petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Insight Sand Perches

Insight Sand Perches

Not all perches are created equalThe varying diameters along the length of the Insight Bird Perch exercise the muscles in your bird's feet while the rough texture provides an excellent surface for normal wear of your bird's nails
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
41 out of 46(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Insight Sand Perches
Review 1 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My conures favorite spot to chill

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lemur72
from Los Angeles
I bought this for my 3 month old conure and he wasn't to interested in it at first but as the week passes he grew fond of it . He loves to hang out there and relax. This sharp class have dulled down and he uses it to clean his beak:) I recommend this product . I'm very pleased!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay but good price!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
JackieShadows
from Arlington, VA
I bought the regular size for my green cheek conure. The size is a little on the small side to be effective in dulling his nails. I think this product would work better for smaller birds like parakeets and finches over the medium size birds. However, the perch isn't even and has various diameters to help exercise the bird's feet which is great. But where it's thinner is basically useless for the nail dulling purpose. The price is great, and it's been holding up well after several washes. The plastic screw doesn't hold up at all if you move the perch around unfortunately. The screw should also be longer. My bird is pretty spoiled and has two wood perches, two rope perches, one concrete, and this sand perch in the cage. He doesn't seem to like this perch despite me putting it higher up in the cage. I try to put his skewer and give treats near this and the concrete perch to encourage usage. But please don't let this be your main perch for your birds! I see others writing that they've bought multiple of these and birds truly need variety of textures and sizes to keep them happy and healthy. Sand perches can be very damaging to a bird's feet if this is their main perch, they can develop sores. This should NOT be a sleeping or the highest perch. Your vet will tell you the same.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so good

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Conuresaurus
from ME
My green cheek conure's nails would have to be morbidly overgrown for this perch to help file them. These perches irritated his feet, and his cere from rubbing his beak on it. They also have a strong, unpleasant plastic odor, and one of them broke fairly soon after purchasing it (the screw-on backing stripped the plastic and would no longer keep it attached to the cage).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little perch

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Lakewood, NJ
I love this perch because it does help with my parakeets' nails. They love it and are always on it, plus my one parakeet loves to do circles all the way around it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants their birds nails maintained. It really does help.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have!!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
hamstersarereallycool
from Apple Valley, MN
Our cockatiels love this perch!!! I helps keep some of their toes sanded down, but the front and back ones are too long and don't touch the perch very well. I'll have to go back to the ole' nailclipper. :D But they love this perch and it looks really nice in the cage! Must have!! I'll be purchasing more!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sand perch

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
itsjuscindy
from Hampton, VA
bought - med and large....(I think.) the large is VERY long. For now they wo'nt use it, but love the regular one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool Perch!

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
NightAnimals247
from USA
My Conures each have this perch and they love it! The sandy texture keeps their nails trimmed and their feet smooth. They wipe their beaks on this to get some food off or they just relax. It's a really great perch, I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
KiwiCrazy
This product is amazing! My budgie Kiwi loves to climb on this perch. It is very good to keep your birds claws trimmed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gouldian and Budgie approved!

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Whstl2theBirdies
I have 4 Gouldians and 4 Budgies. Two different spieces of birds who's feet have something in common; they love these perches!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
newshopper
from hannibal,mo
i was happy with how much my birds love them and how easy they were to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Didn't want to have to cut nails

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynne11
from NJ
I bough this perch so I wouln't have to cut my finches nails or beak. Best perch on the market. Their nails are shorter and no bleeding from cutting and when then bathe, they wipe their beaks on the perch and that keeps it neat and short at well. Won't buy any other perch. A perk is that this perch is a wavy type so the width of the perch are two different sizes which is very good for the birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT!!

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
sophiebobo
from CA
Great Quality. My birds loves it. I have one in every cage I have. I also have the sand perch swing in every cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

repeat

PostedJune 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
RNFlorida
from Spring Hill, Fl
not my first .. both my birds enjoy the perch got blue and pink . grins
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These sand perches are great !

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sunshinekid1957
from Providence,R.I.
I bought 2 of the a blue and a pink one my Parakeets love them , it sharpens their beaks and sands their nails too ! and excersizes their feet .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cockatiel hates this perch

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveAnyPet
My cockatiel hated this perch. The moment her feet touched it, she jumped off immediately and never went near it again. I took it back and spent the money on a toy instead. She really likes her wood perches, so I'm sticking with those right now and planning to add a rope perch and a grapevine later on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seems to work

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
achyassist
from California
Our canary's nails seem to grow quite fast. This seems to slow them down just a bit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good perches

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
birdwhisperer
These are the best perches I have found although it is difficult to get them fitted well between the bars. The cap needs to be wider.
They do a good job with keeping claws trimmed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product

PostedJuly 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Las Vegas, Nevada
Birds need a variety of different size perches in order for them to maintain healthy feet. These are just right for our Budgies and Finches. We are breeders and if you know anything about raising a lot of birds, you soon find yourself cutting and trimming lots and lots of nails, especially mama's nails. When there are a lot of baby birds hatching and feeding, they are increasing their intake of calcium, which of course leads to their nails growing more rapidly. This item allows them to exercise the feet and helps to trim their nails. I still have some trimming to do, but not as often for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

way better then the sand paper

PostedJune 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
mgddel
from Linden, NC
It took a little time for my Quaker to get on them but he's on them now just enough to keep those nails not so sharp
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Insight Sand Perches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
angelgirl97868
my cockateil loves these perches
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>