petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit

Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit

Includes washable two story home, solid surface balcony, two pounds of Kaytee Timothy Complete Food, chew sticks, bedding, 16 oz. water bottle and wire hanger and a dishwasher safe food dishHabitat is made with stain and rust-resistant, washable and chew-resistant wireGuinea pig habitat has a deep plastic base which reduces messSimple assembly - just snap together with no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.04 / 5
4
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
39 out of 50(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Review 1 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great STARTER pack

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SD
This is called a "Starter" kit for a reason… it's meant to get you set up right away so you can take your pet right home and give them all of the necessities at the same time. The ramp is rather daunting if your cavy isn't very adventurous, but if they really are hungry, it's not that hard for them to brave it up the ramp for food. I was under the impression from the packaging that the food bowl 'snaps in' on the top level. That would be an awesome idea, but it just sits on a raised spot. She flips her food bowl down to the bottom every time. Super easy to assemble, my 5 year old helped me! It was nice to have a place for our new friend to get acclimated to our home, but she gets let out to run daily… this would be too cramped for an adult guinea pig to live in 24/7, they need exercise. Now that we are adopting another as a friend for our first, we will definitely be getting a much larger living space. Please don't try to keep multiples in this starter cage, unless it's just for travel or very temporary! That said, it's still a great value to take home with a new pet and get acquainted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Size But, Not Suitable For Guinea Pigs

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I like the Size but, Guinea Pigs Can't/Don't like climbing to get to higher levels. So, I see it becoming a struggle for them daily, just to get there food.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
It was a great price, and super easy to put together. I could have come with more bedding, but not a huge deal. Seems to be on the smaller side for our guinea pig, but once we are acclimated he will be able to get out of his cage to run around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent sized cage, but slippery ramp and very leaky water bottle

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Omaha
Ordered this cage for my daughter for christmas and while we're somewhat happy with it, there are definitely some improvements needed. The ramp is so slippery, our guinea pig has a really tough time getting up it, and basically slides down it which scares her. Maybe she'll get used to it in time, but would be nice if it had a little traction to it. Worse than that though is the water bottle. It leaks like crazy! Probably about half of the water leaks out every day, making for a very wet cage. We have a little bowl sitting under ours for the time being until we get to the store to buy a better quality water bottle.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty Good Cage :)

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from manchester nh
My little Eveona loves this cage, she always sleeps under the ramp. :) She's still somewhat afraid of the ramp, but she's starting to learn how to climb up it. The ramp does kinda look small though, but for the price that was paid and the amount of stuff she got with it its really good!! :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too small

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
personally, i think this cage is just too small! guinea pigs need lots of room to run around and to me some of these cages arent good at all. i have a c&c cage for my pigs mocha and mango and they are much happier and it is fun for me too because i can add different levels and i only have 24 grids but i can make it up to 7 ft long! i reccomend looking up c&c cages, your piggy will be happier.mine was even under $50 and because of this i onlly spent $109 on my entire purchase including my two pigs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cage

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from williamsbugh pa
I brought this cage for my guinea she loves it all the free stuff u get with it .you are going to get any small animal start with a kit first best thing u can buy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT starter cage!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
This is honestly great. Well worth the money and it'll last you a long time! :D It came with a lot of stuff but the purpose of this product is to be a STARTER cage for ONE guinea pig. So this should be good for like three (3) years? Then consider getting a bigger one for your guinea pig will become bigger and grow into an adult. :) Seriously though I've had these kit and my guinea pig for about a month and besides bedding (YOU WILL NEED MORE. TRUST ME.) and a little igloo for her own private dome (which is needed), extra vitamin - c drops and toys I didn't need to buy anything else. Well worth it and easy assembly. You won't be sorry :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic guinea pig home

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from kauai Hi
our guinea pig loves her new home has lots of room for her to run and play, she is however still a little afraid of the ramp to get to sleeping area but she will get use to it. would give this product a 5 star rating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great First Time Pet Habitat

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Carlisle,PA
Bought this for my 6 yr old's very first pet.Jasmine her Guinea pig.This is just the right size for her room.It came with everything we needed to get started.A great complete Birthday gift.The starter kit and the pig.Perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay for Starters

