petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food

Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food

All natural canned cat food made with only the finest quality ingredientsGrain-free formula is ideal for cats with food sensitivitiesComplete and balanced Halo cat food for all lifestagesContains no artificial colors, flavors or preservativesDoes not include meat byproducts or mealsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(142 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 142 reviews
5 stars
93
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
23
116 out of 142(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Review 1 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

another response regarding the 'obligate carnivore' response

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from decatur, al
In response to the person who gave this product a bad review because 'obligate carnivores' don't need vegetables, I'm sorry but that's just wrong. Yes, cats are carnivores, just like their cousins the big cats in the wild. However, cats in the wild require certain plant based vitamins and minerals as well. They get those needed vitamins and minerals from eating the stomachs and intestines of their herbivore prey. Gross, but true. Our domestic cats don't survive on what they hunt, so they need that plant matter added to their food, along with certain enzymes. You feed a domesticated cat only meat and you will kill it. Didn't mean to deliver a sermon, but didn't want someone's misinformation to lead another person to unknowingly harm their cat. In regards to Halo's canned cat food, I'm really picky about what I feed my four cats and they inhaled it as soon as I set it down. I've not had that response with certain other brands I've tried.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spot's Stew Rescued My Cat!

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
Last year our 16 year old cat was going downhill fast and when we took him to the vet he was diagnosed with chronic kidney failure and inflammatory bowel disease. The vet thought he might have a month or two left to live. We were heartbroken! We tried all kinds of different diets which either aggravated the kidney disease or irritated the inflammatory bowel disease or both and he would eat the food for a little while and then wouldn't touch it again. When we had gone through all the special diets with no luck, I decided to try Spot's Stew. He loved it right from the start and he has been eating it ever since and doing well. I think he probably no longer has the inflammatory bowel disease and for his kidney failure we are giving him sub-Q fluids every other day. I think the high quality of the Spot's Stew, plus its lower protein level is part of why it does not further irritate his kidney condition. We are so thankful we found Spot's Stew!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Regarding comment :"obligate carnivores don't need vegies"

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
My elderly cat has kidney disease and often has trouble with constipation. She really benefits from the vegies and increased fiber in Halo Spot's Stew canned cat food. Yes cats are carnivores as you mentioned, but all Halo formulas have sufficient meat protein. Cats also love to eat grasses so they seem to know vegetation is also helpful to them. I do agree that the manufacturer should mash up the peas in the stew or many cats will leave them behind, as mine does. To me, this is a good high quality food that doesn't have fillers, junk and questionable ingredients.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Halo is NOT what you believe it to be!

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Utah
I first started purchasing Halo cat food because I knew Ellen DeGeneres was an owner of the company and because of her love of pets.
But, did you know that cats are "OBLIGATE CARNIVORES"? That means cats are obligated to eat meat, not peas & carrots & squash, & pumpkin, etc. etc.
When I first purchased the canned food for my cat, I knew about the peas and carrots and green beans, and sure enough, he pushed them all aside. Would not eat them. So I started taking them out before feeding, and I realized that all those veggies removed created a very small can of food. Very Expensive. Now Halo has added more veggies! What cat needs zucchini, squash, and CELERY?
Our cats are descendants of the big cats in the wild. Can you imagine one of these cats stalking a stalk of celery??
Be careful when you hear or see "ALL NATURAL". All of these veggies may be all natural but cats DO NOT NEED THEM IN THEIR DIETS.
After reading the new additional veggies in this food, I thought one thing only, "fillers" which adds up to more money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, except for the peas

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Orange County, CA
This is one of the only types of food my cat will eat. She'll eat it all except for the peas so she'll eat until she finds a pea and then stops. I then take out the peas for her (yes, I feel ridiculous doing that every time) and she'll finish the food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yum Yum!

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, FL
My cat, Angus, loves Halo Spot's Stew. While there is disagreement as to whether a cat needs veggies, Angus loves the peas and beans. His favorite flavors are salmon and lamb. I will continue to purchase Halo Spot's Stew.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

healthy halo

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Candler nc
Since switching to halo and purified water, my cat is much healthier and her coat is soft and shiny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cat loves only certain flavors

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
Jangy will only eat chicken and turkey. He will not touch anything seafood. Loves this food. Will eat carrots but will leave the peas:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
My cat absolutely loves this food! He looks forward to his special treat every day and actually "asks"for it at the same time each evening.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Veggies for Cats? Hello "HALO"

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Palm Beach, FL
I bought the Spot's Stew based on reviews instead of checking the ingredients. What a mistake! Two cats turn away just from the smell, the third one (who eats everything) leaks little bit of chicken and leaves all those veggies untouched. So, the high price goes to trash, since none of my cats would eat carrots, green peas, zucchini, green beans, yellow squash and celery.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great food

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hamilton square nj
Best food cats love it no noses turned up good to the last bite
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

my cats won't eat this

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
ingredients look great but my cats refused to eat it, had to return unused cans to local store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smells and looks tasty

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orlando area, fl
I decided to put my Maine Coon cats on a grain-free diet. Along with a selection of dry foods they each get 1/2 small can of Spots Stew. This canned food is like a pate with veggies added. Even though they tend to leave a green bean or pea, they really like this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat loves this - except peas!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
My cat loves this food but I often find she's left the peas and diced carrots behind! Makes me laugh that she leaves the plate pretty clean except for the veggies!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wish they would say it is pate

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from upstate, NY
Cats are on and off about this product. Sometimes they eat it most times not. I have to wait a long time until they are bored with other stuff to give it to them. It is more pate than stew. My cats hate pate. Needs more liquid (not gel) It is grain free and that is great for our one cat who is allergic. Cats don't eat vegetables and there are a fair amount in there (that is more for humans to feel good about but useless for cats).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Neither of my cats will eat this!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
Save your money.
I took a chance on this looking for something new to feed my two adult kitties, but they both won't touch this! It's a pate, so the word Stew is misleading. If I had known, I wouldn't have tried this, as they both hate pate.
They both love chicken in sauce or gravy, but not Spots Chicken Stew.
Pay less and try chicken in gravy instead by other brands...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food, worth the extra cost

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Springfield, IL
My older cat developed an allergy to chicken. Finding a chicken-free canned food that she would eat proved to be challenging, but she loves the lamb formula. After about 4 months on this food, her coat has grown back in thicker and softer than ever, her ear problems have reversed and she seems to be a very healthy, happy kitty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good food with far too many unnecessary veggies

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MASS
Our cats really like the Spot's Stew foods - especially the succulent salmon. One of the cats has kidney disease, so the lower level of protein in this product is very good for him. However, I can not figure out why there are peas, beans, carrots, and other veggies in the food - they are nothing more than fillers that take the place of food. Cats are carnivores and do not "hunt" veggies. Wish Halo would offer a non-veggie option because it takes me a LOT of time to remove all of the veggies (cats hate them) each time I feed them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This cat food is a great nutritional balance.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
My cat loves this food and not only that it is good for him. As his housemate I am happy when he is happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Halo Spot's Stew Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Canned food my cats love

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
Halo pet STEWS are great for the cats. They would prefer less vegetables and try to eat around them. However, since I mash the veggies into the rest of the food with the back of the spoon it all goes down. One of my cat has kidney problems and will not eat any of the prescription foods but she does eat this which is the lower protein she requires and is thriving on it. The other cat just likes it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>