petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit

EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit

Features simple digital programming for providing different feeding intervals and an adjustable feeder opening for changing the feeding amountProvide snacks via a simple push of the buttonIncludes a low battery indicator, splash proof buttons and velcro to safely fasten to your aquariumTwo AA batteries included
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 14(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Review 1 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Auto Feeder

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rockey2
from Hutchinson, Ks
I would definatley recommend this product. I used it for my Tiger Oscar and Pecock when I went away for a week vacation. The directions are easy enough to read and very informative with suggestions that helped a novice like me understand the best way to use it. My only problem was picking the setting for correct amount of food to dispense. I use the small pellets and setting 2 is too little and the 3 way too much. But based on information in the instructions, I set it to feed them once a day with 2 turns of the drum on the smaller setting Perfect!! I came back to 2 happy fish and a clean tank. I would keep using it when I'm home but I enjoy interacting with them while I feed them too much!! Great product <3
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Auto Feeder

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hilo
from Hilo, HI
I am using this to feed my red eared sliders once a day - it takes a little tweaking to find the right size opening for the size and amount of food you want fed, but it works very well - my turtles already know that when they see the body of it turn, that food is on its way and they come over to eat - highly recommend this unit
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oscar Feeder

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fishead
from Allegany County, NY
Purchased the unit to feed a rather large Tiger Oscar while we were on vacation. The instructions were clear, and the programing was simple. The unit handles the large Hikari pellets easily. Overall, very satisfied!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
LAG1
from Pennsylvania
This is the second EHEIM Automatic Feeder I have purchased. The display died on the last one. It was about 6 years old. The feeder itself still worked but I knocked it down and the battery fell out so the timer needed to be reset and I couldn't see it to set it. I have it set to feed the fish twice a day. It works perfectly. I ordered a new one the same day the I damaged the old one. I wouldn't want to be without it. It works great especially when I go on vacation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok, but only lasted a year

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
MemphisREI
from Memphis, TN
I had high hopes due to the high expense of this product compared to the others on the site, alas I am online shopping to replace it because it died 1 year after purchase. I was hoping the battery simply ran out, changed the battery and the display is only 1/4 showing. So I took it apart to see if I could figure out the issue, hoping to find something easy like salt corrison, but nothing like that. It seems to have simply ran it's course. I was hoping to have it longer than a year due to the high price tag. While it worked, it worked well. Unfortunately it died on me when I was out of town and needed it the most! Mine was used for a 55gl saltwater tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fornow
from Arizona
I've been very pleased with this item. I used the pellets fish feeder and it works great. It feeds my fishes on schedule and it doesn't cloud my aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Automatic Feeder

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
oobakeep
I take care of 6 freshwater tanks and use this feeder on every one. I started the timer in January 2010 and it is still working perfectly on the original set of batteries. You can adjust the amount of food that is released each time and how many times it releases it.
Since the feeder is velcro to the top of the tank you need a flat portion to put the feeder and a hole through to the tank/water for the food to drop in. I would assume that every feeder you would need to do this, so it really isn't a flaw in the feeder, but something to think about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect!

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tonja10
from Vermont
I've been using this for a month or so now and I have to say this does the job it's supposed to do. I really like the convenience of it!
just fill with food (i feed my turtle mealie worms and pellets) program when you want it to dispense and attach to your tank...it's that simple! the hardest part for me is remembering to check that there is still food in it to feed my aquatic friend :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
HwnElf
from Hawaii
Just purchased this feeder. Easy to setup and very well made. The Petco store here had 2 models for this feeder, a 'fish feeder' and a 'reptile feeder' for the same price. I was looking to purchase 2 feeders anyway, so bought 1 of each. Wanted to have 2 to setup 2 different feeding cycles for my fishes. Both feeders are identical, but the 'reptile feeder' comes with a clamp that you connect to the bottom of the feeder, that enables you to clamp the feeder on top of the aquarium glass for more positioning options.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overall

PostedMarch 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doxieworld
from Fontana, CA.
I bought this product for my red eared slider turtle and I used it with pellets. It works ok but with the pellets that I use it either gives too little or too much so I set it up so that it gives too little but more times. I love the convenience because I am often away from home and have no one to feed the turtle. I gave this a 4 out of 5 due to the fact that it does not allow you to use rechargeable batteries. Other than that I think you can't go wrong with this feeder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Arkie
from North Central Arkansas
Purchased 3 different feeders; this was absolutely the best! A little difficult to program for an "old man" (10 minutes); but does a fantastic job. I put the large flakes in a plastic bag to crush them up but have had no problems. Truly an outstanding product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Turtles

PostedJuly 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dimsum
from Los Angeles, CA
Food dispenser is good, but not perfect.
I use it to feed my turtles their pellet food. They go through the drum of food quickly, so condensation was not an issue.
Programming was ok. I don't usually read manuals, but you do need to read the instructions to set the time and number of feedings.
I would have given it 5 paws, but the amount of food dispensed is not consistent. Good thing you can decently control the portions by regulating the size of the opening. It also has a manual feed button too.
Overall, your pets will be happy that their meals are always on time and it puts your mind at ease when you're on vacation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Most frustrating purchase ever.

PostedJuly 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deanna862
I may have just gotten a "lemon" of the automatic fish feeder units, but I have had so many problems in the last hour that it's taken me with this unit that I'm ready to drown it in my aquarium. Setting of the functions were easy enough to understand and set, but the battery backing on my unit will not stay closed no matter what I do-- at the moment I have a hairband holding it on because I"m leaving for vacation tomorrow and can't return it! Every time it pops off, it produces a "LO" battery reading, and then dies, meaning I have to set ALL the feeding times over again. the mounting velcro that it comes with could not be cheaper-- the double sided tape that's supposed to connect the velcro to the aquarium top and the unit barely connects to the velcro itself and separates as soon as it's tested for it's security. I'm so frustrated that I spent $60 on this stupid feeder and it probably will die the day after I leave anyhow. AGH!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
5of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for EHEIM Automatic Feeding Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
jhall
from lincoln nebraska
i purchased this item and was great dont have to guess about feeding the fish it does it automatic great item
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.