petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp

Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp

Aluminum and plastic design make these the lightest and strongest dog ramps for cars on the marketEasy to use - just slide it out to use and slide it in to stowWavy walking surface with non-slip tread gives pets a sure footingThese dog ramps for pick-up trucks include a convenient carry handle and safety release latch to prevent accidental opening
Average Customer Rating:
4.745 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
49 out of 51(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Review 1 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I Needed

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
2SpoiledDogs
from Tucson, AZ
Due to a shoulder injury, I can no longer lift my two dogs on to the grooming table for their regular (and necessary!) comb-outs. This ramp is the only one I found that is designed for use at table or tailgate height, and it has really saved the day for me. The telescoping feature allows enough extended length for a shallow angle the dogs can easily walk up on their own. It is lightweight but very stable, has excellent non-slip footing, and enough width to reassure the dogs. This ramp is simple to use, and easy to carry and store. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My back LOVES this ramp!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
hapitail
from Oregon coast
Works as expected for 2 labs to get into the back of a Mazda 3 and a Ford F250, (need to angle it around doors so top of ramp does not sit square on running board or floor. Too steep for my dogs if on seat). It did not fit the opening of the Booster Bath dog tub, but I just flipped a 5 gallon bucket over and placed the ramp on it so that it was just a little hop to get into the tub. Ramp is lightweight and easy to use making it very portable.
The package arrived a little banged up and had one small broken piece of plastic in the box. I couldn't figure out where it had broken off and as the ramp worked just fine I tossed it. After a dozen or so uses the ramp slipped out of my hands when setting it up and the telescoping part hit the concrete kind of hard breaking off the same piece of plastic. I figured out where it was supposed to be, but found no purpose for it as the ramp still worked fine.
As we have a wooden ramp for our deck steps, our 13 year old Labs (62# & 53#) did not hesitate to use this ramp. It provided good support for their weights. The traction grit did not work with our slower Lab (the one that really needs the ramp). She did have problems getting traction and started skidding before getting all the way into the car. Simple solution was to toss a towel on the ramp.
If your dog is new to ramps, set it up at a very slight angle, (one step or a couple of pavers) then walk them at a heel with food enticements on the ramp. Be sure to pick a command, i.e. "ramp". Once that becomes easy for them, move the ramp to the car/truck and repeat. This is my second set of old Labs and I admit I've always skipped the leaving the ramp on the ground or setting it up low. Didn't know that was what I was supposed to do with the first set. I stand next to the ramp and give the "ramp" command while I tap the ramp. (Be sure to stand next to the ramp so you can guide them if they decide to bail off the side.) Once they go all the way up, they get a treat and lots of "good dogs", repeat to go down the ramp. After a couple of 5 minute sessions they go up and down the ramp on command no food rewards required.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Luv2camp
from Lake Charles, Louisiana
We needed a ramp for our boxer puppy to get in and out of our RV and Chevrolet Silverado. He rides in the back seat of the truck so we needed something that would work with the rear doors of the truck and the door of the RV.
This ramp works great for both. He took some coaxing at first with some treats, but once he got used to it he is up and down it without any hesitation.
Some previous reviews noted that the surface was too rough but we didn't find that. In fact, it seemed to help his confidence because he didn't slip when using it.
It is light weight and easy to handle. There is a strap to hold it closed and a handle to carry it. It is sturdy, our dog is 50 lbs right now and it handles him with ease. I have no doubt it will hold him when he is fully grown.
We bought it using a discount offer and free shipping so the price was great. Petco are always offering discounts online so wait for a special.
Overall, this has been a great purchase for us and solved the problem of getting our dog in and out of our RV and our truck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This telescoping ramp saved the day!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
2HappyGoldens
from Wisconsin
I have a Ford Escape, and my 2 Goldens couldn't jump in or out due to their bad hips. I bought the deluxe ramp for the wider 20" width, and because it extends longer to lessen the angle of the decent, plus making it easier to walk on the sandy surface, as not to tear up their foot pads. I followed the advice of others and covered the ramp with indoor/outdoor carpeting, protecting pads. They started to slide coming down, so we went back to the original surface. No problems.
Traveling with ramp- Not extended, it is still four feet long. Escape back seat is folded down to allow room for 2 dogs and the ramp. Ramp leans against side window, secured with bungee cords. Easy and not heavy to handle.
Bottom Line: This ramp is much easier on dog's hips getting into the car. Happy dogs, happy owner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well made but did not work for me

