feet from the wire levels and taking apart the whole cage to replace the fleece and wipe the levels clean is a MAJOR PAIN. If this cage had doors that swung open instead of two little doors in the middle of the cage, that would be far more preferable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for College!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
I bought this cage as a substitute for eventually getting the Midwest Critter Nation and I am honestly surprised at the quality. As a college student I didn't have the funds or the space for that large of a cage so I looked for my best next option and found it.
I wouldn't keep more than two full grown rats in this though, I don't feel it would give them enough space. I ordered this online and got it in a timely manner with no major distortion in the product. Some of the mesh itself is warped but the actual ramps and shelves are just fine.
Putting the shelves in can be tricky at first, but once you figure out the trick to it, it is simple and easy, yet elaborate enough that the rats won't knock the shelves out. Ramps will however, be knocked out of place if your rats are like mine and romp around, but I don't mind putting them back in place. You could definitely secure them with a paper clip or twist tie though. I personally mess around with the way I have the cage set up all the time to keep my girls from getting bored. I don't always use the two smaller shelves that are provided, nor the ramps and create other ways for them to navigate their 3D world.
Putting the large, wire top together into it's upright, non-flat position was, at first, intimidating. But it was easy once I realized it's just simply locking together J-hooks back and forth up the cage. If you have a wire dog cage at home, it is very similar to setting that up.
Cleaning is pretty easy, although sometimes it can be tricky to get the actual wire top in and out of the metal base. I do not mind this though, it reassures me how secure it is. I love that the base is metal, a plastic base would mean potential escapees. I had read one review and saw a complaint about rusting, but I have not had that issue after having the cage for about three months now. I think rust may occur if you do not clean the cage often enough, as the urine will erode the paint and metal over time. I know a lot of people are worried about bumble foot, but it is a sort of half myth in the rat world. On the mesh the rats' feet cannot completely fall through, so there's no way for them to get their feet caught or twisted. Bumble foot is caused by injury to the paws and wrists, and often the culprit is old wire cages with sharp edges, large spaces between the wires, and a dirty environment. With mesh, so long as you clean it routinely and check to ensure there are no damages, you don't have to worry about bumble foot.
I have my rats litter trained, so cleaning is very simple. I line the small shelves and base with felt and make my own hammocks, I do leave the large, middle shelf uncovered. They love to sprawl out over it, plus it was tricky to figure out how to cover it. Instead I just give them an option of floor types they can go on in that middle shelf, so that if they don't want to sit on the mesh, they don't have to. I change the fleece liners and wipe down all mesh shelves and ramps every five days and change the litter box twice in that five day period. I give all mesh and the outside wires a good scrubbing every two weeks. I've never had an issue with odor and having them litter box trained keeps everything much cleaner and of course, less messy. I've never had an issue with them kicking out litter.
The doors on the cage give you pretty good access. Some bigger objects are a bit tough to squeeze through them, but for the most part I have no problem reaching anything in the cage.
One thing to watch out for is those pesky J-hooks coming undone. During the cleaning process I usually end up undoing one or two, so when putting it all together and during cleaning, make sure you check them all. Leaving one undone by accident won't really hurt you too bad, but the metal may become warped from the weight if it happens continually.
Overall, if you are looking for a great cage for two rats but don't have the funds or space for something like the Midwest Critter Nation, I'd definitely recommend this cage. Just be sure to add lot's of toys and climbing objects for your rats to explore!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent cage for rats!

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
Our 3 ratties have plenty of room for their hanging bed, food, water bottle, litter pan and to run around and go up and down. It's sturdy and has a nice deep base for the litter. There are two doors for easy access too. Great cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

On sale, with modifications, a good cage for a few rats

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
PROS:
- goes on sale often, and can be a good value at times
- roomy enough for 3-4 adult rats
- horizontal bars make for good climbing surface
- ledges can be placed pretty much anywhere, or not at all if you want to DIY - most of the cons come from the shelves/ramps anyway
CONS:
- hard to attach hammocks/toys underneath ledges/shelves with small grid size
- super small doors (can barely fit two hands through) - must put larger toys through bottom opening
- cheap manufacturing, flimsy wire materials that had to be bent back into place with pliers before cage could be assembled
- ramps fall down WAY too easily - see paper clip modification, below
- the holes in the ramps/shelves are too small to let poo fall to the bottom tray - in fact, they're so small it causes poo to jam in between the squares and get gross. See fleece modification, below.
MODIFICATIONS:
- secure ramps down with paperclips (see photo) or zip ties, to prevent them from falling
- cut fleece (you do not need to know how to sew! fleece will not fray!) to line the wire ledges, secure them in place with binder clips
- put cheap towels or puppy pads under the fleece in the bottom tray to absorb liquid - fleece is a wicking material
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving this cage!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tennesee
Very easy to set up. My rats enjoy exploring every bit of the cage. I would definitely recommend this cage to everybody with rats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

