petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Rat Manor features four 3/8" wire mesh levels and three laddersWire mesh platforms provide a safe and sanitary living space for your pet ratFeatures washable, chew-proof, heavy duty welded wire that also has a convenient stain-resistant powder coated finishDeep metal base helps to prevent to prevent scatters and spills, which reduces mess around the habitatSpacious enough to allow for various toys and rat suppliesPetco rat cages feature easy to assemble interweaving wire connection
Average Customer Rating:
4.436 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(236 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 236 reviews
5 stars
158
4 stars
47
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
9
216 out of 236(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 190 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Review 1 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
bellridge
from Orlando, Fl
I bought this cage for my son's pet rat. It was an emergency because he had chewed through his other cage and we needed one fast! Not only did we receive this cage three days after ordering it, but it is an excellent cage. It was a snap to put together. It's sturdy, huge, and best of all...completely chew proof!!! There is enough room in this cage for atleast two or three adult rats. My son loves that there is a complete second level floor for his rat to play on, instead of just all half shelves. I wish I had done my homework before buying the first cage we got which cost almost twice as much, and it was much smaller and had a lot of plastic parts. There is so much more room for extra toys for him to play with. My son is thrilled! Thanks so much for not charging the shipping that other stores charge that double the price. I will definetly recommend this cage to all his friends mothers who are know contemplating a rat for a pet! ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+63points
69of 75voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Spacious but noisy

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
cmickani
from MA
I've had this cage for about four months now and have my three medium-sized female rats living in it. There is more than enough room for the three of them; for the price, it's very spacious. They love climbing up the sides and hanging from the top!
I do have a few complaints, however. Maybe it's just the one I got, but the platforms are very noisy. They rattle every time a rat so much as puts a tiny rat hand on it. It's also very time-consuming and frustrating to put together because the hooks that hold everything together tend to hook on just about everywhere but where you actually want them to be. This also makes it very difficult to wash. I supposed if you had access to a hose and could cover it with soap and spray it off it would be much more efficient, but I live in an apartment with no access to a hose. Every time I want to wash the whole thing I need to fully disassemble it and wash it with a sponge in the bathtub. I've also had problems with the top part coming unlatched from the base when trying to move it around.
All in all, if you have the patience to put this together and the ability to wash the whole thing without completely taking it apart (which I don't), this cage is great. I think in the future though I'll invest in a cage that's easier to disassemble and maybe has plastic platforms.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay cage, poor ideas in constructon

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kirima
from Port Jefferson, OH
Although the box it was shipped in had a LOT of damage to it, holes, tears, loose flaps ect, when my Rat Manor came I was so excited and promptly began setting it up. One of my J-hook connectors at the very bottom does not reach where it should so the cage sits uneven on the fleece liners and wobbles at the slightest touch. That setup was easy to do but the shelves came very warped and so bent that I had to forcefully bend them back to a normal shape to get them to work. I assume this is because of whoever they use for their shipping carrier does NOT treat their products well in transit. The shelves also very very hard to get in and out of the cage, and sometimes they just fall from the weight of my rats. The middle shelf was the worst to get in and back out once I realized I wouldn't be able to fit their wheel into the VERY TINY DOORS! Plus the top of the cage is not meant to open so the doors are the only place to get things in and out of. So the litter box and hideaway have to be put onto the cage floor before I put the top back on, and with the litter needing cleaning daily it's already becoming a huge hassle. It's a pretty spacious cage but my boys rarely use anything other than the ground floor(food and water is on upper level) so a lot of space is going to waste. It's biggest saving grace is the drop pan made entirely of metal so I never have to worry about chewed plastic bottom escapes which is basically the only reason I bought this besides tight budget. I expected much better quality for the price I paid for this hunk of junk. Down the road I will probably get one of the ones that sits on castors with large doors and save the trouble.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jgrove
from Tarpon Springs, FL
I actually have 3 of these for my 11 rats. I have them all separated right now, but you can also put 2 of them together to make one large cage. Just take off the sides on each cage then put them together and zip tie the cage together. The only complaint I have is because it's metal, in shipping the pan was bent up and wobbly. The other 2 I got in the store, but they don't seem to carry them locally anymore. wish they did :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My rats approve of this cage.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stormey
from San Diego, CA
Overall a great cage. You can comfortably house 2 to 3 rats. I currently have 3 males in mine and they absolutely love it. There is plenty of room to put a 12 in wheel, hammock, large litter pan, huge bed, food dish, and all sorts of toys.
Pros: Large and roomy, tall cage (rats love to climb), great price for the size, chew proof (made with all metal)
Cons: Two really small doors, hard to put together (my pieces did not want to lock in right), very heavy, and one level and two shelves have metal grates which can irritate rats feet (I had to line mine with fleece).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

