petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat

Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat

Perfect indoor rabbit cage, ferret cage, or guinea pig cageEasy to assemble - wire cage top snaps onto plastic baseIncludes ramp and second level platformEasy access through front and top doorsRemovable wheels for added mobilityEasy to clean
Average Customer Rating:
3.755 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
14
80 out of 106(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Review 1 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The cage is perfect

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Desert, California
My Gibbie is content. Sure, the bi-level ramp and stage is practically useless at this moment, but the cage overall is very nice. Gibbie seems happier at home than before and thus, I am happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this cage!

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster, PA
This cage is a lot bigger than I thought it would be which is great for my bunny to run around in until it's play time outside of the cage. The assembly was very easy and it is an overall great cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great cage

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rural Valley
Love the cage, the only thing i would change is the door latches which is why i gave it 4 stars. Not good for kids. Having to bend the wires to get the door open may give us issues later. I would also offer a second ledge. Overall nice cage for a great price. Pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!!!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Laguna Niguel, CA
Love this cage because it is neutral colors (bronze) and blends into the room. Well made and perfect size for two guinea pigs. Definite good buy!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a cage for ferrets!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lockport, IL
I have 2 wonderful but mischievous ferrets who can pretty much out the test to any product. I first bought this cage because it was a starter cage and read the reviews to see if it would be great for ferrets, which it said it was.
Within the first night, the trouble makers found out that the lock is just a bend bar, and does not secure properly so they are able to shake the door open. After tying it so they could be secure for the night, I was awoken by a ferret in my bed. Confused, I out her back and watched her squeeze through the loose bars about the door.
This cage may be great for other small animals, but when it comes to ferrets, the locks and bars are just not secure/strong enough.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very durable

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Altoona, PA
I purchased this to replace my old habitat and I thought it was going to be the very same thing, but to my surprise it was even better this time! There is now two openings, one on top and one on the side. In addition, the bottom is textured and the wires have a textured coating on them. It just seems to be made better overall. The only problem I have is that it is the same size length, but about an inch shorter in width.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Is Decent

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Downers Grove, IL
The cage itself is very hardy and I like it, but it is hard to clean. We have to put it in a bathtub to clean the base! Also the droppings get stuck on there and leave a stain. Overall, it is good!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the price!!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh
Very nice cage, easy to set up, easy to clean. Definitely big enough for two guinea pigs!! Our piggies are very happy in their new home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product has some good features

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey
While this product has good features as far as the height & length of the cage, the floor of the cage is only as wide as the width of a Newspaper Page!! I was floored when I received the cage, & while I was thrilled with the height, & length which is what I expected, when I saw how wide the bottom of the cage was, I just couldn't believe that when I put down Newspaper, the cage was Literally only as Wide as the Newspaper! .This cage was very deceiving. They never tell you the dimensions of the bottom of the cage..It's really only good for now while my Guinea Pig is a small pig, but when he grows to be an adult, i'm going to have to purchase yet another cage...My other 2 Adult Guinea Pigs would not fit in it. It's, it's just simply too narrow...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best cage I've had

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mountain Home, AR
I used this cage for my guinea pig for several months and then my ferret for a year and never had any problems or broken pieces. It's very sturdy (even against the ferret rattling the bars all night!) and easy to clean. I don't love the second level ramp. He usually jumped on it rather than climbed the ramp because it was difficult for him to gain traction on it. Other than that I was very pleased with this cage and the sale price I paid for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
This product is a great deal for the sale price. But I would not buy it for the non-sale in store price. The plastic 2nd level tray already cracked the 2nd time we removed it to clean the cage but it is still usable. Our bunny is really happy with her home and loves the 2nd level as her dining area!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Other than the fact that the width is shorter than what it says, it's still a pretty big cage length wide. My guinea pigs seem to love it :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great habitat for my guinea pig

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Merced, CA
Bought this habitat because it was on sale at a price I couldn't resist. Love the size of it and don't have too much to say about it other than this:
Good stuff:
1. My guinea pig loves it
2. The bi-level feature is nice
3. Nice and big.
Bad stuff:
1. Guinea pig could not climb the all-plastic ramp to the second level unless it was on its lowest setting. Put a sock over it to make it climbable.
2. I would have been very disappointed if I had paid full retail price for this. Just sayin'.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

smaller than described

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Three Rivers, Ma
I bought this cage thinking it was longer and wider than the one I currently have based on the measurements listed. Although it is longer, the width is sadly described. The top of the base is 17"(not 20") and then it tapers in to 13" at the bottom. I will be returning this cage and going somewhere else to get a truly larger cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
This is a excellent cage. I recently bought it for my baby guinea pig and it is a great size for him! Its long so he can run aorund and the seconed level is great for such a young guinea pig to get exercise and play. He has a lot of energy so the space provided by this cage is perfect. The only thing I found wrong with this cage is that the ladder is too slippery for him to climb. So i clipped a towel to it and that has worked just fine. He dosnt chew on the towel or anything so this is a easy way to work with it. I do not believe this is big enough for two full grown piggies though. I do let my two play in it but they both have a seperate cage so they can have their space. Overall I love this cage and think it would work welll for anyone with a small rodent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My rabbits love this product!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Whitewater, WI
I use this when I come home from college and have to bring the rabbits home. They love the extra room they get by having the two levels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bi-Level Cage

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
I love it.
Nice and big.
So wonderfull cage.
That's what I want it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pigs love their new house

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MI
I am very pleased with this cage for our 2 guinea pigs. We inherited our pigs free with a very small cage and this gives them so much more room to move around! Our guineas do not climb at all, so I have never seen them on the second level. They do love to hide under that space though. Plenty of room for an igloo house and a tube for hiding in as well. We hung two water bottles at different locations around the cage and they use them both. I would suggest getting out the tape measure and measuring before you purchase--make sure you have the room for this cage!
I cannot speak to the wear and tear the cage will have the longer we have it...the first cleaning was very easy. I need to clean it less often than the smaller cage.
We received the product very quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a bad cage but didn't fit our needs

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Virginia Beach, VA
I purchased this cage for my female guinea pig of 2 years. It was a nice size but the ramp was shorter than the ramp in her smaller cage. She couldn't stand up under the shelf because it was so low. We did not like the way the doors latched close either. But the biggest disappointment was that one of the clips for the shelf was broken when we took it out of the box. It looked brand new and the box wasn't tampered with. Again, not a bad cage but it didn't suit our needs so I returned it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Bi-Level Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, IN
This cage is VERY easy to put together. The wheels just slide right on. But the top level is just a bit hard to push onto the wires. My only draw back would be that the ramp doesn't have good enough grips. My guinea pig has to jump instead of climb. Otherwise, wonderful cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>