petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door

PetSafe Extreme Weather Door

Three flap dog door system offers the best protection from extreme heat and cold, drafts, insects or driving rainMaximum energy efficiency is 4.5 times higher than single flap pet doorsAdded insulation with a snap-on weather-shield for added protectionFits standard doors from 1 1/2" to 2" thickEasy do-it-yourself installationSkus/Models: 1127497 / PPA00-10984; 1127470 / PPA00-10986; 1127489 / PPA00-10985
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
15 out of 19(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Review 1 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for medium dogs

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
ORdogs
from Grants Pass, OR
Installed the dog door in 2-3 hours. It was easier then we had anticipated from other reviews, maybe because we were more prepared.
We ordered a large (up to 100 lbs). One of our dogs is 70 lbs and this door is small for her, not because of the height, but it is narrow. I would suggest others measure the width of their dog and add an inch or two for haunches bending going through the door. I cannot imagine a dog like a rottweliler going through this "large"door.
Other than that we love the door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Energy saver

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
DebCC
from Aurora CO
We have two of these extreme weather doors. Our old doors let in a lot of draft and rain/snow (and bugs in summer). They also warped easily which made the problem worse. These doors have made a noticeable difference. The triple flaps are much sturdier and we haven't seen any tendency to warp or rip. We have small dogs and it took them a few tries to get used to the triple flap (heavier) but now they run in and out just as they always did. I would definitely recommend -- I think the extra we spent will pay for itself in time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pet door

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
thedoorman
from Atlanta
the most difficult item I have ever tried to install and I am very, very handy. I actually sell doors for a living and this product is poorly designed to be installed by the average homeowner. Do not try this on your own, hire someone unless you have the skill of a master carpenter or the patience of Job. Good Luck
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, durable door

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
lconwill
from Dallas, TX
I've had this doggie door since April and am very pleased with it. There is absolutely NO air drafts around it, the flaps close uniformly and immediately when used, and my 80lb. dog uses it nonstops, so the durability is present as well. My friend, who is handy but not a carpenter, installed it in about 3 hours. She said it wasn't the easiest to install (she had installed 4 single-flap doors before) but that the installation is pretty straight-forward. I highly recommend this product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rossi loves his new doggie door

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
RossiP
from Atlanta, GA
I had the small one and my toy poodle could hardly fit through it (he's 21 lbs - big little guy). Now he can go in and out easily. And the triple flap really helps with the A/C in the house and keeps out unwanted bugs! I highly recomment it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the Same Size!

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
phonejunkie
from Des Moines, IA
I bought this product to replace a large door that I already have installed. I wanted extra protection from the weather. This door is much smaller than the one I installed around 4 years ago, so will not fit in the hole that I already have in my door.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-23points
9of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, not easy to install in my case

PostedApril 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
TexasGirl01
from Austin, TX
Good product, it does exactly what I wanted it to do which is keep out the Texas heat. I sealed up my old door, which made a vacuum in my house, and then the single flap design made the flap blow open anytime it was windy outside. This door is so far proving to keep the outside out. My dogs have no issue, but one was a little scared the first time he used it. I think my cat is using it too, but I was hoping it would deter her like I read in other reviews. She really likes going outside, so I doubt a panel that she can't see through will deter her. My old door was a 9x13 inch size and I bought the medium to go in it's place. I have a 1&1/2 inch door and we used 1/4 trim pieces to fill in the gaps, but it wasn't as easy as I thought. I wouldn't try to do that again, but we did get it to work eventually.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Dog Door

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
BassetFamily
It was fairly easy to install. It definitely makes a difference on keeping out the cold. The three flaps make it a little heavier, and it took the dogs a few days to get used to that. But they are fine with it now, and it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great pet door

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
BoxerMomma
from Enfield, CT
We installed this pet door in the wall next to our door. As such, it doesn't function *quite* the same way as it would in a door, but we're still happy with it- happy enough to buy it twice!
We first bought this door three years ago and the outside flap gets direct sun all day during the summer and very cold temperatures in the winter. Thus, the plastic on the outside became brittle over time, and during a really cold snap a month ago the flap snapped off of the frame (the frame is what broke, not the flap itself). But, we liked how the door functioned for the price so we bought another one to replace it.
A note about installing in a wall: the middle flap is ineffectual unless you get a little creative. When installed in a door, it seems like it would function really well because the installation pieces include weather stripping to seal off the gaps on the sides of the flap. Because we installed in a wall, and could't use everything as you would for a door, we had to be a little creative to achieve the same result.
I think the only reason we're rating a 4 instead of a 5 is the two outside flaps have about 1/16th inch of a gap on the two vertical edges that still allow air through (unlike the bottom that has the magnetic strip) and it would be nice if the company used some weather stripping, similar to what is offered for the middle flap, to help seal those gaps off. I am in the process of looking for a similar product at home improvement stores to achieve this result myself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth the money