May be better from store

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
4women1apartment
We purchased the cage from the online store, it arrived during the expected time frame. When we tried to put it together we found that some of the hooks were already on wires while still folded up, fixing this took about half an hour to do, and we still had to get our pliers out since some of the hooks did not align properly with the wires. The balconies don't sit quite right in the cage and the ramps don't attach well either. Over all it is an improvement over what we had before but was far to much hassle trying to assemble it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My rats seem to love it!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
tigerstripesk8
from Denton, TX
This cage is surprisingly cheap for its size, yet seems well made and is cleverly constructed. I have no fear of my rats escaping, even the juveniles. There's no plastic for rats to gnaw through and since everything is held together by what is essentially woven hook-and-eyes it could be folded if ever I need to move.
The second floor's hole can be blocked off with the aid of one of the ramps and a couple carabiners to make it easily a separate cage if you need to separate rats for some reason. :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the best

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
rattiesarelife
from Miami, FL
I had this cage for about three months before I got annoyed with it and decided to use it as my traveling cage instead. It is fairly easy to assemble if you have the patience, and it is sturdy. However, I couldn't deal with the tiny doors. The doors to this cage are extremely small and I had trouble cleaning the cage because I couldn't get into the corners very well. Fitting in hide-outs was challenging as well. In order to fit my igloo in I had to squeeze it and that still took about five minutes to get it inside fully.
In conclusion, it's okay, but not for me. I don't have the patience to be constantly trying to shove my hide-outs in every time I clean the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bang for your Buck

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
DaBidge
from Omaha, Ne
This cage was way larger than I expected it to be. quite large enough for two to three rats. My little ratties love it. Assembly was a breeze. It it sturdy enough to give me the peace of mind that my rats will not escape. The front side access doors make for easy cleaning. The price was very reasonable. The biggest perk is that the cage is chew proof!! best option for housing rats without spending too much money on a habitat or having to replace one every time it gets chewed through. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy & Spacious

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amel
from Las Vegas, NV
My rats seem to like this cage. The several floors are great for them to run up and down and it is actually spacious enough for several toys and hammocks. The only downside is that it doesn't seem to be exactly square and a couple of the shelves leave a gap between the sidewall and the shelf. It's not a large gap but my baby rat can squeeze through it. Shouldn't be a problem after they are full grown. Otherwise I would recommend this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Large cage essential for a pet rat

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
KimnPinto
from Quad Cities, IL
I purchased this for my son's pet rat, and it stunned me at how much space is really available. The rat loves his new cage, especially now that he can climb more. The only downfall would be that the ramps shift a bit. The rat is still nervous to use them, though he is getting more comfortable. Overall, I am very happy we purchased this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this cage!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jy23
from .California
I've owned many different rat cages over the years and the Rat Manor has remained my favorite! It has a full floor in the middle of the cage as well as 2 smaller ledges. Also, it is very easy to clean and maintain. My rats love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a really great cage!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
laci0504
from Ramsey, MN
This is a very good cage if you have rats! The bottom is metal so they can't chew their way out. It has 3 levels so they do get some exercise. We bought 2 of them because that way they're not crowed. I would really recommend this cage to anyone has rats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rat Manor

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
VLGB
from Chicago, Il
This cage is horrible! Falling apart before it was completely assembled. Wire mesh on shelves pulling away from frame. Had to zip tie the shelves to the outer walls to make the cage safe for my rats. This cage is junk !!! If I wasn't in a desperate need for a cage due to needing to separate some rats do to injury - I would of returned it immediately! Not worth more than $20
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large & Sturdy

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
OhRats
from San Gabriel Valley, CA
Great cage for the price. It's pretty easy to assemble and it is easy to clean. My son's rat has plenty of room to run around, plus there's still lots of space for toys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lots of space

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
ratsok
from Kane, PA
A little tricky to put together, but so far seems to be a good home for the 3 rat brothers. Lots of space for all of them to run around and space for boxes, toys, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hard to clean

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
abeaver
from Bowling Green, OH
My rats love the cage but when it comes to thoroughly cleaning it, it is the hardest thing ever. My rats also tend to knock down the ladders because they don't stay very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a great quality product.

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crazy4Rats
from Allegan, MI
I was pleasantly surprised how roomy the rat manor was for my 2 medium rats. They love climbing the ramps. The cage is durable and I would recommend it, I give it a 4 1/2 paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Cage

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Korvius
from Missouri
The doors are a bit small and hard to open, but overall the cage is nice and organized.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Taila
from Kansas
I bought this product after having a ferret nation cage for many months. So far it's excellent. Set up was a bit difficult because of the hooks on the levels and the tight squeeze inside. But once it's together it's very sturdy and there is a lot of room. I have 3 very large male rats and it houses all 3 of them comfortably. Shipping took longer than expected due to a back-order (which was not made known until after I ordered it.)
Overall, good product and worth the money (I got it 50% off.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>