wonderful cage

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln, Nebraska
the cage is wonderful, but, would be nice after spending a large amount on the cage that Petco would offer replacement 1/2 shelves and ladders. Especially, when those items begin to fall apart and the chance of the beloved rat(s) have a chance of getting seriously injured by sharp wires from the mesh or a hole from missing wire mesh that is also very sharp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St Louis, MO
We are new rat owners and quickly learned that rats need vertical space. We tried a no longer needed guinea pig cage but that didn't work. I was a little concerned when the box arrived in poor condition, but the wire walls were all protected by the base unit. The cage is fairly simple and easy to put together. Our two rats love it! They have plenty of room and it allows for us to add other enrichment toys for them. Overall a great cage for a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wichita, Ks
I own 2 of these cages, one I bought approximately 2 to 3 years ago, and the quality of this new one is definitely not as good as the original one I purchased. It's not as sturdy, the latches are not as good, and the wire coating is already flaking--I would note that the original cage I purchased still does not have this problem with the coating.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't look for quality but this serves my needs

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from The South
I grew up with pet rats. Haven't had one for @20 years. This time it was suggested that I get two. I did but Petco's (local) cage selection was bad. I ended up first with a guinea pig cage. I knew they'd outgrow it I didn't know when. So, I looked.
Found the rat mansion and traveled for it. Nothing these days has quality in it. I didn't expect it. I did expect a cage that would give my guys some room for their short lifespan. The cage does the job.
It's not a big deal to set it up (I'm female and well over 55...). My hands are small and large enough to set the racks and ladders up without a problem. It could easily hold three rats. Five ... no, I'd want a second cage. With two hooded females, I wash the cage 2x week outside (detergent, paper towels, and partially air dry it). In the winter, I'll have to wash it in my bathtub.
I've had it for about four-five months. The bottom of the cage is getting scratched up and you need some amount of strength to press the top of the cage back into the bottom or it will be lopsided - which is okay with the girls.
$80 is way too pricey for this cage. If quality (a modicum more) was part of the cage, $80 would be fine. I wouldn't have flinched at $60 compared to all the other garbage Chinese-made cages out of there, it's workable. BUT if you want a bigger cage to house rats that are not known for longevity, this should be fine. If you want better, good luck.
Someone complained about the ladders. What's the issue? I'm literally a senior and female and have no problems with it. It's big and will be a bigger hassle than a smaller cage. That's common sense.
Five rats will fit but I'd be going from cleaning it (I spray it with alcohol periodically, too) 2x week to several times week. Too much trouble for you? Get another cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petco Rat Manor Habitat

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought this cage for my two male rats. The cage was easy to put together. The rats love the cage because of how much room there is. However, there are a couple of reasons why I would not give this cage five stars. The first being that each level's flooring is wired and this is not good for the rat's feet. The next reason why I didn't give this cage a five star is due to how the ramps don't always stay in place. I was able to fix the wired floor issue by putting tiles down. Over all I like this cage so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rat manor habitat

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from lebanon tn
My hamsters are so happy with this cage. They were living in an aquarium, but now they can go up and down and get more exercise. I is easier to keep clean because they sleep on the 2nd floor with bedding. Just take it out and put new in. The bottom fluff stays cleaner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This Is My Fault

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Folsom, PA
I had planned to house my juvenile ferret in here since the cage looked relatively large enough for her. No bueno. Quality wise however, it's not too great either. The ramps don't really stay in place. The landings are rather flimsy and one was bent when I was putting it together but could bend it back easily(sadly). The bottom ramp doesn't have anything to connect to so she went right under it like a swinging gate. All in all, not for ferrets and the quality isn't too great either. Will be returning sadly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>