petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat

You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat

Perfect indoor rabbit cage, ferret cage, or guinea pig cageEasy to assemble - wire cage top snaps onto plastic baseIncludes ramp and second level platformEasy access through front and top doorsRemovable wheels for added mobilityEasy to clean
Average Customer Rating:
3.855 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
31
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
14
90 out of 117(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Review 1 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FINAL HOME

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from lancaster,pa.
can't say enough about this cage perfect for one large rabbit,two ginnies or a ferret of medium size,well made for easy set up but not to heavy for daily or weekly cleaning so go ahead and get this cage for the size and price well worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Harlingen, TX
Easy to assemble and very sturdy. Perfect size for our rabbit. Very happy with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice size for guinea pig

PostedJune 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago illinois
Our guinea pig loves his new home but she is not climbing to the top! In all other aspects the cage is big enough for her. It is easy to clean. I would recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Size is great!

PostedJune 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Farmington, CT
The extra length gives our piggie super popping and running around room! (Especially once you add all the toys and hidy hut!) On top of it all, the wheels make it convenient to move her around to the glass door so she can view the outside and stay safe from predators.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great GP cage

PostedJune 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ewing, NJ
I've had pigs since 4th grade. I know pigs! We searched for the right guinea pig cage for our new baby pig that would be bigger than any of our past cages. It had to be portable and big enough for running and hopping but something that didn't takeover the room; needed some kind of platform bc our pig loves to sit/sleep on his house; needed something easy to clean that would only require once a week cleanings and could slide into a garbage bag for dumping shavings and newspaper easily; the front opening had to be big enough for helping pig out of cage and easy to access piggy; and to be even pickier, it needed to look good bc we keep it in the kitchen/dining area where we spend most of our time. This cage fits all of our needs and BarleyPig loves it!
The platform needs to be at the 3rd bar (not 4th like in the picture and I have read other reviews that said the same thing), low enough for successful spontaneous jump ups and the angle of the ramp is lower for comfortable climbing. (At 4th bar, Barley could make the jump, but pigs are clumsy and not meant for jumping...I saw a few blunders that could have lead to injury so we lowered it.)
Ramp is slippery. I put heavy duty adhesive felt pad strips on it for better grip. He nibbled them at first, but ignores them now.
The color is perfect for us. It fits our colors in the house, and doesn't feel like a "cage".
It is easy to clean, and clearly more debris to dump than any cage I've ever had. Because it is narrow and long, it slides into a 13 gallon trash bag easily. Since it is so long to completely fit in the bag, there is a method you need to discover so you do not dump the contents all over the floor.
We used to have a cage that had a complete top opening. It was set on a 2 1/2' bench with the top propped open all of the time so we could always give attention with pettings. We have always had our pig's home located in the part of the house that we spend the most time... the kitchen/dining area. After having the small starter baby cage at counter height (We did not install the wheels.) we discovered it was more fun to view him from there. He gave his attention by sitting at the open doorway waiting for food and petting, and we could give our attention just passing by. The UK sells cages that open completely in the front and we tried to purchase one, but the shipping fees are outrageous, and they cannot guarantee color choices. Also, in hind-sight we realized, the front being completely accessible was good for us, but the rambunctious baby pig would have been able to jump out bc the plastic tubs are typically only 5 1/4inches high. Thank goodness we didn't pursue getting it from UK.
This cage, "You and Me Living the Dream Small Animal Habitat", was purchased on a whim bc we needed something fast: we had a growing 6 mo old boar who loves to run. The front door opening has 2 bars that prevent our little climber/jumper from getting out when we leave the door open.
This cage is a good size for one pig to live in. (Two pigs could live in it if they know each other, but you would need to buy a pen to let them out to exercise. It's just too small for 2 adult pigs 24/7.)
I hope this review is helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent home

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Haven, CT
This is a decent sized cage for a dwarf rabbit (under 4 lb.), as long as it comes out to play daily. Plenty of space for a guinea pig.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall great product

