petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens

Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens

Kills and repels fleas, ticks and mosquitoes with natural ingredientsKills fleas and ticks on contactSafe for use around children and petsVeterinarian testedSpice scentFor use only on cats of all weights, 12 weeks of age & older
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
9
9 out of 18(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Review 1 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product was cheap

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
This product didn't work on my cat. Gave her 2 rounds and still had fleas!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I appreciate this product

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Carolina
One of my cats has had cancer in the past and thankfully I was able to catch it in time to help her and she's doing very well and she has a wonderful vet. I love that there is a natural flea repellent available, because I feel better about putting something natural on Buttercup rather than something synthetic. I do notice I have to apply the Natural Defense a little more frequently being that she plays outdoors; however, it does get rid of the fleas almost immediately and I think it smells good too. :-) I would definitely recommend this product to my friends for their cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Caused hair to fall out

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NH
I thought this product was perfect when I saw it. I only need preventative care for my indoor cat. I put in on and noticed the extremely strong smell and that the treatment was very oily. I shrugged it off until 2 days later I found clumps of hair everywhere. My cat is completely bald where I put the treatment TERRIBLE! Be careful before using this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

my cat has a reaction to other meds

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Holland M
My cat has had a reaction to the other flea and tick drops and I have tried quite a few, so I gave this a try. Yes, it does have a strong smell but so does the "natural" insect spray that I use sometimes. She has not had a reaction to this product. So, if your cat goes outdoors and doesn't do well on the other drops out there then I would give this a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Strong smell lasts for weeks!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
I bought this product for my two indoor cats as a preventive measure during flea and tick season. I figured the "spice" scent would be a nice alternative to the alcoholy smell of other brands. Boy was I wrong! The spicy clove scent is so strong it burned my eyes and nose. I can only imagine how bad it was for my poor cats. The product was very greasy and didn't absorb at all so it rubbed off on everything. It took over a week for the "grease mohawk" to fade away. Over three weeks after I applied it I could still smell it on my cats necks.
I never did find any fleas or ticks on them after I used it but that could just be because I didn't carry any inside with me. (Though if I was a flea or tick I'd stay clear away from the stench too) I will certainly never be buying this product again!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tried it

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Bremerton WA
I used this product on my 7 cats and all it did was stink up the house. My cats spent the next hour dry heaving because of the smell. It didn't help with the fleas at all. I will never use this product again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I give 5 paws.....

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Littlestown, PA
I have tried all kinds of flea meds. on 3 ages of cats. I carefully considered this product because my 2 yr old cat is highly allergic to certain things in flea meds. I read what the ingredients were. So, I tried it today. I put it on all 3 cats. Ages 2yrs, 24 weeks, and about 12 weeks. 8 hours later, there are hardly any fleas on them. What was on them were running to the tail area but, with flea comb they came off. Cats didn't itch themselves like normal meds. as a reaction. The oldest one normally acts funny when he has other brands on him. Today he just sat still, let me put it on (normally he runs when he sees the tubes) He didn't itch at his neck. Now, the littlest one rolled around for a little but, she got used to it. The whole house smells like those scented pine cones you buy at Xmas. Love it. But, it is very liquidy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A natural product my cats are happy with

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Reading all the negative reviews about this product made me hesitate before buying it, but it had been recommended by our excellent vet, by our local family-owned organic pet store, and by a pet journalist who always suggests great, natural products, so I went ahead. I'd always had issues with Advantage and Frontline, which, besides being toxic, systematically caused my cats to itch, hurt, and groom excessively -- swallowing the pesticides in the process.
I have applied Sentry Natural Defense carefully to both my cats, and they seem fine with it: they didn't react when I applied it, didn't run away, behave as normal, and haven't been licking or itching. Their skin looks fine, unlike with the other products. No hair loss either.
The only negative I can think of is that the product is very liquid, poorly packaged, and difficult to apply precisely, thus leaving a large patch of oily fur, but I wiped out the excess with a tissue, and brushed the cats after a few hours, which returned their fur to normal. No damage to fabric or furniture.
I can't say whether the product actually works since my cats are mostly indoors, and I apply the flea-repellent as a preemptive measure, but so far so good -- no fleas or ticks.
Some reviewers complained about the smell, but I actually like its citrus/cinammon, pot-pourri fragrance -- perhaps because I already use essential oils in the house for cleaning and refreshing. My cats seem to like it too, as they smelled the tissue I used to wipe out the excess product with intense curiosity, and didn't run away from it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok Purchase

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Midwest City, OK
this product is great for short thicker haired cats but not so good on long fine haired cats, especially if sensitive skin. can cause skin irritation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Don't bother with this product--it's bad on so many levels. Most importantly, it did not appear to kill the fleas on my indoor cat. The product was very greasy, a problem compounded by the fact that each application uses a copious amount. The hair on the back of my kitty's neck was greasy and unpettable, and after a few days the stuff was all over my apartment. In addition to being greasy, it had a distinctive scent which, although not unpleasant, was really strong. Within a week the smell was on just about everything in my apartment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's natural...

