petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for TetraColor Tropical Crisps

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

TetraColor Tropical Crisps

Highly digestible ingredients provide concentrated nutrition for optimum healthProduces up to 35% less waste than competing flakesHigh in carotenoids to promote development of natural colors in tropical fishUniform size of crisps provides consistency in feedingDoes not cloud water
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Review 1 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

big fishes love it

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Westminster, CA
works as advertised but I found small fish like Guppy and Tetra will not able to eat it because of the size and hardness of the food
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colorado Springs, CO
Been using for years. Fish love the food.
Also better than flakes when used in an automatic fish feeder.
Things went perfect, especially when the site was 20% off and free shipping over $50. Ordered items that weren't needed immediately. May as well take advantage of the discounts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crisp-good idea

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma
The crisp is a good idea. The pieces are uniform in size and creates very little mess in the water because it stays together. I have used other flake brands where you get a mix of flakes as large as a quarter mixed in with unusable powder, what a waste. Tetra has a good product idea on their hands!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Something different

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
Bought a small container at the store and the fish seem to finish it up in a couple on minutes. When I feed my community tanks, I give the a little of everything. Flakes, crisps, pellets, granules dried bloodworms and bottom feeders shrimp pellets and discs. A variety of fish get a variety of food. Everyone gets what they want. I always depend on Tetra brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Food for freshwater fish

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from US
So, I've had the flakes for a while and stumbled upon the crisps a while back.
I like these as they are more solid and float longer...whereas flakes can disintegrate and sink quickly and form a mess at the bottom.
The price has been going up steadily though. this was the store price and I could get it cheaper online at Petco...then everyone raised the price and this still seems the cheapest around/
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only food my Cichlid will eat

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This & bloodworms are the ONLY food my Jack Dempsey (Cichlid) will eat, I'm serious! All of my other fish love it too!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Has Preservatives

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Ft. Myers, Florida
I bought this a while ago, and my fish liked it. I do not like it due to several bad ingredients and several preservatives. I don't recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fish product

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from MN
Food disappears quickly. The fish swim to the top of the aquarium & start eating quickly so they get more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tetra is the best

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Waterford, MI.
No matter what fish food I try, I always go back to Tetra-Crisp. My fish eat it enthusiastically, have much better color, are more active and the water clears quickly after feeding. No cloudy food sediment floating around for hours. My most picky-eaters that turn their noses up at anything else, eagerly devour Tetra-Crisp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish Favorite

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
one of my fish's favorite food (bala shark, discuss, mono, blue ram), not as messy as flakes
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
from middle of MN
My cardinal tetra go mental for this stuff.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for multiplying guppies!

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
I started out with 4 guppies- 2 males, 2 females- and they multiplied fast. The babies wouldnt eat the food I had because the pieces were to big! I got this food and since the flakes get pretty small the babies love them!! <3 recommended for breeding guppies!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average

PostedNovember 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
My small tropical fish eat these fine, but they tend to cloud the water and break into small, sinking fragments that my fish won't eat because they are so tiny. Also, they turn my fishes waste purplish-pink, because they are color enhancing... It was kinda weird, but evidently does no real damage. All in all this is an okay product...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Fish Food!

PostedJuly 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
This food is amazing. My fish LOVE this food and it brings out their colors. It even makes colors come out I didn't even know they had! This nutritous food should be used for every freshwater aquarium. Great price too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Quantoville, CA
We are experienced fish owners and we had a downcast group of run-of-the-mill guppies who were looking awfully depressed. But once we added this product they got up and moved around, and we've had for batches of fry in 3 weeks! Buy it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fishy fun!

PostedApril 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
I bought Tetracolor Tropical fish for my freshwater tropical community tanks, and was surprised the first time I watched my neon tetras eat. The crisps are flat, and round, and tend to sink flatly through the water. When my neons took a bite out of them, the crisps would crumble, and fall around they're mouths, making for a comical sight. Add in that the colors on the neon tetras, and Harlequin Rasboras I have brightened up like crazy made me that much happier that I'd bought Tetracolor Tropical Crisps!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Highly Recommend

PostedApril 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Seattle WA
I love all Tetra Products. They have some of the best food that i know tat will ive all of my fish the nutrients that they all require to thrive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for TetraColor Tropical Crisps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Treat for Fish

PostedFebruary 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
This product is a favorite with my tropical pals. We generally feed them twice a day--flakes in the morning and these crisps in the evening. The crisps help my fish keep their bright colors and there is less waste clean-up because they are easy for them to digest. The fish really seem to enjoy these crisps, particularly my amusing loach, who will swim to the top of the tank to get them. One note, however, you should crumble them a little before giving to small fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.