petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs

Fresher, better tasting filtered water for your petEncourages pets to drink morePromotes pet health100 oz. Capacity requires less refillsMatching food bowl included
Average Customer Rating:
3.54 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
7
33 out of 50(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Review 1 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water Fountain - Great Investment

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Merrill WI
My cats didn't drink enough water until I got the water fountain. Between 2 cats, I clean & refill it weekly. Their coats are shinier and healthier looking then ever before. They are healthier overall and more energetic with the increased water consumption. Highly recommend to any household!
PS... don't forget to purchase extra filters for the fountain!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really good buy

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, VA
My kitten loves it! She likes to drink from the water flowing from the top. It's really easy to clean and is really quiet. I like how it has the attached food bowl too. It's also a lot cheaper then some of the other water feeders I have seen.
The only thing wrong is that the pump sometimes gets loose at the bottom and if you don't have it positioned just right sometimes the water won't flow properly.
Over all though I would reccommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love this product!

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque, NM
So do I!
The water flowing over the dome stays fresh and cool. My cats love to drink out of the bowl, and also lick the flowing water directly off the dome. I don't know that they're drinking MORE water than before, but they stopped drinking from their old water bowl (and the toilet!).
I feel good about them having fresh, filtered water on a continual basis. The large resevoir means I'm not constantly having to refill. The unit is easy to assemble, which also means it's easy to take apart for cleaning and sanitizing periodically.
Definately recommend to other cat people.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble

PostedJune 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Stanwood, WA
Easy to put together, quiet, cats used it right away and it doesn't get hair and dirt in their water like when we used the upside down bottle method.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The water looks alot fresher

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
It took my cats a week to get us to this but they seem to be drinking more then usual, which is great. You know when it is getting low because it does make noise then.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hagen Catit Fresh & Clear Water Fountain

PostedMay 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Moline,IL 61265
My cats love this water fountain, they are up on my counter drinking out of it very often in the day. I love it because one of my "babies" loves to drink out of the faucet in the Kitchen or the Bathrood (where ever I have it turned on). Now she is much more content to drink out the Catit fountain and leaves my faucet to me :) Thank you for a great product. I give It five ***** stars!!! KS
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cats LOVE this

PostedMay 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from santa cruz, ca
My cats love this water fountain, and so do I... it holds over a liter of water - enough for two cats if I'm away for a long weekend! Very quiet compared to other pet water fountains. Mine works great and is easy to fill from a small water filter spigot. I like that the motor and small parts are sold on-line - proactively eco-friendly. Visiting dogs love it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Isn't effective at all.

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Lafayette,LA
First and foremost I gave this product a 2 paw rating because my cats love it. I understand it just might be my fountain that could have been damaged before I brought it. I am not going to chance it and buy another. My cats love sticking their hand on the dome and "cleaning" their paws. The assembly is pretty easy,except for the contact point that lets out the water. I have to manually let out water every other day. I have tried the way in the manual and water would never trickle out. The water flowing over the dome works wonderfully. The fact there is only a small hole to fill the water doesn't bother me. The filter was fully dirty by the end of week one. I don't advise you to put food in the extra bowl,if you have cats that like to take food out of the bowl. They will drop a kibble or two into the bowl. If you don't tend to the filter right away the water suction holes on the side of the water pump become clogged and then your kitties/dogs don't have any water.Good idea,just not fully thought out. I am going to buy a different water fountain because I can't trust this when I go on vacation.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Garbage Avoid

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
It is too difficult to put together. It needs to much assistance. It even scares my senoir cat out of his mind!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I still like Catit the best

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I have been using Catit and 2 other brands of cat drinking fountains for the past 3 or 4 years. I like the Catit the best even though it has its cons.
What I like about it:
1) It holds 100 oz of water
2) It's very attractive
3) It totally comes apart for cleaning. I have another brand that has a tank you cannot get into to clean and it's developed some black crud in the seal that even bleach can't tackle.
4) It's very quiet
5) My cats enjoy lapping the water as it runs down the dome as well as from the bowl
6) It's fairly easy to pick up and carry to a sink without a major mess.
What I don't like:
1) It's hard to seat the tank into the base. Poor design.
2) Small opening for refilling - not really a big deal but still
3) Green screw that holds tank together is hard to undo if you're arthritic or not too strong
4) Have to buy new filters - I suppose this is the case with all fountains but I hate it.
Some people have complained in some reviews of noise. I think this is if you let it run too low on water or don't have the tank seated properly in the base. I also keep fish and compared to most fish tank filter pumps, this thing is soundless and has remained so for years.
As respects mineral build up, invest in some cheap vinegar, fill it up with it, run it for a few hours and the scale dissolves, rinse out, refill and you're back in business. One time the impeller in the pump in one froze due to minerals having built up in the works. A soaking with vinegar fixed it.
Someone someplace complained that it dumped water all over the floor. Oh, yes! That it will do if you aren't careful and allow the cord to touch the dome. The cord will act as a wick and all the water will run out via the cord.
I have to admit, if you are not mechanically inclined at all, this thing may frustrate you. But I am and appreciate its "engineering" and attractiveness.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

loveit

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Hayden, Alabama
My pets love it too. We purchased the water fountain about a year ago. Since then, we have observed that our pets drink more water than ever, even when they were playing with a toy near the running fountain not necessarily there to get a drink. Playing with the flowing water is also one of the ways our new kittens started drinking from the fountain. I just love it. It's easy to fill and maintain. I have found that soaking the plastic pieces in vinegar helps the remove any calcium deposit that may develop over long term use. Just like a coffee maker does. Using bottled may aid in not having to soak parts as often. Regardless, anything that is used for eating or drinking has to be cleaned regularly this includes the fountain, but it's worth it. You will see that your pets think so too. The only thing if any to complain about, is that I wish it would come in a larger size for homes with multiple pets and for times when we are away from home for a few days. Thanks for this great product, getting ready to buy another one because we have just added two .new little ones to the family.
Mama Reid
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kitty Water Fountain

