petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Bitter Break Training Spray

Specially formulated with an all-natural bittering agent to discourage pet from behaviors such as scratching, chewing and bitingContains no alcoholSafe for your petSafe for your use on woundsNon-stinging, non-irritating, colorless and odorlessVeterinarian approved
Average Customer Rating:
1.546 / 5
1.5
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
9
1 out of 11(9%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Review 1 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waist your money

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
MarioCarlos87
from Miami, FL
My dog would chew his bed over night, and make holes in it. I bought the spray and sprayed his bed. It didn't work, the bed had new holes in the morning. It also didn't work on my old sandal that i sprayed and left for him to see if the spray bothers him at all. He chew the sandal as well. This spray is worthless! I returned it the next day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a joke!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
PetiteChic
I wish I had seen these reviews before I bought this product. I bought it in-store but I've learned my lesson. Always check online before buying!
This product is a complete waste of money. Like many other reviewers already stated, this actually increased my pup's licking and chewing where I sprayed it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sara4
from KC
This stuff does not work at all! All four of my dogs love it. Spraying it makes them lick more.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Non-deterrent

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
dalybaly
from New Orleans, LA
This product actually increased the chewing and licking of the areas I was attempting to deter. As I sprayed he kept licking it up from the surface then sitting at attention when I stopped spraying (as he does when he knows there's a treat involved). I will attempt to use a different brand and hope for better results.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A complete waste

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rashg80
from CA
This product does not work at all. I sprayed a ton of it on the stuff I didn't want chewed by my puppy but it had absolutely no effect. Did not deter my pup at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DOESN'T WORK

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
PetJordan
Do not buy this. It doesn't work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't work for my ferrets

PostedOctober 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
DLeahL
from Postville, IA
Petco was out of Bitter Apple Spray one day when I needed some, so I decided to buy this product. The fact that it is alcohol free seemed to be a plus - it doesn't sting open scratches (a risk when playing with ferrets) and; because I spray one of my female ferrets so one of the males won't chew on her ear (she hate it when he does that) I saw that she didn't dislike being sprayed with this product the way she does with the Bitter Apple, which does contain alcohol.
Unfortunately, it didn't work! It didn't deter Buzz one minute from chewing on Lexie's ear. Plus, when I just sprayed some on my hand and put it under his nose, he was unfazed! The Bitter Apple always makes him curl up his nose and shake his head with disgust.
Maybe this product works with dogs and cats, but I wouldn't recommend it for ferrets!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product does not work

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lizy123
This product is a waste of time. It does not work at all on my German Shepard\Lab mix. He thought it was treat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buy the Bitter Apple

PostedMay 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tangsoo
from Farmington, NM
Our 5 month old Beagle thinks this stuff tastes great. Maybe we should have named her Marley! I sprayed this on my hands (as she thinks I am a chew toy) and she just lapped it up like I put gravy on my hands. The Bitter Apple spray works better. Spend the extra dollar or two.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Bother

PostedNovember 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heater007
from Wadsworth, OH
I got this so I could spray on my puppys bed (that he is chewing), shoes, and his puppy paper (along with other things)-He LOVED the taste of this stuff! He was going around everywhere looking for the spots I sprayed. Once he washed one area off, there he would go off to another! It had the same ingredents as the Apple Bitter Spray but it was cheaper so I decided to just go generic. I don't know if it would be worth getting the Apple Bitter or not. It may work for your dog but mine got a kick out of finding the spots to chew. I'm thinking about using it on stuff I want him to chew like toys!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Bitter Break Training Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stops the biting

PostedMay 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
ljwilks
from State College, PA
This works great if you have a "biter." My puppy hates the taste and using it quickly stopped the biting and nipping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.