petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood

Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood

Vertically mounted sockets accommodate spotlights and infrared heat emittersHood slides for easy tank access and secure no lift positionMultiple rocker switches for independent light selectionHeavy gauge welded steel construction
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood
Review 1 for Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a great idea

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
It was difficult to find a hood large enough for my 36" turtle tank. This hood is almost perfect. The width does not cover the tank completely, thus the slide feature, but it seems to keep most of the heat inside the tank. The multi-light option is great. Daylight bulbs and night bulbs can be on their own switch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Light Combo

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Leesport, PA
I purchased this light for my RES. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 "paws" is the trouble I had with the flourescent light fixture. I tried 2 bulbs with no luck and finally luck struck on the 3rd try. I love the idea of not having to turn off the UVB light every night. The day/heat light and UVB light are on the same line so when plugged in the timer they both turn off and on at the same time. I must say the screen that covers the lights is NOT convenient to open and close. You have to take the 2 screws out every time you change the bulb. Needless to say this got very old after a while. So I removed the screen and now only use the screen covering the aquarium.
Overall it's a great light and I'm very happy with my purchase...so is my RES!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CT
I purchased the 36" size for my exo terra 36x18x18. This hood size has 3 incandescent blub sockets and the florescent T8. Also 2 separate power cords.. I know that 2 incandescent are powered by 1 and the other is powered by the second cord. Not sure yet which cord the T8 is powered by because I am waiting on one that I purchased on here. If using this for the exo terra tanks. I recommend removing those locking clips on top. The hood will sit flush.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hood

PostedApril 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from SSF
UPS just dropped this off and when I openned all I can say is wow! well made ,heavy duty item this will work for me on my new day gecko cage im building...the pictures do not do this item justice....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple & Great

PostedJune 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my Uromastyx. I've never had any disappointment with ZooMed products and this is no exception. I had looked at some of the other hoods (with halogens & T5s) and decided on this one in part because of the brand and also because of the cost of use over time. You should replace your UVB lights about once a year and T8 will always be cheaper. The halogens are nice, but nothing beats a ceramic heat emitter which lasts forever. Being able to have other "regular" light sockets also give your more versatility to adjust heat/light. Every light is on a switch which is GREAT. The fixture is very solid and keeps the heat in wonderfully. The only negative is that it is a little tall on top to accommodate the downward facing light fixtures, but it’s FAR BETTER then a bunch of domes on top. Great product. Go buy one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
from OrangeCounty,SoCal
This product was really easy to assemble and is an all in one deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Ever Tank Cover/Light Fixture!

PostedSeptember 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
This is a wonderful product! Though my tank is 36 x 18 and the hood was 36 x 12, we easily adjusted (cut with dremell) our slide on screen top to cover the 6 inch gap and it works perfectly! So handy and healthy for our Uromastyx! I will buy the bigger one when we go to the bigger tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Deluxe Sliding Terrarium Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good buy

PostedJune 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
nicer and easier than having three different light fixtures on top of the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.