PostedMay 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Livonia, MI
The cage is very durable, it came with the perfect amount of bedding, the water bottle seemed fine for me, she loved the food it came with, the platform is great since it keeps the food away from her waste area (which is in the corner by the bottom of the ramp) and she likes sleeping under the platform. However, for starters, getting the pig out from under the platform for handling is no easy task. I had to raise it up every time I wanted to take her out. I also moved the water bottle up by her food dish because it was too high where they tell you put it. I don't have a problem picking her up now, but the cage opening is WAY too small. She's still not fully grown yet, but when she is I will for sure have to get a bigger cage. The cage is only big enough for young-uns. And the ramp, she has no problem getting up it so I'm happy about that. The cage is also really easy to clean, I'd just like a bigger door/opening.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Its a bit Small

PostedMay 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from CA
I bought this cage for my piggy. He is a ... fairly over normally sized pig! :) But still, he DOESNT fit in this cage AT ALL. I had to buy a CC Cage. Which are way bigger and cheaper. But its an Okay GIANT cage for a mouse...or rat or something. And the 2nd story, was as big as my pig, so I had to take it out. :/ I wouldnt buy. But good derability. Water bottle was horide though
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is no good.

PostedMay 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Metairie, LA
I was very disappointed in the guenea pig starter kit because the water bottle included in the kit leaks. The food bowl comes off the shelf causing the food to spill all over the cage. There is barely enough litter to cover the bottom of the cage. I dropped the cage because it falls apart every time you pick it up and now the bars are bent. The door is barely big enough for me to get theguenea pig out of the cage. This cage has been nothing but a headache and I have only had it a couple of weeks. It is not a good deal for the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its awsome!

PostedApril 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
me and my friend mandy where both getting a guinea pig one day and we both got the same cage.it was perfect for our guineas and mine loved to sleep on the ramp but her guinea pig couldn't get up, so i invented cool cardboard stairs. this cage is excellent for starters like me and my friend! i hope this was helpful for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The family guinea pig loves it.

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Shreveport, La
It's nice and roomy ,since it's just her right now. The only thing was she had a problem getting up the slide/ramp.. She kept sliding down each time she tried to go up. I came up with an idea to help her get up to the top level. I used a fresh, clean pull-up of my son's and attached it on the slide / ramp and it actually worked! She tried it and got up and down easily. Now,when I clean her cage , I have to remember to always put a fresh pull-up on the slide. But I love it and we can't wait to get her a companion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far So Good

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bought this cage and my new guinea pig about a week ago he loved the area it gave him but hated the ramp and second shelf so I took it out gave him an igloo and a tunnel instead, he is only 2 months old right now so he is still pretty small but we will be upgrading to a bigger area for when he is bigger. Great cage for a starter cage though. My little guy also loves the hay it comes with, and the food bowl is also great because he can't tip it over! On the downside, the bedding it comes with is only enough for a one time use and the water bottle leaked all the water out and ruined the bedding so that didn't work out to well, bought a different water bottle and new bedding. I would recommend the cage to anyone but also tell them to get a different water bottle, some toys to chew on, and a hay holder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome starter kit

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from MD,La Plata
ok my dad had bought this cage for my guinea pig about 2 days ago and i had asembled it with not a problem . but when it came to snap on the cage it was hard to snap it on ! but then i got confused that they would not tell you if you had to put the timothy hay in with the bedding . but then i always read the reviews on the petco sites and well i have the same thing in common with the water bottle leaking and my mom said why dont you put a towle or something from under it to keep it from leaking ! well i did not have any more conserns and well i would recomend this product to one of my bffs .
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
I bout this cage for my first guinea pig months (the guinea pig has since died but thats besides the point) i loved it and so did my guinea pig, she loved going up and down the little ramp, i compfortably fit an igloo the ramp the second shelf and everything the guinea pig needed, i was VERY happy with the product :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works for me

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from york,Pa
My guinea is normal size and she does fine in this. I take her out of alot too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Guinea Pig Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for all Ages

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
This cage is not big enough for an adult guinea pig. For a baby guinea pig it is fine, but one a guinea pig reaches 6 months of age it should itleast have 7 square feet. I would recommend it to someone with a young piggie.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>