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
This cage is everything we wanted for our rabbit. We love everything about the cage - the only drawback to the cage is the ramp to the shelf. It's plastic and our rabbit can't get any footing to be able to use it. But love the features of being able to open the top and side to gain access to the enclosure. The wheels allow you to easily move the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good size for two guinea pigs

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from cleveland,oh
Nice size cage for two guinea pigs. Would not go any smaller! The wheels for a great feature for moving the cage around the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent habitat

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
This cage was easy to assemble , comes with optional wheels which we used and looks very nice. It was a great price and shipped quickly I like that the sides are high enough to contain bedding, but you can still watch your Guinea pig play. I would recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Size

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
I am SOOOO happy and pleased with my purchase. I have had my Guinea pig for about 8 months and he was still in the starter cage that I got when I first got him. He was getting pretty big and I felt as if a little more room would be nice for him. I really wanted a cage where I could put the food up top because I felt like it was messy and clustered with everything on one level. This cage perfectly fit my needs! It is HUGE, even bigger than you are expecting. The little bi-level area works perfectly for the food and hay so now my guinea pig has a nice clean area underneath to run around in. The cage even comes with optional wheels that I have actually found very handy in moving his cage out to get the mess up on the floor that he creates when he plays. He loves it. I have never been so pleased with a purchase before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bi Level Habitat

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Neptune, NJ
Perfect cage. Easy to clean and I love the wheels! Make it easier to move the cage from room to room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The cage is perfect

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Desert, California
My Gibbie is content. Sure, the bi-level ramp and stage is practically useless at this moment, but the cage overall is very nice. Gibbie seems happier at home than before and thus, I am happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this cage!

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster, PA
This cage is a lot bigger than I thought it would be which is great for my bunny to run around in until it's play time outside of the cage. The assembly was very easy and it is an overall great cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great cage

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rural Valley
Love the cage, the only thing i would change is the door latches which is why i gave it 4 stars. Not good for kids. Having to bend the wires to get the door open may give us issues later. I would also offer a second ledge. Overall nice cage for a great price. Pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!!!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Laguna Niguel, CA
Love this cage because it is neutral colors (bronze) and blends into the room. Well made and perfect size for two guinea pigs. Definite good buy!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a cage for ferrets!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lockport, IL
I have 2 wonderful but mischievous ferrets who can pretty much out the test to any product. I first bought this cage because it was a starter cage and read the reviews to see if it would be great for ferrets, which it said it was.
Within the first night, the trouble makers found out that the lock is just a bend bar, and does not secure properly so they are able to shake the door open. After tying it so they could be secure for the night, I was awoken by a ferret in my bed. Confused, I out her back and watched her squeeze through the loose bars about the door.
This cage may be great for other small animals, but when it comes to ferrets, the locks and bars are just not secure/strong enough.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very durable

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Altoona, PA
I purchased this to replace my old habitat and I thought it was going to be the very same thing, but to my surprise it was even better this time! There is now two openings, one on top and one on the side. In addition, the bottom is textured and the wires have a textured coating on them. It just seems to be made better overall. The only problem I have is that it is the same size length, but about an inch shorter in width.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Is Decent

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Downers Grove, IL
The cage itself is very hardy and I like it, but it is hard to clean. We have to put it in a bathtub to clean the base! Also the droppings get stuck on there and leave a stain. Overall, it is good!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the price!!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh
Very nice cage, easy to set up, easy to clean. Definitely big enough for two guinea pigs!! Our piggies are very happy in their new home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for You & Me Living The Dream Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product has some good features

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey
While this product has good features as far as the height & length of the cage, the floor of the cage is only as wide as the width of a Newspaper Page!! I was floored when I received the cage, & while I was thrilled with the height, & length which is what I expected, when I saw how wide the bottom of the cage was, I just couldn't believe that when I put down Newspaper, the cage was Literally only as Wide as the Newspaper! .This cage was very deceiving. They never tell you the dimensions of the bottom of the cage..It's really only good for now while my Guinea Pig is a small pig, but when he grows to be an adult, i'm going to have to purchase yet another cage...My other 2 Adult Guinea Pigs would not fit in it. It's, it's just simply too narrow...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>