petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food

Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food

All natural canned cat food made with only the finest quality ingredientsGrain-free formula is ideal for cats with food sensitivitiesComplete and balanced Halo cat food for all lifestagesContains no artificial colors, flavors or preservativesDoes not include meat byproducts or meals
Average Customer Rating:
4.112 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(125 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 125 reviews
5 stars
83
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
19
103 out of 125(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Review 1 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good food with far too many unnecessary veggies

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
laprof
from MASS
Our cats really like the Spot's Stew foods - especially the succulent salmon. One of the cats has kidney disease, so the lower level of protein in this product is very good for him. However, I can not figure out why there are peas, beans, carrots, and other veggies in the food - they are nothing more than fillers that take the place of food. Cats are carnivores and do not "hunt" veggies. Wish Halo would offer a non-veggie option because it takes me a LOT of time to remove all of the veggies (cats hate them) each time I feed them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This cat food is a great nutritional balance.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
BEJClaar
from Kansas
My cat loves this food and not only that it is good for him. As his housemate I am happy when he is happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Canned food my cats love

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
kittymomto2
from NJ
Halo pet STEWS are great for the cats. They would prefer less vegetables and try to eat around them. However, since I mash the veggies into the rest of the food with the back of the spoon it all goes down. One of my cat has kidney problems and will not eat any of the prescription foods but she does eat this which is the lower protein she requires and is thriving on it. The other cat just likes it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Food

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ilovekittiesalot
from Little Rock, AR
My kitties love this food. It is high quality and good for them.
Their favorite flavor is Turkey.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality and tasty

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wuffnmeow
from massachusetts
Great ingredients and the cat loves it, although he usually eats around the peas and green beans. The canned lining for this size is not bpa, it is vinyl, which is important to me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Halo Spot's Stew wholesome Chicken Recipe

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
juju123
from ventura, California
I was using another brand and my cat was not enthusiastic and had issues with vomiting. I researched many different products and tried some of them. My cat loves Halo and the vomiting has ceased. The ingredients are all healthy I find that I have to mash the veggies well and my cat just devours it. Thank you Halo for making such an excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too Many Veggies

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
GaelicWench58
from NW PA
My cats like the Halo canned food, but they will not eat the peas; there are so many, which take up space that could potentially have more meat or other kind of protein instead. Perhaps, if the veggies were minced instead of chunky (fit for a dog), then there wouldn't be wasted food. I honestly don't mind all those veggies (far better than unnecessary worthless over-processed carbs), yeah, redundancy there, but please make the pieces much smaller.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Made my kitten sick!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
piper2013
from boston, ma
I am looking to add some variety into my 5 month old kitten's diet; something for her to eat maybe once a week. She's very picky. She eats only Wellness Core Kitten Canned, and a tiny bit of Blue Wilderness Kitten Dry as a treat.
Although she loved the Spot's Stew, she vomited it all up within 10 minutes! Poor thing!
As soon as I opened the can and looked at the food I should have know it would be difficult for her to digest; cats need animal protein, not veggies. There are actually peas, carrot pieces, and zucchini pieces in this food.
It is low in protein, so maybe for a specific diet need it would work.
We will stick with Wellness and Blue!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Only the finest, natural ingredients in this cat food

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvloki
from Dumont, NJ
Halo Spot's Stew Chicken recipe is great. Packed full of quality ingredients that are good for your cat. First 10 ingredients are foods humans consume (i.e.chicken, carrots, zucchini, green peas and beans, yellow squash, celery, and turkey) and not some byproduct or chemical sounding name. Chicken is the first ingredient!
It's formula is great for my cat and has helped him lose weight and maintain a healthy physique.
My cat LOVES his peas and carrots!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is wonderful food

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jarali
My cats used to hate canned food, but they love this and are excited to eat this everyday
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

broken tabs

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
mahalo
from honolulu, hi
My cat loves the food but on my last order, the lift off tabs have all broken off and I've had to use a can opener to remove the lids.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spot's Stew Turkey 5.5oz can

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
gsappenf1
from Flossmoor
Only food all my picky cat eaters will eat! Easy shipping to my house, make sit all the better
Picky eaters? This one is a winner!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our go-to food