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
redp
from Choctaw, OK
relatively easy to install and works as is advertised. no draft around the pet door. well insulated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not secure

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
packrat
Replaced the doggie door I have had for 15 years.
Because the new one had 3 layers for better insulation. That is does. What it does not have is a secure door. the door just pops on line a plastic lid that fastens in 2 spots. It did come off in a severe storm, it blew off and in. But that was an unusual storm. But what is not good it it does not lock, as did my old one, that was sturdy aluminum. Locking is for safety and security...this plastic can just be pushed and pop off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pet door

PostedMay 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
billsocal
from victorville, ca
we live in a very windy area and the wind hits the door where this cat door was installed, but the flaps stay closed with the magnet that runs the entire width of the bottom of both flaps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Glad we got it...

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
lvalle
My puppy has a little more freedom with the doggy door and makes our lives run a little more smotthly. Unfortunatley this door isn't as "easy" to install as the video suggests. In fact, I hired a handy man to come out and ddo it the right way - glad I did. If left up to me, it would still be in the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hope you are handy!

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
DannyMac
from Phoenix AZ
The first thing I noticed about this door was that it was made for one application - into a door. If you are using it for a wall, then the results are misleading. I had to modify the template to make sure that it fit.
Then, the screws and side panels did not fit either. I had to use some aluminum sheeting to finish the door. Screws are only sized for the door fit only.
Once I got the door in, I had no idea how to get the dog to go through it. Additional training instructions would be great here. I have fitted just one of the flaps to get dogs used to ths idea. A week later and performance still requires coaxing and lots of treats.
Otherwise, I really like the insulation feature. I live in Phoenix so this should help my energy bill substantially.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreme weather doggie door

PostedNovember 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Petmom3
I have 2 Chihuahuas and a cat. They were all able to learn to use the door very quickly. The door has 3 layers to push thru. They hesitated at first but I gently pushed them thru the first time and they got it.
The door is great for keeping out the drafts and keeping the room much warmer. It was also very easy to install. I purchased the DOOR doggie door but installed it easily in the wall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cheapest door ever

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Figo
from Houston, TX
This was the biggest waste of money i have ever spent for my pet. The sides of the door are cheap plastic that you have to cut yourself and do not fit perfectly. The door is not sturdy and the whole support of the door rest on 8 plastics screws. The screws do not event screw into the door, they rest inside of the large whole that is cut, just holding it in place, not providing any support. Now my biggest problem is that I hate the door so much but because they made me cut the hole so big, I'm afraid I won't be able to find another door that will cover the entire hole. I had the medium Petsafe door that was aluminum and it was great but this one is so horrible I had to write this to warn others.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth buying!

PostedSeptember 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
DogCouple
We were so glad to give our puppy the freedom she needed with this door. No more whining at the door and less trips back and forth for us. Make sure you buy some sealant though if you have a door with panels. The three flaps are great and add the extra protection we were looking for. It only took one day for our puppy to start using it regularly. Very happy with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Door

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bambergirl
from Atlanta, GA
We purchased this door online for the sale price and were extremely surprised at the quality and overall design of the door. Was relatively easy to install and the extra insulation has really helped with the heat. Only had it about 2 weeks so don't know about the cold yet but anything would be better than the 10+yr. old door we had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Extreme Weather Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Weather proof, Not chew proof

PostedNovember 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
NotChewProof
The item installs fairly easy and instantly gave me a piece of mind regarding keeping the below freezing temperatures out and my heat in. The next day however I found the center piece missing and within the week it's been torn apart by my dog. I wish Petco made a "Chew proof" door vice a toy to my Goldendoodle to just tear apart. For me, it was a really great idea that is now money in the garbage. If your dog doesn't tear things apart, then this is perfect.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.