petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SportDOG FieldTrainer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

SportDOG FieldTrainer

Ideal for training in the yard, field or hunting and with close-working dogsKit Includes: 1 FieldTrainer Collar, transmitter, receiver and lanyard for having transmitter close at hand, adjustable collar for up to 23" necks, Y-plug battery charger, replaceable, rechargeable NiMH batteries and owner's manualModel SD-400
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Review 1 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feels Good!!!!

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hempstead, NY
I wanted this collar because we saw that when we took them out to this little open park , they always had to be on a leash. We wanted them to have freedom, and wow I saw them that night we got back from training with the collar and I said "Tired husky is a HAPPY Husky" They got more treats then any other day we had given them because we didn't really had to shock them when they wanted to run away into the street. That's all I wanted, for Juelz and Skarlet to love and used up all their energy without us having to follow and worry that the leash might tangle up. We Praised them so much that I think they love coming to us now. All we have to do is use the warning SHH!! and they know they need to stop what they doing and come. =D
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice two door crate

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sweethome
from Rainbow City, AL
Bought three of them...that says it all. Easy set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

He is a different dog!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
batboysmom
from SW Colorado
Jack is a 13 month old Siberian Husky. All the literature said that he would never be good off leash, but after my friend with a husky mix bragged about her dog's good behavior with a collar I gave it a shot. Jack is a different boy. He listens, he comes when he is called, and I rarely have to shock him. Especially with this collar's tone function. Made a huge difference and he now gets an off-leash run everyday, just what he wants!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
RGMC
from Huntington Beach, CA
I was hesitant to use this, but my labrador had become aggressive towards other dogs while on the leash. Since he knew all his commands I was able to use it right away. He did not respond to the audable sound at first, but when he was presented with what followed he obviously got the message. We just started training with the collar and I am amazed how quickly it has turned his behavior around. Hearing the sound reminds him of what's to come if he doesn't listen to my commands. I do look forward to being able to walk him again without worrying about what he will do if he sees another dog. My other lab likes to pull on the leash, so I definately will be training him with it as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Obedience Training

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
PuppyInTraining
Our 7 month puppy (55 lbs) used to run into the street chasing joggers, birds, kids, etc. at our non-fenced in dog park, and would not respond to us calling him back. It was dangerous as cars drive by a lot. It beeps before it shocks and there's a feature to only use the beep without the shock. We rarely shock him. The beep tends to be sufficient enough to have him respond now. It has shock settings 1 - 8. Our puppy did not feel 1 - 3, but responded immediately to 4. The charger has a splitter so both the remote and collar can be charged simultaneously. We have yet to test out the water proof aspect of it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
19of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turned our puppy around!

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
VTfamilyof5
from Southern VT
We were having a lot of trouble training our Leopard Cur puppy finally we tried this collar and love it! No more jumping, barking, pulling at the leash and nipping our four year old! With out this helpful and high quality training device we may have had to give up the puppy! Which would have been heart breaking....I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My experience

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bullwinkle52
I have two 5 month labradoodle pups, and used the training tips which came with the collar for 30 days prior to it's first use. The dogs tend to get distracted and they will bolt. Otherwise they're coachable. Recently they both fell into the frozen lake by my house and nearly died while chasing geese. The first day I used correction three times on the alpha male and he immediately returned, healing beside me. The correction was employed when the dog was out of bounds and he knew it. I use tone prior to correction. On day two, the pup only required tone. I'm using max correction, but closely monitoring his confidence level. The second pup hasn't been on his collar yet. A snap on collar would be helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Training Aid

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cynergyou
I bought this to help train our 1.75 year old labradoodle for walking off leash. The product is well made and easy to use.
It has been a useful training aid. I have been spending a lot of time working with our dog so she can walk off leash along wooded trails near our house without bolting off and getting lost. The SportDog remote training collar really helped with this. It allows me to correct my dog if she attempts to bolt or if she tries to lag behind and ignore my commands. I have found that the training collar is most useful for me because it allows me to get my dog's attention, even when she is off leash or far away from me. My dog would tend to ignore me if she picked up on a fresh scent and wanted to bolt into the woods. The collar helps remind my dog to pay attention to verbal commands, in spite of her instinct to follow the scent.
The documentation that accompanies the product is also helpful. There is a user manual that explains how to use and modify/program the device (you can change the functions of the buttons and also add additional collars to the handheld trainer).The product also includes a helpful dog training guide.
Make sure you read the training guide before using the collar. Also, I have had success using very low levels of correction with the collar. The manual suggests that you use the lowest level of correction that gets the attention of your dog (but that is not too uncomfortable for the dog).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for serious Training

PostedDecember 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alsatian17
from no thanks
easy to use -Common sense useable
-powerful training tool
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love my dog now

PostedNovember 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
amozon
from Kuna Idaho
I have an american bull dog and when he was 10 months old I was at my wits end I put him up for sale i just wanted him gone. He chewed everything messed in the house and ran away when ever he got out side. So a friend of mine suggested that I try their sportdog training collar and it was a miracle I imediatly went out and bought one and my dog has never been better I recommened it to everyone who has a problem dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SportDOG FieldTrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good product

PostedJune 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
lupa
Purchased this collar for a high-strung pup, she wants to obey, but has so many interesting other things to do and see when she gets away. Have not had her working in the field yet, but it seems to perform okay. Have had a question about the response sometimes when she is at long distances, maybe she is seeing how long she can ignore it or it may just be hit and miss in it's operation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.