PostedDecember 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
My cat started being attacked by ticks all of the sudden...must be going around some new places. Since I already have him on Advantage Multi, I didn't want to add another pesticide just for ticks, so I tried this one. the smell is intense but my cat doesn't really mind it. The oil didn't absorbe for a very long time, so after a couple of days it started dripping lower down his neck where he could reach it and start licking it...
As far as tick control...I guess it worked. I haven't found any around his neck and toward the end of the month I found one but down his back! (must've been desperate..) I continue using this product but will try to wipe it off after a couple of days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money!

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my two cats after my dog became infested with fleas and gave them to my kitties. I have a 4 yr old so I didn't want anything with harsh chemicals, plus the price was good too. It didn't work at all. The smell was extreme but it didn't really bother me. It did however drive my cats crazy. They hated the smell and it lasted for days. It has been two weeks since I put this on them and they still have fleas. I now have to go back to Petco to buy a more expensive product that I know will work. I just wish I had spent the money in the first place. I hope this helps you make a decision on this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Fleas!

PostedAugust 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, Tx
This product works and without chemicals!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great and a good value

PostedApril 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have 6 cats, and had used Frontline for years. I decided to try this product for two reasons...it is natural and it is much less expensive. I've been using it for over 6 months, and so far, it has worked very well with all of my kitties. The only caution is that the scent remains for several days (which is not a problem for me), and it is an oil-based product, so the oil can rub off onto furniture, etc. I apply the product in the morning before I let me cats out for the day, and when they come in at bedtime, the oil has absorbed into the skin.
Great product and great value!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work!

PostedSeptember 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
from IL
I bought this for my 3 cats when the frontline I gave them failed to work.
Maybe I have super fleas? who knows!
But this product didn't work! I have fleas worse than ever now. My poor cats are all suffering and I wasted my money on thsi product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money!!

PostedSeptember 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
When my cat suddenly developed a flea problem, I was excited to find an all-natural alternative to the typical flea medications. Unfortunately, I can not say anything good about the product. The essential oils are extremely strong smelling - I didn't mind at first, but the mint lingered for days. In addition to the smell on the cat, it also rubbed off onto anything he laid on or rubbed against! The treatment did NOT absorb well at all, and he was left with an oily looking mohawk as he would try to find ways to scratch at the solution he felt at the base of his skull. The oil, as well as the smell, rubbed off onto items in the house. The scratching continued, and the fleas did not seem to stop. I used a second tube in hopes it would help.... but to no avail. As the fleas seemed to be increasing rather than decreasing, I decided to stop wasting my time with this product and chose to use Advantage instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dissappointed

PostedMay 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
I thought this sounded like a great product, especially with a little one on the way. We put it on our two cats about three weeks ago - the smell is much more pleasant than traditional squeeze-ons. The oily spot remained for over a week and the smell for two plus (it's still lingering on my medium haired cat). I could handle the smell and was at first thrilled to find an alternative. Unfortunately, it doesn't work. About 2 weeks after application I noticed fleas on both cats fur and just today I removed a very much alive tick from my medium hair cat. Great idea, but no good as it doesn't work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a very good product.

PostedMarch 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
If this works for my outdoor cat I'm sure it would work for yours. I want to explain a bit why she is outdoors,
For those who care: when we moved where we are now she adopted us, we feed her and take care of her I would LOVE to have her inside but my dad is allergic. In a way she's not exactly ours but we've pretty much adopted her and Frito's done the same for us. I would never recommend keeping your cat outdoors like we do but she is as healthy and happy as we can make her, with heatlamps in the winter and fans in the summer, along with her huge bed with fleece on it her tons of toys scattered all around and her carpeted window.
Okay back to the product: I really love that its so much more naturall than some other products on the market, it smells nicer too! The only thing is if your kitty had very sensitive skin she might react alittle to the essential oils in the product, but I still definantly recommend this to anyone who wants a repellent that works just as well as chemical ones. Infact when I was using flea collars and other squeeze on medicines I would find the little buggers on her about two weeks before I was supposed to apply the next treatment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.