petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter

100% Pure pine cat litter naturally destroys odorsAll-natural formula clumps tight for easy clean upLight weight, chemical free & highly absorbent
Average Customer Rating:
3.356 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
11
26 out of 45(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Review 1 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wouldn't use any other litter

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Phila., PA
This is the best. It's lightweight and you really only need to scoop the feces. Although the urine doesn't clump together well enough to scoop very much, it doesn't matter because once you stir it up in the litter box, it doesn't really smell much. I only change the entire box once a month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big waste of money

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln Nebraska
Feline Pine claims "Clumps tight" and "Low dust" Both statements are as far from the truth as you can get. Urine might clump tight if you leave it in the box for five days but after 12 hours or more it does not. It looks like it is but no mater how gently you shake your litter scoop it falls apart and drops through the slots and then is impossible to pick up. Dust also flies up to greet you every time you scoop. We have been searching for a litter that clumps tight and has no dust. We have tried Sweet Scoop, Blue Naturaly crushed walnuts, Tidy Cat Pure Nature cedar and pine, and World's Best Clumping made from corn. All of them need to be poured from one bucket to another several times in the wind to get rid of the dust. Sweet Scoop and Blue Naturaly work best after de-dusting.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does Not Clump as Advertised

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cocoa Beach, FL
I was looking forward to switching to a cat litter that is recycled, contols odors and able to break down in the land fill. Also, less toxic (bentonite & silica dust) for my cats.
Clumps fall apart..... you end up with a box filled with urine soaked cat litter.
The search continues.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Feline Pine Cat Litter

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Philly, Pa.
I don't like it, and my cats didn't like it but I purchased it for my daughter, she loves it and I think her cats do too. My cats are used to Jonny Cat that's what I started them off with.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has actually improved

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
I am an apartment dweller who has to keep my cat's litter box in my bed room since there's no other feasible place for it (bathroom's too small, kitchen is out of the question, and it's not going in the front hall). I wouldn't use this litter unless it really worked for me. Number one it has to be good at odor control, which Feline Pine certainly is. Granted, it smells best--most like pine ;)--when it's freshly added to the box, but I pour a layer of baking soda on the bottom of the box to augment that. If FP didn't control the odor at least 85-90% of the time, I couldn't use it--not where I sleep! The only real problem with that is if my cat doesn't properly bury his little bombs, but that's his doing. I also think the weather makes a difference--if it's warm and humid, certainly the box will smell more, but that means I scoop it more. No one has ever complained about cat box smell in my apartment.
The old version of FP actually tracked *worse* than this one does. The current product is heavier and looks like gravel, but I no longer find it all over the apartment. And seriously? What cat litter doesn't track? I bought a sisal floor mat to go in front of the box which helps even more. This version is an improvement.
The environmental aspect is VERY important to me. No chemical deodorizers, no clay/silica dust, and this stuff *will* decompose, and it won't endanger my cat's health, or mine. If I lived in a building with better plumbing I would try flushing what I scoop.
Basically I am pretty satisfied with the boxed Feline Pine cat litter. It's effective, it lasts, and my cat has no issues with using it. Of course, my cat has very gentlemanly bathroom habits anyway, but that's about the only thing FP can't take credit for!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
This is my cats favorite litter and mine too! It can get messy sometimes, but we have a little mat set up that helps with that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for cats and rabbits

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Keyport, NJ
This is great scoop able litter to use for Rabbis too. If you have an in door bunny who you want to litter box train, use this litter. Rabbits are easily trained to use the litter box; just let the bun pick their potty spot, then you clean it up, and put the litter box in that place with a few of it's pellets and the bun should use the box but if they get mad or hungry they will dig out
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Clumping?

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oakland, CA
They claim "CLUMPING", but the clumps fall apart into dust as you try to shake the dry litter out of scooper.
This stuff is useless and misrepresented- I would be ashamed to be selling the stuff!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why did you have to change a good thing ?????????????

