petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews

Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews

All-natural wood chews that prevent boredom and help maintain healthy teeth for your small animal pet companionMade from real apple trees, makes great rabbit treatsCompletely safe to chew, makes great hamster or guinea pig treatsIncludes a small hole in the chews so you can slide them on any Super Pet® Ka-Bob dispenser, sold separatelyIdeal for rabbits, guinea pigs, chinchillas, hamsters, gerbils and other small furry critters
Average Customer Rating:
3.731 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
7
48 out of 67(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Review 1 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
BBbrenbren
from Virginia, VA
These chews are horrible! My two guinea pigs will barely touch them. I do not know if they are just picky piggies or if they are just still adjusting to me since they are new. But anyways, I decided to get the WARE fruit flavored chews instead and my piggies seem to like them more. If you have new or picky guinea pigs, I would not recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

mice dont know what to do

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
mousechick
from matthews,nc
my male silkie mouse piglet would just bring it to his igloo while female mouse cow (fancy) wouldn't go near it and my other female mouse mozzarella (silkie) wouldn't touch it either.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gerbils Don't Chew On These

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
IRDS
from Coral Springs,FL
I have tried these with different gerbils we have had over the years and not one of them liked these sticks. Better off buying another item for them to chew on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
lovechinchillas
My chinchilla wont even look at these! Dont waste your money. try loofah chews instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mutmut
These were the first chews that I had bought for my gerbil Buddy. He gave them one sniff and never looked at them again. The only thing that he ever wanted to use them for was something to stand on while he went to the bathroom. I personally wouldn't recommend these to anyone else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

would not purchase again

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
cappy
from Southampton, MA
My hamster and rabbit have no interest in the chew sticks. I keep placing them in different locations to try and peak their interest, but nothing. Not even a little chew.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Won't chew them

PostedMay 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vash
from PA
I bought these for my Dwarf Hamster to keep her teeth down but for some reason she won't even touch these. I figured since they were Apple Orchard Sticks she would go right to them but she didn't.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not For My Hammie

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
4pawedfriends
My hamster picked one of them up once. Maybe chewed a corner of one but he didn't care for them. I wish I could find something he liked to chew on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My rats don't like these

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
cakepanda
from Rochester, NY
My two rats have zero interest in them. Haven't even touched them. I don't know if it's just my rats being picky or if it's just that rats themselves don't fancy them, but it's exactly what it says it is- Wood stick things for small animals to chew, so it's more of a problem with my rats instead of the item. Nothing wrong with the item, exactly as advertised. Just remember your pet may not like them, but even then it's only a couple of bucks so you're not out much if they don't.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My Rabbit Doesn't Like Them

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
pdxbunny
from Portland, OR
I bought some of these for my rabbit to chew on and she isn't very fond of them. She really enjoys wicker balls because they are easier to hold down than small sticks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I wouldn't consider this a treat, just something to chew on

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Msfufu
This isn't my buns favorite thing by far. There's always 3-4 laying around. She will chew on them every once and a while
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
skuutrgirl
from acworth, GA
My 3 rabbits didn't want anything to do with these sticks. I have found apple sticks in the wild and they devoured them. I guess these sticks are too far from the tree.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok Product

PostedMay 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
BunnyTofu
from Clackamas, OR
My mini rex bunny doesn't really take to these things. He will eat some of the bark off and leave the rest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay product

PostedMay 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
PetHelper
from New York, NY
When I received this, it seemed quite dusty and didn't have much of a smell. I place it in my hamster's cage and she didn't even acknowledge it. I rubbed carrot on it, hoping the smell would attract her to chew it but still, nothing. She likes carrots though, she just doesn't like these chews. I'm sure it'll work for other owners. I just have to get her something else. I chose this because most hamster owners seem to have liked it and their pet's also liked it but not mine. Oh well...At least it was cheap. I'm still going to try to get different foods on it and see if one will persuade her to chew it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not that good

PostedMarch 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
bunniemom
These came with my Hedgie and he didn't like them at all. I gave them to my bunny Buster and he chewed on one for a bit but now he won't touch it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not interesting to my rabbit!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
FindingRosie
I gave a few sticks to my bun to chew on but all of them were ignored. I even tried to hand feed her the sticks but it doesn't really appease her. I got them on sale for a good price so I didn't mind, they are pretty cute and tasty looking though, perhaps it would be better suited for other pets.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay for rabbits

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amazingace427
from Cedar Rapids, IA
My bunny will chew on them for a few days and then not touch them, she is kind of picky though...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
dwarfhamsters
from Pheonix,AZ
its ok it takes some time for my hamsters to eat it all it really does keep thier teeth down though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Apple Orchard Chews

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
OrcaTrainer
from SeaWorld, Orlando
I got these chews in a small animal starter kit from Petco. These last a long time, and always smell good (to me). I like how they are natural wood chews. The problem is, my Robos don't like to chew on wood blocks. The only time they chew is when they eat, or when they think they're swesome enough to chew through their cage bars (which ultimately fails). But my Robos barely chew on their cage. I don't recommend these if you have a hamster that doesn't chew.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Apple Orchard Sticks Small Animal Chews
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nay

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
JediHouseWife
from Yuba City, CA
My rats weren't interested in these at all, but it may just be a preference thing. My co-worker was the one that suggested them as his rats absolutely loved these.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>