petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Ear Powder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Ear Powder

Provides relief from itching and irritationFormulated to aid in the inhibition of bacterial growthHelps keep dog's ears dry, clean and healthyEliminates unpleasant ear odorsDries ear discharge and makes it easy to remove
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Ear Powder
Review 1 for Petco Ear Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helps with Poodle Ear Issues

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
CaliPoodleMom
from NC
We have a mini poodle that suffers from chronic allergies frequently manifest by ear scratching and the accompanying wax build-up (especially in one ear). I have tried numerous liquid cleaners, and while they help soften the ear "gunk" for removal they had no noticeable impact on preventing it. We put this powder in her ears weekly (usually after her bath) and it has made a huge difference. It results in less scratching, less ear wax, and overall much improved ears. You do have to make an extra effort to wash ears thoroughly to remove powder buildup and it does smell of antiseptic but these are minor "cons" versus many positives.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Ear Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective & affordable

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
lavita
from Wichita, KS
My retriever mix gets chronic ear infections in one ear. Prescription antibiotics from the vet are ineffective and make him ill. We looked for other remedies to help relieve the itching and dry up the bacteria growth whenever he gets one. This powder is great. Its a little difficult to get out; you have to give it a good shake and its difficult to aim. If your dog struggles, this could be problematic. But you just shake some of this down into the ear. We've noticed that he doesn't scratch us much afterwards and if you apply it a few times a day the infection will clear up in a day or two. Its important that you monitor it closely afterward to make sure it is completely cleared and if it is particularly bad you do need to clean the ear out FIRST. We use a simple vinegar/water solution with cotton balls for this. We also use it if we know he'll be playing in water or getting a bath as a preventative.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Ear Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for basset allergy armpits

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
blaizey
from san diego
my basset hound gets red, rashy, swollen armpits from her grass allergies and any moisture from wet lawns, puddles, and snow, made worse by friction. this ear drying powder is the only thing that has helped. over a decade, i've seriously tried everything on those arm pits, hydrocortizone and anti-fungal creams just made the situation worse. hot spot sprays still leave the pits wet. i sprinkle a generous amount of the drying powder in her pits a couple times a week and spread it around with a q-tip. my vet approves. yes, the powder does stink.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Ear Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it claims, pleased with item

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
misshair
from Pgh, Pa
This does what it claims and I am impressed. If you use too much you may notice a buildup of product, but it wipes off easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Ear Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product- satified

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
JStarr
from Seattle, WA
My Rottie has had life-long ear infections and been on Rx that seems to only keep it at bay, but not really solve it.
This addition seems to help a lot. She scratches less and it is easier to use than the liquid cleaners.
Will continue to purchase and use on her. Hopefully after a longer use, we will see more improvement.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Ear Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Ear Powder

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Endy
from Houston TX
This product is the best and works well without any issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Ear Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bad smell - hope it works!

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sasha08
I have a golden who seems to get an ear infection every time the wind blows. My vet said there is really nothing I can do - except never let her swim or take a bath again! So we're trying ear powder for the first time. Have to say, she was just recovering from an ear infection and was still a little bothered by her ears, but since she's had the powder in there has been no head shaking or scratching, so I'm hoping its working. The only down side is the powder has quite a strong antiseptic type smell, and even though I put the powder in almost a week ago, she still smells like it. Its not over powering, just whenever I put my face near hers - but if that's the only down side it will be well worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Ear Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

PostedMay 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
best716
I much prefer this than using liquid and the dogs like it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.