petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Orchard Grass

Kaytee Orchard Grass

Important source of fiber for chinchillas, rabbits, guinea pigs and other small animalsFruity scented small animal hay aids in the digestive processLush rabbit hay encourages natural foraging instinctsCompressed grass is easy to feed and creates less messHelps satisfy your small pet’s instinct to chew
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
33 out of 37(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Review 1 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

kaytee orchard grass

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Winnie25
from Watertown,WI
I've ordered this product numerous times and have recieved a totally different kind. I was very disappointed since I ordered 10 bags. It would have been nice to be notified if this product is no longer available. I won't order this product again. The hay is usually really tender, almost like long dried grass, the product I received is coarse and my pets pick it apart.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice addition to Timothy hay

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
cactuscrawl
from Las Vegas, NV
orchard grass isn't a substitute for timothy hay in guinea pigs... but a great addition. our pigs love to make a bed in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rabbits love it

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
1Bandit2
from Gainesville, FL
My two rabbits really like the orchard grass. They also like the Timothy hay, but they seem to like the orchard grass better.
This is important because rabbits are grass eaters. Fresh parsley, basil, green pepper and salads (no iceberg lettuce) in 1cup [er day is good for them. Other stuff like apples, bananas, blueberries should only be given occasionally as a "treat", not their main diet - it is too much sugar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Was good, but something happened

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
GuineaPig2013
from SoCal
I wonder about any recent problems with mixing the wrong hay into this Orchard Grass product? We have been buying this product many times, but the most recent bag looks like Timothy Hay got stuffed into it by accident.
Orchard Grass is normally soft, with flat shafts and has green and dark brown pieces. The hay in the most recent bag is hard and course, has cylindrical shafts and is yellowish, much like Timothy Hay.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kaytee Orchard Grass, the best!

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
4BunnyMama
from Tucson, AZ
This hay is my favorite for my four indoor bunnies. They love to eat it, and I love that there are no fluffy seed stalks (like Timothy hay) to get matted in their long, fine fur. It also makes a soft bedding for their sleeping boxes. The packaging is sturdy, and reseals nicely, and the hay smells fresh, not stale or musty. Bunnies need lots of hay to stay healthy; this is the best I've found in 27 years of having house rabbits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Alternative to Timothy Hay

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
GPigDude
from San Francisco Bay Area
How good is this product? Hey, I don't really know; I'm not the one eating it. But Lily, our guinea pig, seems to relish it. We alternate it with Timothy hay. Lily seems to like the change of pace and she usually starts to nibble at it before I can finish putting it into her cage. On top of this, the price is reasonable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orchard Hay smells good

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvaBunny
from Gretna LA
No wonder our bunny likes it. We enjoy giving him a treat that is good for him. Timothy hay may be the best but everyone likes a change. We give this to Mr. Bunny at least once a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

preferred grasses

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
LynInClermont
from Florida
I usually purchase Kaytee Natural Timothy Hay but the Kaytee Orchard Grass was on sale the last time I ordered, so I purchased some of it to try for my gerbils and they absolutely love it! Given a choice, they are picking the orchard grasses every time. It is a finer textured grass and smells good but different from the hay grass smell. If they're happy - I'm happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love Kaytee Orchard Grass

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Littleton, CO
My guinea pig and rabbit love Kaytee Orchard Grass. It stays fresh! and they eat it up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kaytee Orchard Grass

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
MamaTo5Gpigs
from Honolulu, Hawaii
My guinea pigs enjoy this grass very much! Long
strands keep the cage floor neater, too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

bunny said no way :-(

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
sznk
from Florida, USA
I really hoped my bunny would like this product. she loves timothy hay, but will not eat the flower heads, and there are so many of them in the timothy hay bags. i read that orchard grass is good for bunnies, and i wanted to give her a variety of hays.
she sniffed it but would not eat it.
i tried mixing it in her hay bowl with timothy hay, but she removed every piece of the orchard grass from her bowl and left it on the floor. tried for two weeks, but she just doesn't want it.
i spoke with two other rabbit owners and they had the same experience.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My piggies love it

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
usagirll
from Chicago, IL
I have guinea pigs and switch off between buying the natural grass and timothy hay. They seem to like both equally, but I like giving variety in what hay to give them. I also switch things up by giving plain timothy hay, to the packages of hay that have marigolds, carrots, mango and mint in them.
I'd recommend this for your piggies or rabbits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adds Variety to Timothy Hay

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
JJ26
I've always wondered if guinea pigs get sick of just timothy hay. I do let them out for fresh grass in the summer, but during the colder months this works well as a replacement.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My piggie loves it.

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Piggies2011
from Plano,TX
I like the long strands, they aren't as messy as the shorter kind. Since my guniea pig is older, 5 1/2 years, the finer softer texture is easier for him to chew. Will keep buying this for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grass

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
ltcancel
from Brooklyn, NY
I just got a baby bunny and she really enjoys this grass very much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great supplement

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chante
from Salt Lake City, UT
This is a great supplement to my rabbit's food and treats. A small handful a day keeps him happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hay Grass

PostedMay 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
BunnyMama2
from Clemson, SC
Both of my bunnies love this hay. It smells sweet, and the bag has already lasted almost a week and is barely empty for two bunnies. Overall a great deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great treat for our guinea pig

PostedMay 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
livsmum
from philadelphia, pa
Orchard grass is a great treat in between regular feedings. She loves this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small animals really enjoy!!

PostedMay 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
FDMJR
from Longmeadow, MA
We give the orchard grass to our chinchillas, rabbit, and hamster. All of them love it! They prefer the orchard grass to the hay.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Orchard Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My guinea pigs and rabbit LOVE this stuff!

PostedMay 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lovemybunandpiggies
from MD
I keep trying to feed my piggies and rabbit timothy hay but they always end up leaving a mess and do not eat it all. With the sweet orchard grass, the piggies jump to get to it as soon as they see me reaching for the bag! My rabbit isn't as enthusiastic but she still loves munching on it :P. The grass isn't as messy as other grasses/hays I've used and is always finished overnight. Definitely recommend!! (Bag lasts a long time too! I've been with the same bag over a month and I give a large portion every night!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>