petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover

Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover

UL listed for safety, the internal thermostat keeps the surface nice and warm even in the coldest of temperaturesHigh-impact ABS plastic makes pad durable, easy to clean and water resistantPlace in a shed, garage, barn or anywhere outdoorsFaux fleece, machine washable cover included
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Review 1 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It works, but...

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
The item arrived on my porch in a beat-up box with holes and creases in it. It wasn't even packed in a sturdy box. I took it out of the box and it seemed warped. I plugged it in and waited a few minutes and it was warming up. I put it out in the garage for my cat and she started using it the next day. I will keep it because it works and I don't want to go through the hassle of returning it. A couple days after I bought it I saw the same product at a home store for $45. Thats $13 less than I spent on Petco.com.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from IA
My kitties were on this pad as soon as i plugged it in. My 2 outside kitties are 5 months old and very spoiled. Today is our first snow fall and they are in their little house all warm and cozy !!! Will help them survive the cold Iowa winter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Clifton, VA
Our outdoor cats love it! We have a little feral cat who won't come inside -even in the coldest of weather. She just loves it - and now I have a piece of mind knowing she can be comfortable even when it's cold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
Bought 2 of these and they arrived in time for the onset of cold weather. They're exactly like ones I bought 4 years ago and those I left on 24/7 all winter long! I would highly recommend them to anyone who cares for feral cats or has cats that go outside during the cold months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

lacks some helpful features

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from California
It works fine but is slow to heat up. It would be nice if the unit had an automatic on/off based on weight on the pad. Or it could have a timer for on/off. My cat prefers his cushier beds unless he's really cold. The cover pad is very thin and provides no cushioning, something my cat really wants.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this product!

PostedMarch 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
And so does my cat! This was a great value - worth every dime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just what was needed

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
I was pleasently surprised to find out these heated pads were very sturdy and well built, as well as working as advertised. The outdoor cat community adopted them readily and the pregnant one never seems to leave her spot for long. Be advised these pads are hard plastic and need to be used with the supplied fleece pad covers, and they cannot be rolled up to fit inside a small encloser.measure for what you need
Otherwise an excellent product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

surprised that it is rock hard

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
I expected this cat pad to be of heavy duty plastic but I didn't expect a rigid plastic with no give. My outdoor/indoor cat refuses to sit on it even with the cover, I think because of its rock hard nature. I washed the cover because of on odd smell, thinking this is what was keeping the cat away but she still won't sit on it. If I cover it with a second blanket or towel to make the surface more appealing (a softer bed) the heat doesn't penetrate through. Be aware that this is not a "comfy" pad but as hard as a rock. If your cat doesn't mind very hard surfaces for sleeping or sitting, it might work fine. My cat chooses the matt by the garage door over this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good investment

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
I am so glad I purchased this for the outside cat at my mother's. He was a stray, must have been a "drop-off" or gotten lost, because he is so friendly but too afraid to come inside. He prefers the studio above the garage, which isn't heated. I now don't worry about him in this very cold december we are having here in Northeast Ohio with this heated bed. It is well worth it for my peace of mind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purrrrrfect!!

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from seattle, wa.
Well, this is definitely a winner with my outdoor kitty!! I did put a blanket off to the side of it in case he wants a break from all that soothing heat!! LOL! Not hardly... he rarely leaves his little nest now! This eases my worry for him as winter sets in..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
This is the third outdoor heated pad I have purchased for my five outdoor cats. I put them in homemade houses on my porch so I don't have to worry about them on cold winter nights----I know they are cozy and warm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A “Housewarming” Gift

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
With winter around the corner, I bought my new outdoor cat this heated pad for the doghouse he lives in. I put it on one side of the house, so he can choose to retreat to the cooler side if he gets too warm. On colder nights, I’ll see him sleeping soundly on the heated pad. He also takes naps on it during the day, and because of the heated pad, he is loving his new doghouse and I see him in there all the time. The fleece cover it comes with is a plus and helps retain the heat.
I’m so glad to see him using it so often. I now have peace of mind, knowing that he’ll be just fine outside, because the heated pad is always on and toasty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat loves it!

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
My cat used this all last winter under her bed and loved it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Cat's Meow

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
I've only had this pad for a few days and, living in Florida, do not get too many nights to use it. Lately we've had some cold and wet nights and when our our outside cat (Hemmingway) comes in for the night he loves to curl up on this toasty pad for the night. We keep it inside a tote that is on it's side and then cover it with old blankets on our screened porch. The heating pad seems to be very sturdy and he couldn't possibly chew or claw through the wire wrapped cord. Sometimes, even after eating his breakfast, he goes back on it instead of going outside. I'd say it is a great success!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver!

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
We have had some bitter weather in Ky this year, but the "outdoor" cats stay cozy in the garage thanks to the outdoor heated kitty pad with washable fleece cover. Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

KEEPS OUTDOOR KITTY WARM

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Coram, NY
Bought this heated cat pad for use in an outside stray cat house. It works good so far and the outside kitty is sleeping in the house. One strange thing; the box instructions state "how to install in a dog house" when it is called a kitty pad.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Popular Spot to Nap

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Spotsylvania, VA
I purchased this for my semi-feral mom cat that hangs around my screen porch. The porch is covered, but that is still technically outside. This pad is meant for outdoor use, so for her safety I bought the pad. She took about a week to try it out--she is very cautious of new things. She absolutely loves it! I have since bought another one so her kittens (now almost 7 mos old) have a warm spot when they go outside to join her. Each pad can easily accommodate 2 cats if they are snuggling and the pad does get warmer with their weight on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The cat's love it

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
A bit expensive for what it is, however, the strays that I feed love to sleep on this pad. I put it inside their cat house and they're always sleeping on the pad--keeping warm during these cold winter nights.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitty Heating Pad

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
RE: outdoor heating pad sku 1040200. We have purchased 3 of these with the cover for outside cats. One is 4 years old, the others 2 years old - still works. The cats love them. I highly recommend these to keep the outside kitty's or small dogs warm and safe. So far, they have lasted through 2-4 winters without replacing them. Since we lIve in the snow belt in Ohio, that should speak for itself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Outdoor Heated Kitty Pad & Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great idea

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Marysville WA
I really like this - I was concerned it would be too hot after kitty being on it for a while, but the temp is low enough and apparently does adjust according to your kitty's temperature. I don't like how hard the pad is - but understand that's probably necessary to house the electrical components? The kitty pad cover makes it a little better. I also don't like that it's just a flat pad - if it was more bed-shaped it would be more comfy. I put my kitty's thin foam bed on top of it - seems to work good. Also the package says the kitty pad cover is not included, but it is, so don't buy the cover separately. Now I have two. But I think it's still a good product and recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>