petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste

Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste

Fights bad breathMaintains clean teeth and healthy gumsContains no harsh detergentsTasty flavor dogs loveVeterinarian approved
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Review 1 for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved the price

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St Paul Park, MN
Loved the price and they are just for brushing their teeth
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Must Taste Great!!

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wyomissing, PA
I use this toothpaste with the little blue doggie toothbrush that fits over my index finger. It was simple training my chihuahua to let me brush his teeth. I put a small dab of the toothpaste and let him lick it off my finger a couple of times, all the while referring to it as a "treat." Now he comes running to me for his toothpaste "treat" every day! Brushing a dog's teeth daily can increase his lifespan by 5 years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Our Dog . . . Not a Fan

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from fort collins, co
I'm guessing the toothpaste works well, we just couldn't get our dog to let us use it - we never had that problem with chicken or beef flavored toothpastes. I thought this might help with his bad breath but if it needs to turn into a wrestling match to hold him still it's not worth it. Not the products fault, just our dogs taste preference - it does smell like a typical mint toothpast which would have helped if I had just tried to see if liked the smell of crest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from TX
This about the only product of it's kind that works on my Yorkies.
Wish you would hurry up and get the rinse that goes in the water back. Pet Dental Advanced Dental Care, Tartar Remover for drinking water works also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

To runny

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I want my dog to be as healthy as possible, so I brush his teeth everyday or sometimes every-other-day. He has never really had bad "doggy breath" but I thought the mint flavor would give his breath a little extra freshness. It did give his breath a pleasant sent, but Rookie did not like the taste of it. On top of that, the toothpaste became runny after only 2 weeks and made it almost impossible to brush his teeth properly (fell right off the toothbrush as soon as I put it on). I think I will go back to Petco's Natural Toothpaste as it works well and has never given me any problems.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

it's ok.

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
it's OK. not sure if it can really do what it advertised? just have to used longer to be able to said something more about it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tartar Control

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
from FL
When we adopted our dogs from the shelter it was obvious they had never had any type of dental care. We began dental care for them with another toothpaste first and was not pleased with it. We then tried Petco and have noticed a very nice improvement in our dogs teeth. Even our veterinarian noticed an improvement. There is still some plaque and some staining but overall it is really helping maintain healthier teeth and gums for our girls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works very well

PostedJanuary 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
I brush my 9 year old standard poodle's teeth every night of her life and I was using a different toothpaste and tartar had built up.
In just a week of using this toothpaste, a lot of the tartar is gone! It really works. It also freshens her breath for a long time.
I highly recommend this product. The only negative aspect is that she doesn't like the taste so much. Since it's mostly comprised of baking soda, it tastes very salty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Dog Loves It

PostedMay 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
He always wanted toothpaste when I was brushing my teeth - and the fact that this toothpaste is made especially for him and is mint flavor is just perfect!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Tartar Control Toothpaste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One brush a day keeps the tartar away!

PostedFebruary 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Murrieta, CA
I recently just bought the Dental Kit for Dogs along with the Tartar Control Toothpaste for my new puppy, Feist. And I must say that this product works perfectly for my pet in many ways. First of all, the dental kit comes with a toothbrush that is designed for dogs with smaller gum and teeth areas. Which is great because it won't cost any pain to my puppy's mouth. Also, it comes with a Dog Finger Toothbrush for sensitive areas and for where its hard to reach. The tartar control toothpaste reduces the risk of bacterial buildup and keeps the gums of dogs healthy and clean! I saw immediate results the first couple of times i used this product on my puppy. It was also a relief that my dog actually liked the taste of the toothpaste, and it wasn't disgusting that she would resist it and give me a hard time to brush her teeth. Her breath is smelling better, her teeth are cleaner, she is feeling good (I can tell!), and I'm especially happy of the results, as much as the low price for something so helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.