petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy

Cheese shaped remote control creates irresistibly erratic movements cats loveIncludes catnip in a refillable pouch for added entertainmentEasy and fun to useToys provide entertainment and encourage exerciseRequires two AA batteries, not included
Average Customer Rating:
1.933 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
18
9 out of 30(30%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Review 1 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shanetrain
from Fort Worth, tx
Our 8 year old cat loves it, entertains the 7 year old and the cat at the same time. I would buy it again. I have not had any problems with the battery door as others has said, the range is short so I have to reverse the go again but cat doesn't care.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kittens luv

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvMyAnimalz
from Hamilton
This toy is great for kittens that are 1-3 and they will go crazy for it! My kittens chase it and they will take it in their mouths and run down in to the basement! They can not stop playing with it! When it needs to be charged they meow where the mouse is being charged. I am telling you if you get your cats or Kittens will go totally insane to play with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cats

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tibbar75
from NY
This toy is great, when it works. The range for teh sensor is too short. I end up having to chase the mouse as well to keep it going. It also stops if it runs over anything, paper even stops it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor quality

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
robinr
from Waltham, MA
The forward button was extremely difficult to operate. The battery cover kept sliding off.
The toy lasted for about 2 hours of play over a 2-week period before refusing to work any longer, and the batteries are still at 75% charge.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheaply made toy

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gizmomom
from Colorado Springs, CO
This would be a great product if not so poorly made. My cat loves to chase the mouse. However, the battery cover lid won't stay on and the toy doesn't stay charged long enough. Also, the red charging light stopped lighting up the third time I had to recharge. The recharger works but the light to let me know how long to charge doesn't. What a bummer!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alot of fun for the cats

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
KitAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
This product is alot of fun for cats in our 17 cat household. Once the cats got over a bit of hestation about what was zipping around the kitchen floor, they got chasing and dodging (which they probably didn't expect in the slightest). We tend to get a couple of the older cats watching, a couple to three 6 month olds going at it, and even a 7 week old running & jumping. Again, alot of fun.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
GracieJ
The battery cover doesn't stay on if you put batteries in it. You get very little play time per charge & it doesn't move well. Don't buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
MsKimmy48
from Brownsville Brooklyn, NY
My cats and my dog loves it! All of them run behind it to caught it. And you can recharge the mouse
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad deal

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kynight
from Bethlehem, PA
Do not buy- does not work... switch doesn't move easy at all... hard to get the mouse to move.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lots of fun -- and problems

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
TomFeral
from NJ
Our 2 yr old cat loves to chase this toy. He will play with it even when he finds it on the floor with no human supplied movement.
The biggest problem is keeping it running. It picks up lint like a magnet, and the lint jams the wheel mechanism.
To clean it, unscrew the two front screws (leave the screw between the rear wheels alone) and remove the mechanism. Clearing the lint, hair, fuzz, etc. is best done with the point of a nail scissors, aided with tweezers. Work carefully to pry/cut the fouling off the axle without damaging it.
I found it impossible to see what I was doing without a bright light and the use of a jeweler's loupe. Perhaps some of you will manage with a magnifying glass or the naked eye.
Once cleaned, re-assemble (the rear end of the of the mechanism should go in first -- it fits into a recess in the mouse body), put the screws back, and drive your cat crazy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the best purchase I ever made...

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
wylechile76
from Virginia Beach, VA
Overall, I'd have to indicate my dissatisfaction with this mouse. I agree with the observation that it's a great idea, poorly executed. My Ginger, a VERY active six-year-old Tonkinese, loves the action... that is, for the few minutes of charge and play she and I can get from the thing. The connection for charging the mouse is unwieldy, difficult to operate appropriately, and extremely inconvenient (if I want a "full" charge on the mouse, I literally have to walk around holding the mouse to the remote for 5+ minutes, which is no easy feat given the not-very-secure connection between the two. I finally used a rubber band wrapped as tightly as possible around them so I could continue life two-handed.) I'd love to see this with maybe a small watch battery, or something similar, with its own on/off switch, on the bottom of the mouse itself to enable more play time. It DOES also require a (well-swept) bare floor, because the wheels and their wells will clog up rather quickly and stop movement otherwise. I'll use this for the time being, but I'm still on the look out for something a little more advanced and user-friendly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Kittens Love It!

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sugabritches
from Vermont
I have two 10 week old kittens Coco and Jasmin and they LOVE this toy! I have so much fun with them with this toy and can't stop laughing when watching them go WILD over it. Highly reccomended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ummm....really?

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Siameseifupls
from West Hollywood, CA
I don't understand how this product is even sold at a reputable store like Petco. Like the others, I literally used it for 30 second and now it will not work at all. On brand new batteries. The charge is weak, the remote's green light flickers on and off while I'm pressing it, and on and on with the issues. Terrible, terrible product. But, for the 30 seconds it actually did work, my cats were obsessed with it. So I'll be researching a different company's remote controlled mouse. I am actually going to dig the packaging out of the trash, that's how badly I want to return this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wasnt the greatest but...

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
bethandjustin
from Johnstown, PA
I purchased this toy for my cat who LOVES to chase things! Well she did until she got fixed. I bought this for a christmas gift for her and charged it up and had a go at it, and she loved it! She gets mad when i have to take it away to charge it for another go at it. I can tell she gets mad bc she paws at my legs and chases me around for it! I only gave it an excellent rating bc of the fact that she loves it and i love seeing her happy! :) The only downfall with the toy is it doesnt hold a charge long until it dies again, even with fresh, brand name batteries in it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginad613
from Pawling, NY
Bought this...used brand new batteries and the toy only lasted a couple of minutes. Too bad because my kittens would loved it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Worked

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
MNell
from LA
Will check reviews prior to purchasing anything else for pet.
After installing new batteries, charging as instructed, and placing on hard floor to entice cat, the toy ran about 30 seconds then died. We tried another set of batteries, checked the charger... no luck. Don't waste the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not that bad

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
ReviewerGuy1
Once I saw that somebody with an MBA couldn't do it I figured it would be easy to operate and I'm not even a rocket scientist. Doesn't hold a charge too long but cat loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Died almost immediately

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Seishino
from Boston, MA
We went through two units, in the hopes that one would work. Both died almost immediately, holding hardly enough of a charge to push itself a few feet across the floor.
The cats love the mouse, but the product really doesn't work as advertised. I'm a bit shocked it is still being sold at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It was ok

PostedMay 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cbaker
My cats loved the toy and even when i put it away they dug it out of their toy bin and played with it without the toy being on. It is hard to get on the charger and it does charge slow but it charged quickish and i had no problem with the batteries wearing out quickly. I did however have a problem of cat hair getting caught up in the wheels making the mouse almost inoperable but a screw driver and a few extra minutes later and the mouse runs fine. It just needs to be cleaned out before play.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petlinks System Cheese Chaser Cat Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I had more fun than the cat

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephie85
My cats just aren't interested it in! I have hardwood floors, & it moves ok. The batteries don't last long, but it only takes like 10 mins to charge. I think I have more fun playing with this than the cat does. I have a feeling I'll be donating it to the Humane Society, maybe somebody else will have better luck with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>