petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy

Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy

Dangling bird toy featuring two coconuts halves and 100% dehydrated and sterilized coconut fiber Also includes bright plastic beads, seashells and natural rope for your bird's enjoymentMade of non-toxic, pet-safe materials and colorsHanging bird toy attaches to any wire cage with a metal clasp Ideal for medium to large birds
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 out of 15(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Review 1 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor cage connection

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
CooCooAchew
Parrots are not parakeets. They chew. The top hanger is made of string. Destroyed and laying on the bottom of the cage. Need wire.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Green Cheek's Bed

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
DeltaK
from PA
My little conure sleeps in his coconut every night. I also see him using it as a toy, a bridge to get from perch to perch, and a place to eat treats during the day. It looks very attractive in the cage and friends have commented on how cute it is. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because it is a little delicate. Even my little bird was able to chew some pieces off in a short time. The ropes are also not completely even, meaning the bottom half of the coconut isn't level. The bird doesn't seem to mind, but it bothers me a little when I try to put treats in it for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attention getter

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Birdxtravaganza
from Lincoln,il
This item is a delight for my cockatiel, she climbs in and plays and chews on it for hours. I like to put treats in the bottom for her to find and eat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tiki Hut Toy

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
feathered3
from Melbourne, FL
I bought 2 of these, and within a few days the rope that holds the 2 pieces together was a shambles. didn't take much effort for the bird to have it in pieces. maybe a SMALL bird could not destroy it that fast but I had to restring it together using leather strips. The rope they use isn't a good idea.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from tustin, ca
My toddler-cockatiel and adult cockatiel's LOVE this hut. They chew on the straw above it , sit in it when they are tired or swing it when they feel playful. It's durable , colorful and one of the best toys I've ever purchased for my small and medium birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Oh.

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hebi
from Los Angeles, CA
My parrot actually flies away from this product like the coconut will eat it alive. It's acting more like a ward away rather than what it was intended for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its okay.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tonners
If it drives you crazy when something isn't even, do not buy this toy. Ours was lopsided right out of the bag, the ropes aren't even, and neither are the knots that are supposed to hold it even so your bird doesn't have a conniption fit trying to use it. Luckily, the knots can be moved. As for the top part being lopsided, well.. Its a work in progress to fix it. Otherwise, very colorful, with lots of shells to nibble at. And, heck, maybe our parrotlet will enjoy climbing up the extra two inches of rope on one side to get into it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turns out to be a great bed for small birds

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica6883
from Mesa, AZ
After realizing I wouldn't be able to release my rescued sparrow due to a foot deformity, this was the first thing I bought for her cage. At first she flipped out because it was so big compared to her size, but it's now her bed. She perches on it, tries to dry bathe in it, and rests in it whenever she's a little tired or when the sun goes down and she's waiting for me to turn her in to bed. It's become her security spot. She doesn't play with the strings and beads (she now has other, more interesting toys), but it's well worth her loving the coconut part. I've had this now for almost 5 months and since she's small and can't destroy it, it's still in great shape. I like to line the bottom with cheap tissues to make it soft. If she poops, I just switch the tissues out. She'll actually call for me if she poops in it so that I will clean it for her (a habit she discovered at 1 month old). If I don't answer her she'll just do something else and avoid the coconut until I finally come to her aid or she tries to turn the tissues over herself when she really wants to rest in it. I love it because she apparently does. What a successful purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tiki Hut toy

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
itsjuscindy
from Hampton, VA
my birds are a little afraid of it. They're very interested in it, won't go inside to find the treats though. I'm just gonna give it time. Its a COOL bird toy .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
buddyluv7
from CA
My lovebird, Buddy loves this thing. It took him about a week to acknowledge it, but now I think it is his favorite. He makes so much noise when he is picking at it. Not just chirping; it's a new noise. Like the other person said, I think it is stimulating him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Food Dish

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Birds4Evah
The coconut is a great food dish and toy. The hair-like pieces on the top provide perfect plucking needs. if you do use it as a food dish, i would reccomend that you put a plastic bowl right under it because it is not stable and all the food will fall out when the bird perches on it. After a while, it has to be replaced because the bird will destroy it. The average life-span for mine was about 5 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool toy

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
maylan007
from New York
It's a cool bird toy, plus you can put food in it for your bird. I think it stimulates the birds brain to not be bored while in the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
SammiesSlave
I have bought 3 of these. This is the best value I have ever seen. We put treats in the shell and our conur spends hours in and around it every day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Bird Loves It

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
jdurden
from Wylie, TX
This is my Military McCaw's favorite. Regardless of what other toys are in his cage, they are all ignored. His full attention is on this one. Can't find it in the stores any longer. Sure am glad it's available online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prevue Tropical Teasers Tiki Hut Bird Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for finches

PostedMay 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
BarkandFeathers
from Maryland
I got this toy for my zebra finches. They perch on top, and I put treats into the hut part. I am hoping that they will use the inside to rest or sleep, but not so far. I am happy that the coconut top gives them a great alternative foot surface, and they like the little blue and pink strands that are on the top.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.