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
elsee
from New Braunfels, TX
Sokie has chronic renal failure and is fed as often as she likes in order to help her with water intake. Spot's Stew is a healthy food, so we feel good about providing it. It has a whipped texture that she and the other cats love, and which seems to provide her extra moisture. I mash the peas and carrots, but some cats like them whole. They like all of the flavors, as well as Spot's Pate, which is a little thicker in texture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

grain-free and my cats like it

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
catrunner
from Santa Barbara, CA
My cats are very picky and tend to get tired of foods quickly. So far, so good with Spot's Stew; they're still enjoying it halfway through the order, and it's good for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOW PROTEIN FOR CATS WITH KIDNEY ISSUES

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
ILPetSaver
from Channahon, IL
Both of my cats were diagnosed with kidney problems. The vet put them on Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Feline Renal LP Modified C Dry and Canned Cat Food. They do eat that food but it is expensive. I found that Halo's Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food has almost the same low protein level as Royal Canin's at a much lower cost and my cats practically claw me to death to get at Spot's Stew because they LOVE all the flavors! I know veterinary diet foods are normally bland and tasteless so I was ecstatic that Spot's Stew is good for them, has great flavors and not as expensive as Royal Canin. Unfortunately, I still have to purchase Royal Canin's dry food because I have not found a lower cost low protein dry food version and I'm hoping Halo comes out with a low protein dry food for cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Healthy canned food

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
hofmk
from San Diego, CA
This is a winner for me because it is healthy and my cats actually like it. They are generally like kids in that if it is healthy, they don't want it. However they really like this product. I just wish it would come in a bigger can for the same money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our Four Cats Love All Of The Canned Varieties

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
HeidiAndTheBoys
from Cliffside Park, NJ
We have been feeding Halo Spots Stew and Pate to our four cats for years now. They love all of the varieties. The salmon variety is a little more watery, (but cats do need water!) and it doesn't bother them at all. I usually mix it with the chicken pate or give them a little extra at feeding time if they are still hungry. No biggie! The cats are happy, healthy and they are all maintaining good body weights. Our four cats almost NEVER spit up their food or hair balls. Seriously, 99.99999999% of the time! I discovered Halo when the brand we were previously feeding our cats was recalled. Halo is a wonderful and ethical brand of cat food. I feel entirely safe feeding it to them. Halo had NEVER been recalled. It's well worth the price and they have monthly coupons on their website as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cat's LOVE Halo Food

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dislc
from Santa Clara, CA
I have two cats and they have been eating Wellness food (wet and dry) for the past 2 years. We only changed their food because the price was raised by almost 2 dollars, which is ridiculous when it is already super expensive. So I did some research and Halo food seemed to get really good reviews. Now it is still expensive, but it is cheaper then Wellness. My cats actually LOVE it, and better than the Wellness. Every time I feed them the Halo food, they clean their plates, where as before they would never eat all of it.
Halo is a keeper, that is for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am not a crazy cat lady, but I swear I would eat this food

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alli88
from Boston, MA
Wow, this food smelled and looked great! My finicky cat, Alli, has belly issues so it is has been really tough to find something that she will eat and that will agree with her system. I thought I'd have a winner here, but she turned her nose to it. What a stinker!!! She will eat the sensitive stomach dry food - seafood recipe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad new formula

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
MTKW
from Nazareth, PA
I have been feeding every variety of Halo Spot's Stew to my kittens since they were 1 month old.
Before settling on this brand I have tried many others and let it up to my kittens to decide which food they liked the best. For 2 month they were very happy and enjoyed eating tremendously.
Until recently...when the formula has been changed - at least so it seems. The food is much thinner and watery.
I always buy 3 cases at a time and I must say, I did regret this after the last shipment. I was given 1 can as a present before I ordered my 3 cases and that can seemed very thin already,but I thought it was an exception due to unknown reasons, but when my shipment arrived all the cans were just like that one.
My kittens do not enjoy eating any longer and have not the reaction they used to have before mealtime.
I have used a few cans of Halo's Spot's Pâté and while they did not really prefer it before, they do like it now better than the Stew.
My question to you is: Why was the formula changed and what shall I do with 2 cases of food they don't like to eat?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>