petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils

eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils

Formulated with a naturally delicious mix of fresh vegetables, fruits, grains and haysMixed with a variety of bright colorful pellets to meet your pet's nutritional needsFortified with antioxidants, amino acids, probiotics and essentials fatty acidsEasy to use, fresh-zip resealable pouch keeps food fresh
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Review 1 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing food that lasts a while

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
hammyloveer1234
from Seattle Washington
This is truly the best hamster food you could get your hamster. It has many different food varieties for your small rodent. When you add a treat along with it in the dish or fresh veggies or fruits it creates the perfect meal. I would recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kaiaa12314
eCotrition is a wonderful blend for hamsters and gerbils. I switched my gerbils off of the kyatee forti-diet to this brand because kyatees had so many treats that it became a hassle to pick them out.
Although eCotrition DOES have sunflower seeds (see nutrition) they are not one of the first 10 ingredients, meaning this brand has less sunflower seeds than its competition.
This had been the only brand where my gerbils would eat everything in their bowl (except the alfalfa pellets, they don't like them much).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food!

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
HamsterLover124
from Williamstown, VT
I have a Sunfire Hamster and this was the first food I got. Once I put her into the cage she started eating the food. I love it too because of it's nutrition and that it's easy for Dwarf Hamsters to eat. There are no large pellets, they are all perfect size for Dwarf Hamsters. I would recommend this to anyone who owns any small animal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good nutrition

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
HueysMom
I switched to this from Carefresh for my gerbil and she seems to like it. I am happy with the nutrition since I avoid giving her any sugary or unnatural foods.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very healthy enjoyable food

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
gerbillove68
from pittsburgh pa
My gerbils love the food! You can smell how fresh it is. They especially love the pumpkin seeds. I love how it does not have sunflower seeds to make them fat. I can buy my own sunflower seeds on the side to give them as treats. In looking at all the options on the market, I believe this is the best blend for gerbils.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This Product is pretty great.

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
12Chloe34Hammy
from Warren, Minnesota
I have a 2 Robo Dwarf Hamster and they both tend not to like the pellets that are in there. I don't know why. So if I was another person look for some hamster food try and find the big with the least amount of pellets. Otherwise they LOVE this food.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Hamster Food!

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
LittleCritterCare
The first food I ever bought for my hamster was Nutriphase. What a mistake that was! My hamster Tia only ate the sunflower seeds and the corn-not healthy at all! But then I bought this food, and she eats everything! I mix a little of this with Mazuri hamster pellets and it is a very balanced diet! I REALLY recommend this food to every hamster and gerbil owner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Philfave
from Bountiful, UT
Phil, my fancy dwarf hamster, loves this food! Every time I put in more food, Phil imediatly starts picking through.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT!!!!

PostedOctober 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
blahmaster123
from Baltimore,MD
This food is great my hamster oops destroys this food and she is getting really big and strong from it and the best part is it`s cheap,definitley get this food
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT FOOD!!!!!

PostedSeptember 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
dalosiman
from Austin, TX
This is the ONLY food I feed my dwarf hamsters. They love the pumpkin and sunflower seeds.
I fed my dwarfs another well known brand one time and within 24 hours one of my hamsters died, I haven't fed them anything else but ecotrition since!.
I stock up on this everytime it goes on sale and would recommend this to ANYONE with a dwarf hamster!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedMarch 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
hamtaro21
i just got my hamster and right when i put her in she went right for the food and ate it like crazy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My Hamster Likes It

PostedMarch 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pippers1
My 19 week old Teddy Bear hamster likes it a lot. My hamster, Pippy does not really like the pellets and the seeds are a little small and get all over the floor. Overall I think it is average.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome

PostedMarch 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roborovski4Life
from Los Angeles, California
I bought this for my two Roborovski hamsters and they eat everything except for the pellets.This is good for first time hamster owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good food for my Hamster

PostedFebruary 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
HammyHam
I was in a rush one day and went to Petco to get some food for my dwarf hamster Bitsy. I picked this up and saw that it was very healthy so i bought it. I put some in Bitsy's food bowl and walked away. I turned around and saw shw was already eating it. She loved it. I am so glad I got this, she likes it and it is healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutritios!

PostedSeptember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
hamsterlover17
from Ipswich, MA
I think Ecootrition is a very good choice because it contains fruit, vegtables, grains, and timothy hay. The Petco Care Sheet for Hamsters states that you should get food with those 4 ingredients. This mix is very good for your hamsters health
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for eCOTRITION Essential Blend for Hamsters and Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yummy Food For Hammys

PostedMarch 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sambam1027
I got this for my hamster and he likes it. I like it because it offers a verity of foods in one bag. The only thing he doesn't like in the food are the pellets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.