petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food

Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food

Nourishing grain-free canned cat foodNatural Balance cat food at offers complete nutrition for all life stagesLimited number of protein and carbohydrate sources for high quality nutritionDeveloped by veterinarians and animal nutritionistsNo artificial flavors or colors
Average Customer Rating:
4.53 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
74 out of 83(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for cats with allergies

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
I have two cats who happen to have severe food allergies. After spending more than twice the amount on vet-prescribed limited ingredient food, I tried this food and crossed my fingers. Over a year later, my cats are healthier than ever. I was visiting my vet's office every month (sometimes more often) for gastrointestinal problems, skin problems, gum health problems, etc. before switching and now my kitties have been vet visit free except for well kitty checks. Their coats are shiny and they both eat every drop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NutritionPlus

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
My cat savors the flavor of this product and awaits patiently every morning for her delicious morsel. She does not smell it first to see if it is edible. She digs right in and licks the plate clean. This makes me very happy knowing she enjoys her new found food supply.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Concerns

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
I found the venison product to be the one food that settled my cats IBS, along with switching away from clay cat litter (use natural product only) and dry food. However, in the past 6 months, this product has been looser, mushy, watery. I called the company and they said they haven't changed the product, just sometimes the water content varies. I don't like paying for water, but am uncomfortable changing my cats diet as her IBS is well controlled. I don't use their other products, so I can't say how they've been, ie duck, chicken, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Cat Food

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bloomington, IL
My vet recommended this cat food for my cat who had a urinary tract infection. Within days of switching to this food, the infection cleared up. Best of all, my cat LOVES this food!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Natural Balance Limited Ingredient can food

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
Cats really like this food. Pate formula which is soft for cats with not many teeth.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This food is excellent for skin problems

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
We acquired a Himalayan cat who had skin problems. She scratched a lot and the groomer saw scars and scabs across her back when he was blowing her dry after a bath.
I switched to Natural Balance, one of several that the vet suggested, and in a month she was cleared up completely. I happened to pick the Duck and Green Pea, simple because it was the first one I saw, but I am sure that any of the other flavors would have worked just as well.
Now both our cats eat the dry and the canned Natural Balance and no more skin problems!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My cat LOVES all the Natural Balance canned flavors! Whenever I've tried switching him to more generic brands in the past, he's sniffed at them disdainfully and then cried. I also love these products because of their high quality ingredients. Would definitely recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
My kids are enjoying the new food. We had to switch because we had a very smelly poo problem. They are not too keen on the salmon but will eat it. They LOVE the venison, duck and chicken!
I also love that I can get this delivered to my door as I live on the second floor. The redeliver function is also awesome!
Thanks Petco for that option!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality food

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southern NH
My kittens (now 9 months old) share a 3 oz can every morning. They absolutely love it and it has improved the quality of their coats. I would recommend this to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for allergy prone cats and owners on a budget

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dunwoody, GA
Both of my cats love this food. It is a great supplement to the dry food of the same variety. They prefer this to the venison and green pea formula but like both of them. Great for my adult cat who can't have grains, and for our new kitten. Definitely one of the best values in grain free food and it contains NO byproduts or meal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my sensitive boy and his brothers

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Amarillo, TX
I have 3 cats of various ages. The youngest (age 7) has terrible digestive problems, allergies. From the time he was very small he had severe diarrhea. We tried all sorts of high end foods and he still had problems. I felt terrible for him and kept looking. A friend suggested the Natural Balance Limited Ingredients formulas for him.
This food is GREAT for him. He also eats the LID Chicken and Pea kibble, but this Venison and Pea canned is one of his favorites and has cleared up his diarrhea completely! All 3 of them eat this every day for breakfast and love it.
Our local Petco often is out of stock on this one, so I use online ordering as a backup to make sure I always have plenty of food on hand for my "baby" to eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring Valley, CA
In searching for just the right food for our 6 week old kittens, I decided to try the Natural Balance Limited Ingredients canned food. Momma & kittens love it! We've tried both the Chicken & Pea and the Duck & Pea...I love the way it smells =) More importantly, the first ingredient is a healthy protein, and there are no grain fillers, just simple healthy ingredients! I recommend this cat & kitten food...good for all stages of a cats life. The dry food is great as well. I bought the Duck & Pea flavor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my sweet cat

