petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals

Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals

Mounts easily to any habitatSpecial no-leak designFloat indicator to easily monitor water levelsStainless steel double ball point tube
Average Customer Rating:
3.372 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(121 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
29
75 out of 121(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Review 1 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ordered two both leaked

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
PetsRFun
from Jacksonville, Florida
Very annoying. Made a huge mess. I can see one being an issue but both, that seems like a poor product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

water bottles

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
buttin4
from bville ny
i bought 3 cause of the great price
i did love that i got 3 colors
but 2 of the 3 leaked the water out so
not happy with them
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great no drip bottle

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
ScottP
from MA.
Have bought other bottles that would drip and wet the bedding. This bottle, when you follow the instructions, do not drip, saving bedding and animals from getting sick from constant contact with wet bedding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not safe for hamsters

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Silver11
This waterbottle is poorly engineered and does not attach well to smaller cages, particularly not using the flimsy wire they give you. The problem is it reclines on the wire, and if you have a small hamster the animal can't provide enough force on the little ball to get any water out of the very long spout. So even though it looks like they're drinking, they're actually not getting any water, or at least, not enough. The product has to be completely vertical or preferably slanted a little bit forward for the animal to drink properly, and this can't be done on wire cages with a top that juts out nor when relying on the ill-fitting wire they provide. After less than a week, my hamster was severely dehydrated, unable to eat or exercise, and was bleeding from her mouth and fingers. I would seriously advise against this product for hamsters or mice, though perhaps it may be fine for the larger small animals.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

waterbottle

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
ozzylover
from westchester,ny
leaks all the time. Holder does not keep it in place. not easy to see when empty. needs a better way to secure bottle
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It leaked

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
CalvyBabyBunny
from Boston, MA
My bunny never took water from it. i think cause hes use to the drinking from a bowl. Plus this thing leaked and it was huge the one i got.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaked

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
LCJ2
from Worcester, MA
Sorry to say that this bottle leaked all over a guinea pig cage requiring completely replacing the bedding. And this is not the first Petco Brand water bottle that has had this problem.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large size is Great for Rabbits

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bunnyluva1020
from Seattle,WA
I have two bunnies and this water bottle is very awesome...It is easy to refill and hang on their cage. I love the little turtle which helps see where the water level is. I don't have to refill the huge water bottle often too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Large Bottle

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
BunBunsTheRabbit
from Orange County, CA
Good Quality for a Large Bottle, doesn't deform easy to hang from cage. Thanks to extra attachment to hold the bottom of bottle onto the cage. Would highly recommend. Love Petco's water bottles because spout is bigger than walmart's water bottles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maggie5641
from Tucson,AZ
I think it works perfect and I love the little turtle!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaky.

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
OwnerLuvs
from Colorado Springs,CO
I looked at all of the other reviews, and I decided to get my guinea pig a new water bottle because my old one wouldn't give him enough water. I figured this was a good one to buy, and it was in-stock at my local PETCO. I bought it, and i had completely drained itself within 30 minutes. I then put this bottle with my old one's metal drinking piece, and it still leaked. My guinea pig started sneezing because it leaked all over his cage, and it was cold. I had to change my cage, and I'm so returning this. It's so leaky, maybe it's just the one I bought, but it was horrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cute but Junky

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
zentripcity
from Largo,FL
Aside from the fact it's got a cool color and a floating turtle water marker this unit is poorly made. Even when directions are followed : a. the unit does not stay secure on the cage bars and falls over. (You have to rig it with tape or ties- which is deemed unsafe to bunnies IMO. b. the water doesn't come out all the time, only when it wants to or if I mess around with it and get it to.
After our bunny went a whole day without water yesterday because it tilted over and no water was coming out I opted to put back the ceramic bowl until we can find something better. I usually love Petco's products but this one is poor junk, a little disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT buy this bottle

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
KLkc
from Kansas City, MO
This bottle leaked its entire contents out into the cage in no time at all. Made the bottom of my rats' cage a complete swamp. Tried putting the lid back on several different times and a fast pace drip continued coming out of the bottle every time. I will be returning this item and not buying another one!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Bottle for the price

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
TuckerRat
from Norfolk, VA
This is a very good first bottle. My rats love it and they use it every night! It does occasionally leak, but only when you first put it in. It also has loads of volume!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
CookyShadowRosieLove
from California
This is a great product. I've had it for two years now. It hooks onto the cage perfectly and only leaks when you put the cap on it incorrectly!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

does not mount on cage

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
piggies227
from West Virgina, WV
My guinea pigs needed new water bottles because when they drink they grip and rip on the water bottle, and have broken the plastic mount, so I had to duck tape it til i received their new ones....
First off they do not fit the cage all they come with is a wire no mount that hooks on then the wire to support it..I also tried to bend the wire so it would fit more tightly on the cage and that didn't work..
The two good things about this product is they don't leak and it has the water level marker other than that i believe they are junk...
so now I'm right back to where i started with duck tape...very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

OK

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
rat135
from New York
I got this bottle for my mice along with a holder. For a month it worked great, with no leaks. After a month, the bottle started leaking and soaking the entire cage until it was empty. Don't get it unless you are going to replace it soon, it was great for one month.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor stability

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
tasha2
The bottle is constantly falling over with the flimsy holder that was sent with it. We had to rig it to keep it up and stable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't bother!

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kenya1621
from Pittsburgh, PA
This product leaks a lot! I've had to change the bedding twice and the water bottle hasn't stops leaking since I bought it! It empties in a few hours. I'll be replacing it ASAP. I've tried every angle and which way, but it never works. It was a complete waste of money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Water Bottles for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only temporary

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bethbunnygilr3
from Virginia
I got this water bottle for my new gerbils, and it leaks A LOT. No matter what angle. I'll be getting a new one soon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>