petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Petco Rat Manor Habitat

Rat Manor features four 3/8" wire mesh levels and three laddersWire mesh platforms provide a safe and sanitary living space for your pet ratFeatures washable, chew-proof, heavy duty welded wire that also has a convenient stain-resistant powder coated finishDeep metal base helps to prevent to prevent scatters and spills, which reduces mess around the habitatSpacious enough to allow for various toys and rat suppliesPetco rat cages feature easy to assemble interweaving wire connection
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(261 Reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 261 reviews
5 stars
169
4 stars
55
3 stars
20
2 stars
7
1 star
10
239 out of 261(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 206 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Review 1 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, Fl
I bought this cage for my son's pet rat. It was an emergency because he had chewed through his other cage and we needed one fast! Not only did we receive this cage three days after ordering it, but it is an excellent cage. It was a snap to put together. It's sturdy, huge, and best of all...completely chew proof!!! There is enough room in this cage for atleast two or three adult rats. My son loves that there is a complete second level floor for his rat to play on, instead of just all half shelves. I wish I had done my homework before buying the first cage we got which cost almost twice as much, and it was much smaller and had a lot of plastic parts. There is so much more room for extra toys for him to play with. My son is thrilled! Thanks so much for not charging the shipping that other stores charge that double the price. I will definetly recommend this cage to all his friends mothers who are know contemplating a rat for a pet! ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+81points
89of 97voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

On sale, with modifications, a good cage for a few rats

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
PROS:
- goes on sale often, and can be a good value at times
- roomy enough for 3-4 adult rats
- horizontal bars make for good climbing surface
- ledges can be placed pretty much anywhere, or not at all if you want to DIY - most of the cons come from the shelves/ramps anyway
CONS:
- hard to attach hammocks/toys underneath ledges/shelves with small grid size
- super small doors (can barely fit two hands through) - must put larger toys through bottom opening
- cheap manufacturing, flimsy wire materials that had to be bent back into place with pliers before cage could be assembled
- ramps fall down WAY too easily - see paper clip modification, below
- the holes in the ramps/shelves are too small to let poo fall to the bottom tray - in fact, they're so small it causes poo to jam in between the squares and get gross. See fleece modification, below.
MODIFICATIONS:
- secure ramps down with paperclips (see photo) or zip ties, to prevent them from falling
- cut fleece (you do not need to know how to sew! fleece will not fray!) to line the wire ledges, secure them in place with binder clips
- put cheap towels or puppy pads under the fleece in the bottom tray to absorb liquid - fleece is a wicking material
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving this cage!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tennesee
Very easy to set up. My rats enjoy exploring every bit of the cage. I would definitely recommend this cage to everybody with rats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

wonderful cage

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln, Nebraska
the cage is wonderful, but, would be nice after spending a large amount on the cage that Petco would offer replacement 1/2 shelves and ladders. Especially, when those items begin to fall apart and the chance of the beloved rat(s) have a chance of getting seriously injured by sharp wires from the mesh or a hole from missing wire mesh that is also very sharp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St Louis, MO
We are new rat owners and quickly learned that rats need vertical space. We tried a no longer needed guinea pig cage but that didn't work. I was a little concerned when the box arrived in poor condition, but the wire walls were all protected by the base unit. The cage is fairly simple and easy to put together. Our two rats love it! They have plenty of room and it allows for us to add other enrichment toys for them. Overall a great cage for a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wichita, Ks
I own 2 of these cages, one I bought approximately 2 to 3 years ago, and the quality of this new one is definitely not as good as the original one I purchased. It's not as sturdy, the latches are not as good, and the wire coating is already flaking--I would note that the original cage I purchased still does not have this problem with the coating.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't look for quality but this serves my needs

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from The South
I grew up with pet rats. Haven't had one for @20 years. This time it was suggested that I get two. I did but Petco's (local) cage selection was bad. I ended up first with a guinea pig cage. I knew they'd outgrow it I didn't know when. So, I looked.
Found the rat mansion and traveled for it. Nothing these days has quality in it. I didn't expect it. I did expect a cage that would give my guys some room for their short lifespan. The cage does the job.
It's not a big deal to set it up (I'm female and well over 55...). My hands are small and large enough to set the racks and ladders up without a problem. It could easily hold three rats. Five ... no, I'd want a second cage. With two hooded females, I wash the cage 2x week outside (detergent, paper towels, and partially air dry it). In the winter, I'll have to wash it in my bathtub.
I've had it for about four-five months. The bottom of the cage is getting scratched up and you need some amount of strength to press the top of the cage back into the bottom or it will be lopsided - which is okay with the girls.
$80 is way too pricey for this cage. If quality (a modicum more) was part of the cage, $80 would be fine. I wouldn't have flinched at $60 compared to all the other garbage Chinese-made cages out of there, it's workable. BUT if you want a bigger cage to house rats that are not known for longevity, this should be fine. If you want better, good luck.
Someone complained about the ladders. What's the issue? I'm literally a senior and female and have no problems with it. It's big and will be a bigger hassle than a smaller cage. That's common sense.
Five rats will fit but I'd be going from cleaning it (I spray it with alcohol periodically, too) 2x week to several times week. Too much trouble for you? Get another cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petco Rat Manor Habitat

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought this cage for my two male rats. The cage was easy to put together. The rats love the cage because of how much room there is. However, there are a couple of reasons why I would not give this cage five stars. The first being that each level's flooring is wired and this is not good for the rat's feet. The next reason why I didn't give this cage a five star is due to how the ramps don't always stay in place. I was able to fix the wired floor issue by putting tiles down. Over all I like this cage so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rat manor habitat

