petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Algae Control

Tetra Algae Control

Broad spectrum algae controls green water as well as blue-green algae, brown algae, hair algae or blanketweedCan be used with ornamental freshwater fish and plantsIncludes a dropper for proper doseEach bottle treats 1200 gallons
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Tetra Algae Control
Review 1 for Tetra Algae Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worse product ever

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Duncansville Pa
I would not reccomend this to anyone. I put it into my tank to clear up the green water but it did not clear anything but it did kill 2 of my fish.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Algae Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cleared up the water in under an hour !!!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I have struggled with green tint/algae bloom in the water for over a year. Filter switches, frequent water changes and skimming would improve the water for a day or 2 and that was it. I spoke to a rep at the store who asked all the right questions about lighting, water changes, plants - etc. In the end he recommended this and...what can i say..it worked wonderfully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Algae Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
So my fish tank looked gross and green to a point I could barely even see the fish swimming around unless they were right by the glass. I didn't think that this could work, but either way I bought this on Valentine's day of this year and within a few hours I could see the water clearing up! It's a great product! I'll add pictures of my fish tank. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Algae Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is amazing

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ny
The product actuslly works faster than it says and is amazing...I recommend to anyone who has the green water tank....worth every penny
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Algae Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT!!!!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from SC
Bought this a week ago (tetra algae) . After months of cloudy water & water tests were good didn't know what was going on. Tried everything. Then used the algea & didn't clear the first time so tried of again 4 days later & about 9 hours after. Water is crystal clear....and I'm so so happy...and this did not harm the fish at all...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Algae Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent!!!

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO.
I had a serious case of green, murky water in my aquarium. It was so bad that I couldnt see the back of my tank. I tried to cure it the all natural way (water changes, reducing light) but nothing worked. After one does of this product my aquarium became crystal clear overnight and I can finally enjoy my aquarium!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Algae Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chemicals? Never...

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln, NE
Or so I preferred. Usually, I tend to stay away from them, but my tank was sooo green and cloudy, even after water changes every other day...20%...I added this and within 10 minutes, I could see the back of the tank again! Then, within 2-3 hours, it was really clear, but could still use some work. Waking up the next morning, I found crystal clear water again!
The only thing is, remember to take out any carbon filters and any shrimp, snails, crabs, etc...for 6-8 hours, though 24-36 is better, especially for the invertebrates.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Algae Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Stuff left my 30gal. Sparlking Clean!!!

PostedApril 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I don't normally leave reviews but this product is that good. After doing a 25% water change, the water in my tank got murky. Then my loving wife let some sunlight directly hit the tank and to our surprise the water went from murky to green. I tried frequent water changes and even added a extra carbon bag. Nothing seem to work. Then I put 5 drops into my 30 gallon tank and in about an hour, all the green water was gone. The only thing was that I had to replace my filter sponge but other then that it worked great. Highly recommed it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Algae Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I don't usually bother with reviews but...

PostedApril 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Fall River, MA
This product worked brilliantly! My 35 gallon community tank was green and cloudy all week despite frequent water changes, reducing light, adding salt (I did everything) and then I added 3 mL of this product and it was crystal clear and beautiful within half an hour! This is the one to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.