petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap

PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap

The cat flap for bigger catsUniversal fitting for doors and windowsOffers freedom for your catManual 4-way security lockModel PPA00-11326
Average Customer Rating:
2.062 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
10
5 out of 16(31%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Review 1 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happier with earlier version of door.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bloomington, IN
This is the fourth PetSafe Big Cat Flap door I've purchased. I also bought one for a friend. I did have a little trouble installing the first one, but if I can do it--anyone can!
My cats learned to use it quickly and have no problem navigating it.
I like the ability to be able to control whether the door opens in, out, or both. I was also very pleased that my cats have been unable to snag the door with their claw and pull it upward and open--until now. A fuzzy strip has been added to the edge of the flap (presumably to cut down on drafts). This was not on the earlier model. The cats can grab the strip and pull the door open, which defeats the ability to close off one direction. The strip also keeps the door from swinging freely, and it catches before it completely closes. I was able to remove the strip, allowing the door to swing and snap closed; however, the side of the door on which the strip had been secured is still able to be snagged by a claw and pulled open. The older model was snag-proof on both sides.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than the small cat door

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Spring Hill, FL
I know some reviewers have had issues installing this door, but I did it in under an hour and had no issues. I returned the small cat door that is made by PetSafe in favor of this cat door. The Tunnel stays in place just fine once the door is tightened down the locks are pretty simple to use. When I was cutting the "tunnel" I did not measure it with a tape measure, I simply used the peace of door that I had cut out to gauge thickness and then trimmed it a hair smaller, this worked like a charm. If you are unsure about installing this cat door, Petsafe's website has a pretty helpful video that I did watch before installing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetSafe Big Cat Door

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lansdowne, Pa
Lousy----Difficult to install. When FINALLY in door, if you tightened the screws to the door the flap will not work. Had to glue it to the door. Did contact the PetSafe people.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product - Bad Instructions

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tujunga, CA
The product looks good (If I can just get the cats to use it instead of scratching at the door) and operates well, but the assembly instructions are primative. They are just drawings with no written instructions. At one point they show a hand cutting the plastic strip but no reference as to why or how much to cut off. Finally figured it out when I attempted to connect the two ends but it would have been nice to know that ahead of time with a simple sentence that says" cut strip to thickness of door". They also show the excess length of the screws being cut off after assembly. This however, does not allow you to cut them short enough to use the protective end caps. Now I have to remove one screw at a time, cut it to the proper length and then re-install it. Finally it says "Big Cats" supposedly up to 25 pounds, It works fine for my 10 pound kitten but a 25 pound cat would be a tight squeeze.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I have had this cat flap for 10 months on my bathroom door (so my cats can get to the litter box but my dogs cannot eat out of it -_- or drink out of the toilet -_-) My dad did not have fun assembling it but he did get it on there nicely. I really like the locking feature and I use it when cleaning the bathroom so that my cats cannot jump on the counter while I clean. I just remove the door every weekend and wash it to remove any fur and nose prints. When I first got it, I kept the door off. Then I put the door on and called them from the opposite side with treats. They learned how to use it pretty quickly. They struggled opening it at first but now use it daily with ease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this item!

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from South Portland, Maine
Directions are useless and inaccurate. It is impossible to cut the screws short enough to assemble and then use the plastic covers to hide the bolt ends. I had to purchase new screws and use castle nuts to keep it safe for my cats.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy it

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Central Mass
Don't buy it! I would like to put a 0 rating put the lowest it will go is 1
It took 3 sets of hands to assemble to tunnel, because one of the flanges didn't fit, and it wouldn't stay together.
Once you put it into the door and tighten the screws the door binds up and won't open or close.
I will be returning it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of junk

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Piece of junk. Should not be marketed to the consumer for home installation or anyone else for that matter every thing about it is cheap cheap cheap should I say it again. I am super handy and this thing took me several hours with all the right tools. Why would anyone want to cut screws to length glue unfitting plastic to the frames tape pieces together and cut plastic strip to the proper width just to put a cat door together that when you do get it together it still doesn't fit right. I too should have listened to the reviews because every thing said about this piece of junk are true. I bought the regular cat one yesterday and had it together in under an hour but decided I needed the bigger one this took 3-4 hrs of frustration trying to engineer out all there screw ups. If you call them they will tell you to watch the video on youtube I say if you need to watch a video to put a cat door together you shouldn't be selling it. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Insufficent Instructions

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Aubrey, Texas
If you made the mistake of buying this product like I did, don't despair. The clear two piece that separates has a groove on the inside that the flexible vinyl insert fits in on both halves. To hold things in place I used some painters tape.Looks good once it is installed. Oh, the other thing. Impossible to cut screws short enough for the little white caps to cover the screw holes. So, cut one screw the right length and use it as a measuring stick to cut the others. This thing was a pain in the you know what.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy This

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, pA
If we had not already cut the hole in the door we would be returning this product. Unfortunately I didn't check the reviews before we bought this cat door. Worst instructions ever for a product, wish we had seen the video instructions on this website before we wasted about 3 hours trying to figure out best way to put it together. Instr with door do NOT tell you to subtract 5/16" off the trim - that would have been helpful to know --"PETSAFE". Even so, the pieces don't fit together well because of poor manufacturing. Don't buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible product

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Had I not already cut the hole, I would have bashed this to smithereens with a sledgehammer and considered my money better spent than actually trying to install. Instructions are worthless; none of the parts actually fit or stay together.
This was a replacement for a smaller door that worked well. I wish I hadn't made the cut to enlarge the hole before learning how terribly constructed this product was.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor product

PostedApril 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
This product is not weather resistant at all. The flap is on the inside of the door leaving the thickness of the door interior exposed to all rain and snow.
The parts do not fit together properly. The two-piece liner that covers the door core is very fragile and broke in several places when installing.
Instructions were very lacking and gave no parts lists.
This is the worst $30.00 product I've ever purchased...period.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very tedius and patience is the key

PostedApril 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Scranton, PA
Let me just say use superglue on the plastic inserts! It stays together much better and makes installation easier! This took me 2 hours btw cutting the hole in my door which I measured and cut not knowing they give you a circle to trace ( I did do well though) and trying to put together this mess of plastic pieces. Finally figured it out, superglued curved and straight door width inserts to the inside and outside covers and needed husband to stabilize while I screwed in. Works great, removed magnetic strip as it was very strong and cats didn't like pushing that hard to get into the next room. Overalll I would not buy again due to installation but it does work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great buy for the buck

PostedNovember 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Phoenixville, PA
While this cat door does require a little bit of patience, anyone with half a brain can put it together. Compared to all of the other doors i have priced out, this one is the best value, which is why i am buying another one for my basement.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay away from Staywell

PostedAugust 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Product is very difficult to assemble. You will need patience, dexterity and a lot of luck to get everything lined up and in place prior to securing. I wouldn't buy this product again, but now I have a 10" hole in my door!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Big Cat Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap Plastic

PostedMarch 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!! This product is very cheap, the pieces are plastic and dont assemble correctly. The first step is to cut the hole in the door... well if the product doesnt work out then you have a nice BIG hole in your door. And when you go to buy another cat door for your door, its not going to work because of the existing hole.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.