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from lebanon tn
My hamsters are so happy with this cage. They were living in an aquarium, but now they can go up and down and get more exercise. I is easier to keep clean because they sleep on the 2nd floor with bedding. Just take it out and put new in. The bottom fluff stays cleaner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This Is My Fault

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Folsom, PA
I had planned to house my juvenile ferret in here since the cage looked relatively large enough for her. No bueno. Quality wise however, it's not too great either. The ramps don't really stay in place. The landings are rather flimsy and one was bent when I was putting it together but could bend it back easily(sadly). The bottom ramp doesn't have anything to connect to so she went right under it like a swinging gate. All in all, not for ferrets and the quality isn't too great either. Will be returning sadly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Ratters

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Dakota
After searching several options, I settled on this habitat for my pet rats. This cage is HUGE- I've got two rats, but you could easily put one or two more in it comfortably. It is all metal, and pretty well made (couldn't give it a "Five" because a couple wire joints came loose during assembly, and putting it together can be a little trying), but you can be confident that your pets will stay where you left them. The four levels ensure your pets get plenty of exercise, and the price is more than reasonable when compared to other alternatives.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jonesboro, AR
I bought this cage while on sale, I do not have rats in it yet since I am building them the perfect habitat to come home to first, but I already love it! It is much bigger than I expected it to be, and very well constructed. Of course I still have to make covers for the levels, but I would have had to do that with any cage. It is so huge and spacious, it has tons of room for all the essentials plus lots of extra fun stuff! My girls are gonna love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

All banged up...

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
I ordered this cage for my 3 rats. Upon delivery I noticed the box was pretty rough looking to start with, which naturally worried me. I open the box to see the bottom metal pan has been bent out of shape and one of the hooks for the shelf is also bent so you can't connect it to the cage. This would have been a great cage to own if I didn't have those problems plus slightly warped shelves. I only recommend the product because it is a good cage if it isn't banged up like mine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the price!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from long island, ny
I spent quite some time comparing cages from numerous sites and stores, and the Petco rat manor can't be beat! More than enough room for 2, and I love that it has 2 full floors - others I looked at just had shelves. I would've paid twice the amount for something half as good! (and they also assembled it for me at no charge!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly a Great Cage

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Downingtown, PA
Overall I am very satisfied with this cage. I have two cages with two rats in each.
PROS: Plenty of Room, Easy to Assemble, Reasonable Price
The only con I have is it is not the most securely built cage, don't get me wrong, it will do the trick and your animals are safe, but it could have been designed to be more secure. Also, it is hard to clean. However it is worth the price. This cage is a good beginner cage and I would buy it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I thought it would be!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I originally bought this habitat as a Christmas present for my sister. I ordered it online and had it shipped to her and because she lives clear across the country I never saw it in person. She absolutely loved it! She insisted that I buy one my my two rats so I did. I was expecting it to be about the same size as the one I already had which was a 10 gallon fish tank with a Jotco 10 gal tall tank topper. After it arrived I assembled it and it was much larger that I thought it would be. It is absolutely the best rat habitat I have come across. I'm only sorry I didn't buy it sooner. It is big enough for at least 3 rats, maybe 4, to live comfortably.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good bang for your buck cage!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Douglassville, PA
This is a very good cage and certainly you get a lot of bang for your buck with it.
Features I like:
The size is great! It allows our two rats room to roam comfortably. It's easy to put together as well and solidly built. I especially like the deep metal bottom which prevents them from chewing a hole through it and from allowing the bedding to fall out. There' s room to put a house and even a large wheel. There are two large doors for easy access to them no matter where they are in the cage. The price can't be beat! We got it on sale for about $60 and you're simply not going to find another cage of this quality for such a low price.
Things I would change:
I wish the platforms where solid instead of made of mesh. Though the mesh openings are small, it still requires them to be covered with felt or something to protect their feet (thus, the four paw rating instead of five).
Overall, this is a great cage. I would highly recommend it,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great habitat

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from tarpon springs fl
Great habitat easy to put together. Wish the doors were larger though. Makes it difficult to clean or access cage. Also the ramps could have better connections. Overall though excellent cage with a lot if room. I have two rats in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A very fine cage!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
I had quite an escape artist rat who went through two cages. The first had bars that she could squeeze between, and the second had a chew-able plastic base that she made a hole in. This cage, however, is perfect for her and her companion. The bars are narrowly spaced, and the base is made of durable metal. My little girls can climb around and expend energy without escaping!
The only problems with this cage are that:
a) It takes time to assemble and disassemble, and the complex process makes it difficult to put large toys, such as houses and running wheels, on the central floor. I did manage to fit their wheel there, but I struggled to place it.
b) The smaller platforms, particularly the lowest one in my case, sometimes fall down, and the ramps fall with them. I have managed, however, to make them stay for the time being.
In addition, the platforms need to be covered with fabric or cardboard, but this is not too much of a hassle as long as these materials are readily available and changed regularly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Rat Manor Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome habitat!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from elk grove, ca
This cage is absolutely perfect for my two rats! Each one has laid claim to their own level! It's MUCH larger than it appears! Very easy and quick to set up as well as clean. The mesh on the 'ladders' and levels is a brilliant idea so their feet won't get stuck in the bars, a problem I've had with other cages. I just wish they would sell extra levels you could add to the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>