petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister

Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister

Programmable misting unit for terrariums, bird cages, aviaries or indoor gardensComplete with four programmable spray interval settings: every hour, 3 hours, 6 hours, or 12 hours and four spray duration settings: 15, 30, 45, or 60 secondsIncludes adjustable mounting hooks, 4 point suction cup hold down, remote nozzle extension and 6 watt AC adaptorCompletely portable for indoor or outdoor use
Average Customer Rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
10 out of 18(56%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Review 1 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not real impressed

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I'm not real impressed with this product. It drips more than it sprays. I wish it could be more of a mist rather than a spray like out of a spray bottle. The tubes are too short to fit where I need the spray. I was missing a tube from the box when it arrived. Product was less expensive than similar product at a competitor location, but probably for these reasons mentioned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reptirainmister

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, Tx
this is a great product I have had this for a year and it is working great for my Chinese water dragon
:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product-works perfect

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I have this for my young Veiled Chameleon and it makes his habitat so easy to care for. I put a terra cotta dish on the bottom of his screened cage and it catches any overspill of water,which rarely ever needs emptying if set on the low option of frequency of sprays. It it a light gentle spray that doesn't bother him and he always has fresh water dripping over his vines when he needs it. I love this thing. The water reservoir seems to last really long & easy to refill.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Meant for a larger terrarium:(

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from az
I have a 10 gallon terrarium for my juvenile leopard gecko. I bought this product to help keep up the humidity while I am at school. Large puddles formed overnight and water got into everything! I think that this is meant to be for a larger cage. It didn't help the humidity in my terrarium at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-16points
2of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sorry we had to return it

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NY
We had seen a unit at work at a friend's chameleon enclosure and it seemed perfect for our new chameleon. However, the unit was leaking when installed and we tried to get a replacement at the local store. Unfortunately they don't carry the product and we had to get a Petco credit. Don't know if we will order another one...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken and Missing Parts

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from WV
I purchased this product for my Panther Chameleon that needs to be sprayed 4 times a day to keep a high humidity level. When it arrived, I tested it in my kitchen just in case it leaked or spilled. When I turned it on, I noticed water pouring out the the top under where the motor is connected to the nozzle. Upon close investigation, I noticed that there was a small hairline crack in the hard plastic tube where you connect the rubbler hose. Another disappointment was that there are supposed to be two sets of tubing. One single and one double ended so you can spray more than one location. The single tubing was missing. You can turn off the one end of the double but it reduces the overall water pressure. I am returning this today to pick up the Monsoon 400 which is what I should have purchased in the begining.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Humidity control

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wyoming
Control of humidity is important and this allows us to adjust for consistancy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from WI
Parts were missing, broke after a week, doesnt even mist, more of a stream which is useless for chams
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

zoo med habba mister

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from westminster,co
Receiving this product was great / timely. Unfortunately, the single terrarium water tube was missing. When it misted, it mostly dripped as apposed to a fine mist. Had a hard time getting this to work for us. If it sprayed like I wanted I wouldve kept it. Maybe it will work better for someone else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the price.

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Like previous reviews, this item is not best for keeping your humidity levels up in an overall enclosure. Unfortunatly "mist" is not what this item does...it sprays a pretty good dose of water for each interval when set. This item is little more than a programmable spray bottle. Invest in a fogger to keep humidity levels up preferably.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

NEED FOGGER FOR HUMIDITY!

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from OC
This works great as an automatic sprinkler system. But, your tank could be floating in water and be under 40% humidity with proper (NOT TOO MUCH) ventilation. All these subtrates, live plants, misters, and heating pads will only help with the humidity, without the fogger you WILL NOT be able to maintain 60-65% humidity.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't bother with this product...

