petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels

Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels

Long lasting durable mesh wheel is made of non-toxic pet safe materials and colorsEasy to clean, set up, and useWing nut on back allows quick and secure attachment to wire habitats or standing base
Average Customer Rating:
3.204 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
28
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
23
65 out of 103(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Review 1 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was just what we needed!

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Woodbury, NJ
We bought this wheel to replace the plastic one that came with the cage. The gerbils chewed up the plastic one.
This is perfect! I screwed it on the side of their metal cage, and, at first, one of the gerbils didn't run on it (I think he didn't like the squeak). I sprayed the screw with a little bit of canola oil, and now it's a hit! They can run really fast on it and can't chew it up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mesh Wheel

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Currituck, NC
I had not realized this item would be quiet so big,, my mice cannot move the wheel, but they do enjoy climbing on it, so it was not a total waste of money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This mesh wheel

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This is the best mesh wheel and the only one I would have for my mice. Reason being, they can't catch their tails in it. It is large for one or more to run at the same time without flipping anyone out. I had to nail it down to a plank of wood, but it works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Troy, MI
This wheel made too much noise. It was also too low to the ground so when my hamster tried to run he couldnt because it was stuck. other than that it was ok
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mars
This product causes bumblefoot. Guinea pigs and rabbits aren`t allowed to have wheels or their backs get messed up. Imagine your pet with a bent back. Please do lots of research. It will help you a lot and it WON`T waste your time, but help you and your pet A LOT!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fun but bad quality

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Newport Beach
My mice loved to play on it but we could hear the wheel spinning. We put oil and it was fixed.
A few days later the screw and nut were loose and did not work. We did not fix this time but returned.
It also falls a lot.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

7" too small for adult Hamster

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from TN
I got the 7" for my Black Bear Teddy Bear Hamster, Lorne. I'm pleased with the construction of the one I got in the mail, and it came in green. I like it, and Lorne took to it immediately... However I wish it had hooks to be hung on a wire cage. I used cable ties to do the job. Honestly, 8" would have been a more constructive size, because the 9" may be too big for some hamster cages. That extra inch would have made a big difference. The width of the 7", I also have a problem with, because the 2.5" is too small for my teen aged hamster who randomly seems to fall out of the wheel as he runs. The extra .5" to make the width 3" would have been a better manufacturers option. These wheels are just an odd size.
*To compensate for the squeaking that is inevitable in all wheels, I immediately brushed vegetable oil on the screw stem as soon as I took the packaging off. It should last until the next cage cleaning. Overall, I like the wheel, it was on sale, and I got what I needed in good time. I can't complain too much. :) I'll probably have to up-size in a few months however.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheaply made, very unhappy

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
I have purchased 2 of these 12" wheels for my daughter's hamster. The screw in the middle is made of aluminum and wears out very easily. I will not buy this brand of wheel again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I bought it for my robo hamster and I really like it

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, California
I bought the smallest size for my robo and its perfect.
When I first got it, it made a really loud squicky noise.
So i was reading reviews if Im the only one that got the spuicky one, and i saw one review that he puts vegetable oil
I tried it on the iron? part and it worked great
It doesnt make any noise now and my hamster loves it.
But the only problem is that my hamster cant run really good. She runs but she goes to the front side too much? ( i don't know how to explain) so she has to stop a bit to come back and run again.. keeps on repeating it. I dont know if its the wheel problem because the wheel's too heavy or it's just that my hamsters bad at it but except this problem I really like this wheel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mesh Wheel

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Saraland, Alabama
I got these wheels for my sugar gliders and they are perfect! They are not loud and they provide plenty of room for my gliders to run in them. Glider do more of a jump and run and there is plenty of room for them to jump while they run as well. Even my 3 legged glider loves this wheel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
This product is horrible for your hamster rat mouse ect. because it can get their claws stuck in the mesh and seriously hurt them. It can also cause bumble foot with is very painful and gross looking i recammend a plastic wheel or comfort wheel for your furry little friend because its much safer and please get the right size for your pet because it can cause their back to bend and that is very painful as well if the wheel is too small so get the right wheel and the right size please for your pets sake
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Wheel

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
Plastic based running wheels have been shown to harbor bacteria that is the root cause of bumblefoot. Your pets urinate on the plastic and it dries. Because the urine has no where to go they walk in it and it dries on their feet, thus causing an acidic effect that creates bumblefoot.
Many people wrongly believe the wire mesh is the cause. But the wire mesh allows the urine to pass on through so they aren't walking in it. The wire mesh gives them better traction and stability and more mimics their natural running processes as they are able to see through the wheel to their environment around them. The plastic wheels don't allow this and is like running looking at a wall.
I've been using this type of wheel for 12 years now. This particular design is the safest and quietest of any I've seen. This keeps their tails from getting injured. The running surface is extra wide so two buddies can be running side by side together.
In my 12 years of using this wheel (and I've tried everything out there) I've never had a case of bumbletoot, but have known many friends using the plastic wheels that have gotten it.
It's really disheartening to see such a great product discredited like the reviews I'm reading. I've used this type of wheel successfully on 1200 pet rats over the course of 12 years..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nope!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
This wheel is extremely bad for ANY sort of rodent (hamsters the most) and is quite noisy. If you really need this wheel for some reason, put duct tape on both sides of the wheel so it's at least somewhat solid.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No NO NO No NO! Bad for their feet!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
NEVER get a wheel like this, or any wheel that has holes! It's bad for their feet! It gives them bumble foot, and it's really painful for them!
Get a closed wheel, none that has holes in it or wide spaces!
Get the chin-spin, or the silent-spinner, or a flying-saucer. Those are some of the best wheels to get.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte,Nc
Don't get this. The wire hurts their feet and can cause bumble foot(look it up its gross) It also can wrap around their tail and hurt it. It is also hard to clean. Buy a flying saucer it is also sold at Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Running Forever

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
I got the 7" wheel for my Syrian hamster, Dan, and he loves it! The color is really cute. Of course this thing is gonna be pretty squeaky, but putting a bit of vegetable oil on it every couple of weeks takes care of that. He took to it immediately, so whenever he isn't sleeping, he's running. Loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor hamster...

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
Well, here is how it went. I bought this one because I just got a new hamster and it looked fine. It wasn't. It snapped off some of the metal wire and amputated my hamsters foot! RIP Daisy!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit noisy, but good for the price.

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
I got the 11" for my two male rats. I screwed the wheel to the side of their rat manor cage and it's working good. For the price, I don't have too many complaints. It is a bit wobbly and noisy, but it still works as it should and I don't mind the noise. I like knowing when my rats are on the wheel so I can watch :)
I have a tip for wheel training your rats as well. I tried taping a cheerio to the top of the wheel so that they had to get on and walk around it once to get the cheerio. Doing this a couple times seemed to spark at least one of the two rats' interest. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Acceptable

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
My dwarf hammie loves this wheel. You will need to lubricate the axle with a dab of olive oil approximately every 3 weeks. Also if you have it in glass tank you may need to tape the base down so it doesn't slide around
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Small Animal Mesh Exercise Wheels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way too Wobbly

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
I would not buy this product. Unfortunately this wheel is way too wobbly for any small animal to run on. It also makes a horrible metal on metal screech that is not very pleasant to me, let alone to the gerbils. Do not buy this wheel!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>