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
LLZB
from Fairview Park, OH
Ramp is well made, light, easy to open and close. However, it did not work for me because I wanted one that could be used for the dog to get in the back seat of my Subaru Forester. Because the door entry is curved, it was askew and would not work as a stable ramp. It would be fine for getting into the cargo area. Thus, five paw rating for people who want cargo entry only.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serves purpose

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
3berners
from Chattanooga, TN
My Berner puppies walk right up the ramp. My older Berner, with knee and back problems still needs some help. The negative of this product is the thin grtty surface, my 110 lb Berner dug into it and went down to alum. Getting up. Otherwise, it is a blesseing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Ramp

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
kame
from Napa, Ca
Ramp was purchased to assist an older dog who is having a problem with stairs. This ramp is very stable, and it serves its purpose very well. It is also easy to carry....not too heavy. I would not hesitate recommend this ramp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
20of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Huge Help!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
BullmastiffMomma
from Chicago, IL
I ordered this ramp before taking an 1,100 mile road trip with my 60 lb Bullmastiff puppy. I'm a slim female, and I knew I wouldn't be able to lift him in and out of my truck.
I started training him on it a week before the trip, first by laying it flat on the floor and then by raising it up two steps. He was afraid to go higher, but a beef sandwich at the other end was too much to resist! By the time we left for our trip, he could go up and down safely with dog treat bribes. It made the journey much more enjoyable - I don't think I could have done it without this ramp! We have had the ramp for almost three months now, and my dog is happy to get into and out of the truck without treats!
It is a very sturdy ramp with a sandpaper-like surface to keep from slipping. There is a security latch to keep it from opening, but be careful because the momentum can make it open pretty fast.
All in all, I love this ramp and highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very stable

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Montes
from Maine
I have 2 large dogs. One so cautious that she wont jump into a vehicle. Im always fearful of hurting her trying to lift her back end up. Shes also over 100 lbs which is a killer on me. Ive looked at and read reviews of so many ramps and decided on this one. Mostly for the width, traction and mostly stability knowing that and of those 3 features not meeting my expectations would shake my dogs fear and the ramp would be worthless. I guided her up it as she causiously walk. No wobbles and no slips. It was also raining out. My other over 100 lb dog walked right up it. great investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
29of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes life easier

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
tig123
from Ocean Isle NC
Excellent product for an aging dog. My dog loves to ride and getting on and of the truck was getting hard on him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Ramp

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
RONIN
from Cleveland, OH
I have a GSD puppy 5 months old and about 55 ibs. I don't want to have to pick him up (and he has gotten tired of being picked up). I also don't want him getting hurt trying to jump into our Durango SUV. I originally built a wooden ramp. It was heavy, awkward and splintered. When I saw the ramp online I was skeptical but I read all the reviews and I was also assured that if it didn't do what it was supposed to do....it was going back to Petco. It is fantastic. My dog bounds right up it into his crate. It is lightweight and I love the strap handle on the side. I pull it right out of the vehicle...slide out the extension and up he goes with confidence ...and that is key. I didn't want anything that frightened him since I expect to show him in obedience and agility. I highly recommend this product. Totally a worthwhile investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my back

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Zenfulone
from Riverside, CA
Very easy to use, and store, my 80 lb pup is too small to get into the back of the SUV alone. I had to help him and was hurting my back and wrist. Now, he loves to run up and down the ramp, right into his crate. It is well worth the $, and has even given us an advantage in agility. I also use it with my elderly dog, to safely and gently get her in/out of the SUV...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product and easy to use

