petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Super Pet Small Animal Playpen

Provides added outside exercise space for hamsters and gerbilsIncludes a protective mat to guard against messes and a connector hole that can be hooked up to your CritterTrail(R) home through the use of fun-nels, sold separatelySafe and secure- can be used on any indoor floorIncludes a passageway connector and secure locking capEasy set up, folds away flat for compact storage
Average Customer Rating:
3.271 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
12
30 out of 48(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Review 1 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Easy Escape

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
HKlinky
from Crest Hill, IL
By Day 1, my gerbils had already chewed up the plastic liner flooring. It did not take them long to figure out how to climb the fence and escape. I was constantly finding them running around all over the place.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
RONSDOE
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I got this playpen for my 3 hamsters and my guinea pig to play in. It works great. Its very easy to set up and very easy to put down. Its folds up, making it simple to store and out of the way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Do not leave your pets unattended

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
cjyap1
from East Lyme, CT
We have two small Robo Hamsters. We bought the playpen for them to have a little more space. On the box of the play pen it does say don't leave animals unattended, and they mean it. It didn't take very long before these little guys figured they could climb up the fence and out. Just be warned.
Fortunately we were able to lure them back with peanut butter, but I was afraid they were gone for good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hedgie loves it!

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
hedgielover14
from Appleton, WI
I bought this item for my hedgehog and its awesome! I don't have to worry about her escaping or getting into any trouble and if she goes to the bathroom its really easy to clean up. If you're getting it for a hedgehog though, I recommend getting two of them and attatching so theres a little bit more room for them to roam :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Was ok

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Megabyte
from Mass
My hamster (Megabyte) can climb right out of it. I was letting him run around in it one afternoon and turned my back and he was gone. I found him later under my dresser. I now use this as an area to control where he rolls around in his ball in so he doesn't make messes all over my apartment, or i use it to close off the stairs so he does roll down them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hamster can climb over

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
HamLover
from Aurora, IL
My son bought this with some birthday money after getting a hamster for his birthday. He was excited to watch her play in the playpen, but after about 5 minutes she climbed right over it. It kind of defeated the purpose, so we will be returning it. It needs to be taller or something to keep the hamsters from climbing over the top.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product has Great Festures

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
HedgehogLover21
from Bloomington, IL
I love being able to put my little baby hedgehog in this enclosure so they can have a change fo environment, play and run around without me having to worry about her running under the couch, getting lost, chewing on wires, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very small, but fantastic!

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
IheartAK
from holyoke, ma
The box says it's not for mice, but my three loved it! I attached it to their off 2 school and the loved to climb in and out. now that my mice are well... gone, my new rat Eleanor loves to play in it. however, it was quite small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kerin
from Oklahoma
We have been using this for our 2 gerbils. We put toys and treats (and sometimes a dust bath) in it, and they seem to enjoy running around and interacting with my son while they are in it. I love that you can attach it to your habitat with tubes, too! Our gerbils have not been able to escape so far, but take care not to put something tall near the edge that they can climb on top of and use to jump over the wall! My only other suggestion is that when you take it out of the box for the first time, take note of how to fold it back up again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome !

PostedMay 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
kenjaa
from mn
i read all the reviews for this product before i purchased it and i was a little iffy bout getting it. i got it anyways. easy to set up. it is great for dwarf hamsters. i dont recommend it to people who have bigger animals. the down side is i cant fold it. it doesnt fold so when i put it away it takes up a lot of space. i love the product otherwise !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Is fun

PostedApril 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
China87
from Union City
Is great for baby turtles. I bought 2 of them and attached them together so the baby turtles have space and they love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Pet Small Animal Playpen

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommmy
from MN
We love this! Only problem was that they could have used a thicker plastic for the florr cover. One hamster chewed a tily hole. Hamsters cannot climb the sides. We have one who is a climber and he cannot climb this! Kids love interacting with their hamsters in the playpen!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't waste your money

PostedApril 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kirk94
from New Baltimore, MI
Purchased this playpen for my kids' hamster. Kids put it together and put one of the hamsters in it. After about five minutes, he scaled the wall and escaped. Don't hook up to your cage and let them run as they want. You might come home and the hamster might be back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Must have!!

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
dandylionz
from Northern VA
This product provides a pretty good size area for your critter to run around in, you can connect mulitple fences to each other, its easy to use and it folds up easily and pretty flat when you're done with it. While it is strong, too much abuse will break the metal linking one fence to another. Easy to fix... just tie them back together with string or wire.
Our gerbils were able to jump out, so constant supervision or a cover (towel) is needed. Perfect for hamsters, harder for them to get out (still need to watch them!) they love to run around and chew on the bars. Comes with a mat to use underneath, and we love the door that you can hook tubes up to.
I would say every critter owner should have one - for an alternate place to use while cleaning out the cage and for playing with. Very convenient, definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME! warning! It is small!

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kitkat7799
from LA, CA
This product is very creative and fun for a little critter. I love that it has a little door to it! It is portable and easy to fold and unfold.There are only 2 main problems: It is too small for any animal bigger than a baby rat. And the other problem is that MANY critters can climb over this easily! I rarely use this playpen, but it very good probably only for hamsters. It's cool and colorful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst way to spend your money

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chazabear
I have a black bear fancy hamster and when i was done assembing it to my hamsters cage she ran right out and climbed over it. I have had her for about a mounth and she had never even been in something like that. Even when i put it in the shape of a circle she still got out in no time. This is made for a small sized hamster like a Robo hamster not a regular sized like a golden.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
RosaBrewnoSensiTony
My hamster luv it
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ok product

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Animalluver1
i have been wanting this for a year now and i finally got it! It was alot smaller than i thought it would be, but it's still good. I would recommend it, but don't expect much
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best item the world

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
tacosause10
i got this item and connected it to may hammys cage and he loved it. he runs around all day
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Small Animal Playpen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

COMPLETE WASTE OF $$$

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
BendMom
from Bend, OR
I bought this for my daughters new hampster. Within a few minutes the hampster was free. She climbed right up the side and dropped to freedom on the other side. This is a VERY POORLY DESIGNED product and I would not recommend purchasing it unless you feel like crawling around on the floor looking for a missing hampster while your child, standing nearby, cries about her lost hampster.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>