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bothell, WA
I adopted my cat from a shelter when she was 7 years old. Within days, she began vomiting anything that she ate. After several visits to the vet and several hundred dollars spent with no clear diagnosis, I began experimenting with various food brands and eventually tried Natural Balance. The regular salmon became the only thing that my cat could keep down but the store had trouble keeping it in stock. I then changed to limited ingredient venison/green pea and duck/green pea and my cat loves both. She is now 11 and a very happy, healthy cat. Thank goodness for this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality for my Cat with IBD

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
One of my cat's was recently diagnosed with IBD so the vet wanted her on a limited ingredient diet. I'm so glad I knew about Natural Balance products!!! Read and compare the ingredients!!! You'll see that Natural Balance is the best option. Prescription foods contain multiple protein sources including pork and pork by-products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance L.I.D. Saved Miss Maggie

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hartord, WI
About 4 months ago, my husband and I adopted a 4 year old black and white long-haired beauty, which we named, Maggie. Her foster mom had rescued her from a couple who had wanted her euthanized because of a recurring problem with diarrhea and defecating on the floor. She thought that the problem had been resolved, but after about two weeks at our house she started displaying these ugly traits once again. I discussed her case with our vet, and she suggested trying Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance L.I.D. formula, as she thought that Maggie may have a sensitive digestive system. Long story short, it worked WONDERFULLY! Making the switch to Natural Balance, L.I.D. and a special kitty litter, Maggie's here to stay, and I'm a happy (and relieved) "mom"!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy on the digestive system

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Asheville, NC
I rescued my little boy after he was dropped off at a friends house and has bald spots that appeared to be from a foreign substance. The vet assumes he will have painful diarrhea for the rest of his life due to this. Tried many foods and supplements to alleviate his suffering. This food really helps, as the limited ingredients are easier on his digestion. I feed this along with "Honest Kitchen Perfect Form" to help make digestion easier and valerian to calm things down and alleviate the pain. Tried many foods (I stick with by Nature turkey and this) and was so happy to find food that does not cause intestinal pain and actually has firmed up his poo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cats won't eat it

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Miami Florida
I ordered this food because it came recommended as a high quality wet cat food. Both of my cats completely turned their noses up at it. My cats usually eat origin, evo, wild, and other high end foods and I was hoping this food could replace some of the more expensive food I typically use. I tried the duck, the salmon and the chicken. I ended up having to give them away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cat food

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
After researching cat food nutrition and grain-free options, I decided to get the grain-free canned duck and green pea by Natural Balance for my guys. They also eat the dry Alpha Grain-Free Turkey, Duck and Chicken.
I know it's cliche, but their coats are noticeably softer. One of my guys used to have coarse hair, but now she is soft and sleek. My other guy is softer than a chinchilla.
I chose this particular type of food after reading about how grains are not nutritious in any way for cats, but are used as a filler, and are often very cheap ingredients. Cheap cat food makes me nervous after reading about the poor quality of ingredients and quality control of the food-making plants. Not to say I know anything I read is fact or not, but it has planted the seed of doubt.
One of my cats has severe allergies, and it has taken years to find a medicine and food regimen that minimizes his discomfort. It is best for him to be on a limited ingredient diet, which is what this food is.
I attempted to try Blue Buffalo's canned duck food (well, the cats did), and they hated it! I was surprised, because it seemed good, and my guys have never really turned anything down before. I had to return the case and exchange it for the Natural Balance canned duck and green pea again. There is a huge difference in the happiness with which they gobble this up. I think the fat content is also less than the other brand, so I'm glad they have something nutritious that they like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cats hate this

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Anything will green peas is a waste on them, all 5 of them are not interested in thsi food.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Canned Cat & Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Limited Diet

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lakewood (Denver), CO
Our two cats with Inflamed bowel disease are can both eat the Natural Balance Limited Diet foods without negative effects. They like the duck & salmon best. Two cans were damaged in shipping. They were traded out promptly at a local Petco store., Ordering on line a good deal overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>