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
After many years of trying to find a decent cat litter, we found Feline Pine clumping litter a couple of years ago. It has been just great ! BUT .... could we leave a good thing alone ? Nooooooo we had to mess with it and totally screw it up. The new formulation basically stinks. Both literally, it does not cover up oders like the original, but also it stinks in that it does not clump as well and is generally a pain to use.
Pleeeeeeeease bring back the old formulation !!!!!!
If not, I guess its time to start looking for another alternative.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New & "improved" formula

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Jackson, Michigan
I am extremely disappointed in the new "improved" formula. Unlike the nice sawdust that I have been buying for years, this new formula is nothing more that the ground up pellets of the original formula. (and not very well either. There are numerous whole pellets in here) It is twice as heavy for the volume in the litter box. It is dusty. There is no longer any odor control; my cat used it for the first time today, and I can smell it all the way on the other side of the house, now an hour after she used it. She doesn't like it either, she keeps going back, scratching at the box, trying to cover up the scent. And, of course, it is now more expensive. I am so disgusted, find something one likes, and the company is sure to change it. I will be switching to a different brand of litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I like the fragrance.

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
I would give this product a five if it were all fine rather than having some larger pieces in it. I use it in conjunction with another clumping litter (clay type) for its fragrance (not perfumey) and lightness. I also like the fact that it is earth friendly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from ny, ny
I bought this litter because
1.) it was recommended for kittens that just had surgery
2.) it was supposed to be amazing i.e. smell amazingly fresh and have low track
whoever wrote the review that it was great LIED.
IT TRACKS WORSE THAN CLAY LITTER and it does NOTHING to mask the litter smell. worst purchase i have ever made for pet ever.
The stupid litter is ALL OVER MY HOUSE. it not only sticks to the paws of the kittens but their fur and when they climb all over the furniture it sticks onto the furniture.
The box says 100% satisfied guaranteed. Well, they'll be getting a call from me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sticky all over and on everything

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I bought this because I had a kitten who was eating litter and I didn't want her to eat the clay. This stuff is horrible. It contains Guaro bean which makes it clump. When it gets wet it sticks like glue and I had to keep washing off my cat's feet. If a damp piece of it or some dry got tracked on the floor then got a little wet it stuck to the floor like glue and had to be soaked or scraped up. I went back to clay, the cat stopped eating litter but I would like to find something in lieu of clay
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Just Okay

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Gresham Oregon
I bought this product because I was attracted to the natural aspect while still claiming to clump control odor for multiple cats. Pros: safe, natural, lightweight & decently priced. Cons: doesn't clump well, tracks heavily & doesn't control odors. Our house smelled like solid cat waste & wood chips when using this product despite cleaning the box 3 times a day! My husband complained about the horrible smell continually. Within one hour of switching to regular clay litter, the smell was gone & hasn't been back! I really wanted Feline Pine to work!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feline Pine

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Medford WI
Since we began using Feline Pine our home smells just great. The litter has a pleasant pine smell that makes us feel we are out side in a forest. I cuts the litter box our to the barest minimum.
We love the stuff.
Wisc Frank
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love it!

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Wausau WI
My cats are very happy with this litter and so am I. I started using it because it is all natural and I understood that the clay litters are very dusty. While it is a little more costly, I gladly pay for it because I know it will not make my cats sick. It clumps well and controls odor well. It has such a wonderful pine scent. I don't mind some tracking, as it is clean tiny pine flakes....sweep and vacuum right up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tracks Everywhere!

PostedJune 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Because pieces of this litter are so small, it tracks everywhere! Would only recommend if you want this all over your house / apartment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No dust!!!

PostedMay 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Pacific Northwest
I have three cats, and one has had an intermittent breathing/wheezing problem for 10 years. I switched to this, and not only is there no dust all over everything (like there was with the clay litter), but WheezyKitty no longer has breathing issues! (Been five months now.)
I do have to change it more frequently, and it doesn't always clump so well. But the lack of dust, ease to transport/move, and environmental issues are big plusses.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like it very much

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
We have two cats using this litter. Since it's biodegradable, we can flush scoopings from this litter down the toilet and it won't clog up the septic. As a result, we scoop more often. We just toss the wet clumps in the trash -- it's very lightweight, which is a bonus since our trash hauler has a weight limit.
One thing I would note: this litter comes in 14 lb bags, which don't seem to be available from Petco. It's a much better value when purchased that way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Feline Pine Scoop Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Like the smell, but that's it. . .

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Love the smell of this sawdust, I mean litter, but that's about all I like. It tracks EVERYWHERE! It doesn't truly clump either. It loosely holds a clump which disintigrates the moment you try to scoop it up.
I rolled over to using this litter from having used Swheat Scoop and since then my cat has had runny eyes and has started sneezing. Needless to say, I'm switching back.
I think I might try using the Feline Pine Pellets mixed with the Swheat Scoop just to get the pine smell (my kitty won't use 100% pellets, I think it hurts her paws).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>