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Arcadia, CA
Like the rest of most comments for this product, I agree with the fact that it is not worth the money for the lack of quality and durability that you would expect. Rather than shelling out more money after just 13 mos. of use, and a quick silicone job around a leaky seam, I decided to build my own "mister"...actually more of a "bubbler".
I brought over my experience with aquariums and used a combination of an air stone, air line tubing, air line suction cups, standard plug-in light timer, and a small air pump. I have two 29-gal. aquariums - one with two baby ball pythons, and the other with two baby red tail boas. I ran the tubing down the inside corner of the tanks, holding it in place with the suction cups, and the airstones attached and placed into the water dishes. Hooked it up to the air pumps and, "joila"! Bubbles, which created a more humid environment.
I also plugged in the air pumps to the timers and depressed the appropriate toggle switches, so the air pumps will only operate once an hour for a period of 15 min. at a time. Depending on the time of year, I would run it longer (dry summer months, 30-45 min./per hour). I found only having to refill the water dish once daily, which I do anyway.
TOTAL COST: $17 per tank.
(I spent about another $2 for new air stones after about 6 mos., to maintain maximum bubble output.)
It's been about 12 mos. now since I implemented this, and it is still going strong. Only thing you have to remember is a FULL dish of clean water daily, and monitor how long you will need to "bubble" your tank. This will be based on where you live, how humid/dry, hot/cold your house is, etc. If you need to run it 24/7 to maintain optimal humidity, these air pumps are meant just for that purpose anyway. Just check the water level and refill if needed.
Another variable in this equation is what type of top you have. Mine are made of custom-cut Lexan fiberglass, with several drilled holes on the "cool" side of the tank only, NOT the "hot/basking" side (you want to keep the heat IN for the humidity to increase). I also found it helpful when I refilled the water dishes, I used warm water, which accelerates the humidity increase, in addition to maintaining the temperature.
Be sure to monitor your hygrometer for an optimal and consistent 60-70% humidity year-round, which is ideal for most snakes. Your hygrometer will tell you how long to run your "bubbler".
Whether it's for the first time, or if you are looking to replace yet another Habba Mist...be sure to check out the fish supplies! Save your money and get better, consistent results for your snakes (or other humidity-loving reptile or amphibian) by making a simple and practical "bubbler" instead.
Bottom Line...DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Only Game in Town

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Denver, Colorado
We have used HabiMisters for years for our chameleons and frogs. We keep buying them because we haven't found a better alternative but they are not great. The one we just purchased is quieter than earlier models but, unfortunately, this one leaks. It does serve its purpose of adding humidity throughout the day but, even under the best of circumstances, the average life of Habimisters is under a year. Keep you receipt and box as there is a one year manufacturer's warranty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job, but could be better

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Naugatuck, CT
I have owned two Habba Mist units. Both units failed when each was just over 2 years old. I took the units apart and, for the price of the unit, the spray pump seemed whimpy. I don't know if the pumps or the electronics failed. Despite the Habba Mist being pricey for the given quality, I am purchasing a third unit because it is the only product that I know of that will periodically mist my green anoles while I'm away. The unit is also noisey, but it does the job. BTW, the unit can develop a mildew smell over time. It is probably a good idea to run a drop of Clorax through the system periodically (and of course rinse thoroughly with clean water before putting the unit back in service.) If you have any sort of active lifestyle, it is impossible to keep up with the necessary periodic mistings that your anoles require. All things considered, it is worth buying the unit to keep your anoles happier and healthier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
This product is a must have for any reptile lover that is busy and doesn't have the time to worry about misting their terrariums. This product is easy to use and reduces some of the care needs of your reptile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

PostedSeptember 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
A little loud but doas the job
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Enough Power

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
I bought the mister for my juvenile iguana who is in a 75 gallon tank. I just couldn't get the humidity level up where she needs it and don't have the time to be misting the tank every couple of hours. So I bought this to help raise the humidity level; however, so far it has been unsuccessful. I don't know if it is the size of the tank or the fact that the mister does not have enough power to create a fine mist. Instead the mist is more like a light shower. If you are looking for the mister to actually make a mist... this is not the product for you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Reptirain Automatic Terrarium Mister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from cherry hill, HJ
I had read on other sites that htis product wan' t made well but, my experience has been quite the contrary. I have a chameleon which needs frequent misting, I have hed this product now for about a year and love it. It never misses a "squirt".
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.