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pacer
from Bella Vista, AR
I have a service dog and a Corgie who both have graduated to the senior years so lifting or jumping gives my100# lab less stress on his hips and the Corgie has had a hip replacement. It took only 3 attempts and they had the the idea down pat . Thank you for a great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's great!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
TraceyR
from Sanford, FL
After reading many reviews, I chose this ramp for my 2 100# Great Pyrenees. It supports them well, feels very sturdy and wide enough for them. The nail file type coating on the ramp helps their paws go up & down. The real trick was getting them to walk on it. That was solved with multiple treats luring them up and down- that worked! I would reccommend this ramp!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice ramp - works for cars

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
LibbyLou
from McKinney, TX
I have a Honda Accord and we were concerned we wouldn't find a sturdy and stable ramp for our Collie who was diagnosed with a slipped disc recently. He LOVES car rides and we love to take him with us a lot. Well, this ramp turned out to be better quality than what we expected and we love it. We also use it for the bed so our Collie doesn't have to jump up to hang with us. The only drawback using it in the Honda is we can't fit the ramp in the back door because of the ramp width but we can use it in the front seat and our dog then climbs between the seats to the back seat. We have a doggy car hammock for the back seat that keeps him in place. This ramp is sturdy, safe and fits in my trunk so we use it all the time and LOVE it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was hoping for...

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
AmstaffMom
from FL
We just adopted a 12 month old dog who was in a kennel for most of his life and doesn't have the muscular development and strength to jump into our car. On top of that he had knee surgery two weeks ago. So we ordered this ramp based on prior reviews and are happy to say it works as well as we were hoping. We put it on the back bumper of our GMC Denali and our 46lb puppy walks right up and down. The first time he used it, to train him, we put squishy treats that stuck to the sandpaper like walkway up the center of the ramp. He liked that. Also, we use his lease and hold it closely so he isn't tempted to jump off before getting to the proper end, for his safety. We are happy with this product. It is well made, seems durable, easy to use, not too heavy, and easily slides in and out of place in the back of the car. By the way, be careful when lifting because the ramp very easily collapses in half by sliding into two halves, side by side, and then back out to one long ramp. If you're not paying attention when you lift it, it could slide out and land on your foot, or someone else's or even your dog. But that's not a problem with the ramp, just something to be aware of so you don't have an operator error problem. Enjoy. And by the way, with long walks and plenty of exercise our dog is getting stronger by the day!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

would not recommend

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
northjersey1
from new jersey
lab hated it, as soon as his paws touched the emery board like surface, he refused to go near it. very heavy and really not good to carry around to use in different locations. very disappointed and will be returning item to store
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ramp

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Poodletop
from Camas WA
My 80 pound GSD had no problem going up the ramp the first time I asked her to. There is no flex in it at all, it is very sturdy. I love the size of it and it fits well in my vehicle which is a wagon. She has been injured for 6 months with a Illiopsoas muscle strain and I was barrowing a ramp so it was time I got one of my own. This is exactly what I was looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with thr Solvit telescoping dog ramp

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
MarciJo
from Des Moines, IA
I have a 13 year old, 68 pound labrador retriever that just can't jump up in the back of my Subaru anymore. After reviewing the various models of dog ramps on several different websites, I chose this ramp based on the number of positive reviews.
The ramp arrived in just a few days - ordered on Tuesday and delivered on Saturday. When I opened the box, I was quite pleased to see how sturdy the construction was and how easy it was to carry and place in position.
I was still apprehensive as to whether my aging doggy would take to walking up the ramp so like others, I used treats to get her used to it. To my surprise, she went right up the ramp on the first day.
The tailgate of my Subaru is only 24" off the ground and I purchased the large size which works very well. The angle of ramp is fine but for an aging dog, I don't think I'd want it any steeper for her to use. If you have a taller tailgate, I would suggest the x-lg size. The ramp is strong and did not bend at all when she walked up, so I think it would be fine for heavier dogs.
I really appreciate all those that left earlier reviews as it gave me the confidence to order this product and I was not dissapointed. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Solvit Deluxe Telescoping Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product saved our dog's problem

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
GSDsmom
from Everett, WA
Our 4 years old male GSD(86lbs) has Arthritis. He refused to jump to our car(Ford Expedition) lately. We purchased Large size, it is long enough to back door.
He was scared to go up at the first time. It took 2days to get used it with treats. This ramp is light weight and very stable. The surface is a little rough though. This ramp saved our problem, Thanks!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>