petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White

Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White

Features a white wooden cabinet, wainscoting paneling details and stainless steel hardwareCovers and hides away the litter box while keeping litter messes insideAdded shelf space and stainless steel towel bar will help you organize your areaMagnetized door opens wide so you can easily clean any standard size litter box, sold separatelyUse as a coffee table or night stand while providing a discrete resting or sleeping area for both dogs and cats
Average Customer Rating:
4.168 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
77 out of 89(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Review 1 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
CDCD
from Omaha, Ne
I live in a studio apt and don't have much room. This is excellent as a piece of furniture/litter box hider. Easy to assemble. Looks great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
23of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleasing to the eye

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Busymomto3boys
from Brentwood, CA
This is a great product if you are looking to hide the litter box. This stand is good quality and looks nice in any room. You can't use a deep litter box however, and if you have a messy cat like me, the litter will still fly out the hole in front. I was hoping it would contain the litter and my floor outside the box would stay cleaner,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great idea but

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
DeeIL
from il
I've built my litter boxes into furniture for 30 years. It's a great idea BUT two things you need. One is a Stainless or plastic pan that covers the entire bottom of the enclosure so nothing can leak into the seams of the cabinet. The second is enough room to use a litter box with a flap on the door to contain the scent. It works best if the cat can get into the cabinet and then step into the pan.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Could be Bigger

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jadednox
It is fairly simple to put together, and looks great. I haven't had a problem with vacuuming any litter up that has been kicked out of the litter box itself, and I am pleased with how much littler this shields from the surrounding area.
The biggest downside is the size. It can only fit smaller litter boxes inside of it, and so I had to replace mine. While I do think the replacement was worth it, I do not love it enough that I would suggest buying it at full price. I think there are better constructed houses for that much money. If you can get it on sale though, I would definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
LBrown
from Portland, OR
Hides the unsightly litterbox, works perfectly with the antique white decor in our home, minimizes litter on floor and the cats love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shellzie
from Lansing, MI
This product worked really well to solve the problem of where to put an additional litter box in my apartment when I adopted a second cat. There wasn't any more room in the bathroom, but this allowed me to put the litter box out in the living area without it being too much of an eyesore.
I was a little hesitant to use an enclosed litter box because I know some cats dislike them, but both my cats have no problems using it. Even my 3 legged cat has no trouble getting in and out of it! And it keeps the litter mess off of my carpet, which is handy since one of my kitties likes to play in the litter.
I also appreciate how it opens from the front for easy cleaning without removing items set on top of the cabinet so you can store things or put decorative items on top without having to worry about taken them off to scoop the box every day.
I give it only 4 stars only because while assembly was pretty easy, it doesn't seem quite as sturdy as I would like it to be. The locking bolts feel like they might wiggle loose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hides the litter box and keeps the dog out.

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
CatDogLady
from Houston
Pros:
*Our dog is no longer getting into the litter box for a snack. (Gross!)
*Our hallway looks much better with the litter box hidden.
*Our cat has a place to sit and look out the window, out of reach of our dog.
*It's easy to assemble. Also, you don't have to install the towel bar if you don't want to.
Cons:
*The cat is still getting just as much litter on the floor as he was without an enclosure.
*The white finish is VERY easily scratched, and turns a gray color.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was pleased

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharF
I read all reviews and was skeptical. Went ahead and purchased. I am not disappointed. Fast delivery- easy to put together- fits my cat's litter box- she seems to like it- and it looks really cute.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
booklady29
from Pensacola, FL
The only drawback to the cat washroom-night stand is the assembly process. The cam lock system is not my favorite type of construction. It would also be nice if it had a privacy panel over the opening. I will probably add a little sheer curtain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