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
I really do love this water fountain! I runs great and looks very mod. My cat has never drank out of a water bowl unless there was nothing else available to him, but he drinks twice as much water as he was before I got him this fountain! I would definitely recommend giving this a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The fountain is too needy

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
I'm debating on whether i should buy a new filter or just throw this thing in the trash. Some people have described modifications that make it flow better. But, I felt foolish when after one refill i could never get the water to flow like it did the first time. I can't even get the dome to sit evenly, and i've always made good grades in school.
Totally frustrating... i would never buy it again or recommend it. It gets 2 paws for delivering water as promised and loses the others for needing too much assistance from me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Difficult to Maintain

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
I found the big resoirvoir extremely difficult to take care of. Even though I tried to take care of it every day, the water didn't flow evenly and I always had to scrape calcium build-up off the clear dome. Debris was always getting stuck in the decorative bubbles they put at the bottom of the water dish and even though I had enough water in the fountain - the pump was REALLY loud and gurgled. It probably made those noises because the water wouldn't distribute over the dome evenly. I tried so many times to get it to stay even, but it just wouldn't keep. I ended up getting a different fountain that I'm much happier with. The Catit Fountain looks really fun but it's more trouble than it's worth.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

neat but dirty

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
When I first got this fountain, I loved it. The cat's loved it. They come running when they hear the hum of the pump. :) They drink a lot from fountains and not much at all from a water dish. I love the clear dome with water flowing over it. My problem with this fountain is that it's more complicated than it needs to be. A thorough cleaning, even without taking the pump apart (yes, slime builds up in the pump) takes too long. The reservoir encourages you to leave the same water in there all week trusting the filters to keep it clean. I just found it too complicated for a water dish and went looking for another, simpler product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product but.........

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
I think this product is very good with one very big exception. The filters can only be bought on line. They no longer carry them in the stores.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD PRODUCT

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
My cats love this fountain. I like it because it was easy to put together, easy to maintain, and is attractive enough to keep in livingroom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Kitty's still LOVE this fountian

PostedJanuary 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have five cats, one of which likes to pull on his water dish with his paw and make it spill everywhere. I chose this economical fountian b/c of good reviews I'd read on other pet product dealer's websites last year. I not only used the attached food dish but purchased three extra. Do not attach the dish to the water bowl and don't over fill it, and food will not get into the water. Read the directions, too. It clearly states in the directions that if you first turn it on, and water is running down one side, you simply run your hands down both sides of the dome. You do have to clean this product once a week. If it's humming at all, as the directions say, that indicates not enough water is running through the pump, so you probably put the dome on wrong. Sometimes at the end of the day I like to pour a glass of water into the bowl. It gets my cats' attention, and they come running, and I think it makes it run even better. My only real drawback is three weeks is a little bit often to be changing filters, and they only come in a three pack, so I feel like I'm buying filters a lot. It can be run without the filter but I feel like I have to clean it much more often. Also, I did have some minor difficulty when I do the monthly cleaning and I wash the inside of the dome out, I used to have a hard time getting the dome inline with the bottom half that sits on the base, it would be crooked and hard to screw on. The more I did it the easier it got. Just hold it straight, that's all. BTW, rinse the base and wipe it out with a paper towel, and it's easier to clean. the dome itself doesn't get slimy if you change the water when you're supposed to. Also, the directions say to wash the whole thing with warm soapy water about once a month. I do this and it stays in great shape. My cats aren't afraid of it and drink much more than with a standard bowl -- and my tabby stopped spilling. Hey Pet-co! There's an optional placemat that goes with this product. Could you have this in stock?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Almost what I expected

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
The fountain works about as well as I expected it to. There was some difficulty getting the water to flow evenly over the dome, but with some effort it does.Our 2 cats adapted to it well.
The pump does create a fairly noticible humming noise - NOT what I expected
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen CatIt Fresh & Clear Water Fountain for Cats and Small Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 9 Cats Love It!

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
We've had the fountain for well over a year now & the cats love it. I've found that rinsing the filter out every few days helps. Also I'd advise don't sit dry cat food close to the fountain as they tend to get more of it in the water if you do (I'd never use the attachable dish that came with it).
It does get noisy if the water gets low (but that's good, it tells you that you need to fill it up) but you don't have to take it apart to fill it up; just use the valve on the bottom (reading instructions is a good thing!!).
We have had to replace the pump once but I admit, that was my fault, not sure what I did but threw a breaker in the process & guess I fried the pump!
We also have another fountain made by the same manufacturer but it's older. It's on stand-by in case something would happen to the Catit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>