White cat washroom and nightstand is perfect

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lilyannsmom
from New Egypt, NJ
Easy to assemble, sturdy, looks just like the picture. The regular cat box fit inside perfectly. The dogs don't stick their head in it, which is why we got it. I set a mat just outside so when she comes out she doesn't track litter all over. And last, but not least, she is no longer throwing litter all over the place when she's burying her business. It's very nicely contained in a pretty piece of furniture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anna9843
from Dallas TX
This is actually the 2nd time I have purchased this product. The first time, I did not use a litter box with a shield and after about a year, the wood started to warp from excess cleaning of urine. This time I have a box with a guard to prevent that. I would still suggest having a mat at the entrance/exit to collect the bits of litter that will escape. This product is fairly easy to build and looks much nicer than the average litter box. I do not add the towel handles because I do not have room in my bathroom. I use the space in between the top and the box to store cat toys and brushes with little baskets. The top acts as a nice surface to add trinkets a kit looks less like a litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not great

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
SueG316
from Florida
The pros to this unit are:
Looks great
Easy to put together
Cats readily take to it
On sale right now, so not a bad price
The cons:
A bit small on the inside so can't use larger litter box for bigger cats
When not on sale, way too pricey
Won't keep your dog from getting into the litter as some have said - the dog will simply and easily put his/her head right through the cat opening and, well, you know the rest!
I would still recommend this, but go into it knowing all the pros and cons and decide for yourself if it's for you and your cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
cwhit
from Cherry Valley, CA
This is a wonderful way to beautify you cat's litter box. It also keeps you pups from getting at the litter. It looks great in my bathroon, like it belongs, I am very pleased with it, easy to put together and very sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks better than it works

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Petsmom1
from US
This product is extremely easy to assemble & looks great, but it didn't work. It would only hold a VERY small litter box & my cat ended up urinating not only inside, but it would seep outside the box getting the inside of the wood soaked as well as the floor. I ended up returning it to the store near me. It was a great buy, but I guess I got what I paid for. If it was about 3 inches larger it would be perfect. I DO NOT recommend this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
motherofthebride
from florida
Bought 2 of these, one for me and one for my daughter. We both love them! The only droawback is they sit directly on the floor so I had to add little feet to raise them up a bit in case the bottom gets wet from my bathroom floor. Otherwise, they are just as described, not made of real wood however they look very nice and seem sturdy. Petco's price was better than most other online sites, and although still a bit pricey, worth it to me to cover the litter box. My cat is rather large (about 15 pounds) but goes in and out without any trouble. I did have to buy a new litter box to fit inside however it was pretty easy to find one that fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blending in!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
jgirl65
from Maryland
Finally a place for our cat to go where it doesn't have to be an eyesore! He took to it immediately and it works so well for us since we actually have white wainscoting in our bathroom. Everyone is happy.
My only wish is that it would come with a few different doorknob colors (only comes with silver). I purchased one to go with our bathroom but I can't screw it on tight (even using the screw that came with the furniture).
Other than that, I gave it 5 paws because it is totally worth what you pay for it. I think it is well made and well thought out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Design improvements

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
sadieshyla
from California
Door needs to be placed higher so that litter can't be kicked out. Bolts and screws don't hold and could be much better. Look is fine, size is good but perhaps should be more carefully measured for specific litter boxes. Plastic flap on door would be helpful. Appears to be designed by someone who does not have a cat that uses a litter box and also doesn't realize what kinds of screws and bolts actually hold.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MY CAT LOVES

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
conchetta126
from Louisiana
After reading reviews, I thought I'd have to return. I have a large cat, but he has no problem, and loves the privacy! I love there is no litter everywhere, much better and looks great. I use the handle to hang scoop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice but too small for my cats

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
colbygirl
from Torrance, CA
Well made and looks great. Just not big enough inside for my cats. I have 3 and one is a 15lb mainecoon mix. His long body and even longer tail makes it hard for him to turn around in a basic large litter pan.The other two cats are about 12lbs. Forgot they gave up this size pan when they about a year old.!! What makes it worse is the pan is the size of the cabinet. Not even an inch behind or in front of the pan. Unless you have a small cat I can't see how this will work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really like it

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
snickfly
from New Jersey
This looks great in the spare room. It's really like a piece of furniture and looks much nicer than just the box sitting there! It also gave me a great place to put the TV and cable box. The only downfall is that the magnet is not very strong, so often when I go in the room the door is open. I am going to look into replacing and/or adding another magnet at the bottom
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>