petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate

Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate

Eco-friendly and renewable coconut husk reptile beddingSubstrate is also ideal for a variety of amphibians and invertebratesCoconut fiber bedding helps to maintain proper humidity levels in your terrariumOld or soiled substrate can be composted or recycled after use
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Review 1 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really bad

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
wayne4948
from Illinois
I can't believe this product gets such a high rating. I started using it today and it sticks to my turtle and messes up his water and I have to like change it 10 times a day. Gets all over his food dish too. I wish I could return it and get something like what I had before but kind of hard since I bought it online.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Substrate

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tortlove
from Wisconsin
I love using this substrate for my Russian tortoise! He loves burrowing in it and it is a safe substrate to have for their species. Definitely recommend for anyone looking for a substrate for their desert tortoise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome (So Far)

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
HermitCrabber432
from Redford, Michigan
I just bought this yesterday and mixed it with my play sand for my hermit crab tank, the mixture looks amazing like marble cake! The Hermit's don;t seem to mind it since in the small 10 gallon they use to have they only had play sand, i also put some on the top of the mix to make it look awesomer, they haven't dug down yet like they did in their other one but now they are actually sleeping on the surface so i finally can see them now! Awesome product, i recommend to mix with sand, if given to a Hermit Crab!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

coconut substrate

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
shanon
it is very much like dirt in consistency, and though i am still struggling to keep the humidity level up with this product, she loves to burrow down into it. it does get everywhere and stick to her a little, which is a pain to clean up, but she does not seem to mind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than dirt

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
reptilefreak
from dallas, tx
Holds humidity and is less likely to grow mold/mildew. My Tarantuls and geckos love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good substrate for our tortoise during the winter.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Oneupathome
from Reno, NV
We use this coconut substrate for our tortoise when it gets too cold outside for him. It does a great job absorbing odors and he enjoys burrowing into it.
My only complaint is that the coconut is a fine powder and leaves a layer of dust on everything. I swear this used to be available in a shredded form as opposed to the powder, but I can't find it anymore. I would much rather have the shredded coconut, but this is the next best thing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

coconut fiber

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
petdet
from Hanover, Indiana
I am extremeley happy with this product. There is so much it will last at least a year.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for humidity lizards

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
StevenStamkosRules
from United States, United States
I have been using eco earth in my crested gecko's tank for about a month now, and he seems to be comfortable on it, and it looks fairly nice. It helps with humidity which is great for crested geckos. I would definitely recommend this to any other crested gecko owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great substrate

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
coolhl7
great substrate for herps that require
higher humidity levels....
smells good, easy to clean, and holds moisture well without mold formation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect substrate

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
ZooEducator
I use Zoo Med Eco Earth successfully with my scorpions, millipedes, European legless lizards, salamanders, frogs and a few snakes. I've never had a problem with oils, impactions or cleanliness. I can adjust the level of moisture based on the needs of the animal I am using it with. It really is the perfect substrate!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good substrate!

PostedJune 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
ljlarl
from Minnesota
I have salamanders in a 20 gallon tank and they LOVE this stuff. It is quite messy until it all becomes moist (sticking to their bodies) but once it is properly hydrated, it is awesome! It's loose enough for them to easily dig, but still holds together well so their burrows remain intact.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic substrate

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
shralper
from Torrance, CA
My tarantulas love this substrate, great for burrowing and moisture retention highly recommended product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hermit crab soil

PostedSeptember 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
whiskers
from Pukwana, SD
There was a lot in the bag,instead of buying the hermit crab soil cakes. save money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

go all eco earth

PostedAugust 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
hermie5687
i use eco earth and sand i think thats a good combo but i upgrading my cage to a 15 or 20 gallon tank and im going to go all eco earth because it light natural and holds humidity and its a low price much better then sand plus Ive heard that zilla or zoo med or some brands like that attracts mites and this stuff is just coconut fiber so it probable wont
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EE is easy

PostedMarch 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
megamelfina
Eco Earth is so much lighter and easier to clean then sand, and my hermit crabs love it for digging and eating. Much easier to manage then a sand terrarium!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stuff!

PostedFebruary 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
lovinlife
We had sand in our hermit crab tank for the longest time. We saw this last week while we were looking around for new stuff for them. We took all the sand out put this in there and they just LOVE it! they are SOOOO much more active. they love to burrow underneath this as well. its a must have! so much better than the sand for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedJanuary 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roho
This is the best choice of substrate for any tropical reptile, amphibian, or invertabrate. Tree frogs, horned frogs, terrestrial newts, salamanders, tropical geckos, tropical skinks (PERFECT FOR FIRE SKINKS), water dragons and other agamids, iguanas, anoles, tarantulas, and more will be content on this non-abrasive and humidity holding substrate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
bunnygirl11
This is a great product. i used to use it for my hermit crabs. But now i use sand and Zoo Med Eco Loose Cocnut Fiber Substrate the sand holds moisture and the coco fiber is so natural. Once i saw one of my crabs eating some of it. If you have hermies get This prodict it is so natural!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tarantula's Paradise!

PostedOctober 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Niko
from Pittsburgh, PA
My g. rosea and a. versicolor LOVE this bedding. They throw it around everywhere and have a good ol' time. My h. lividium likes to burrow in it, too. Great stuff for T's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Substrate

PostedAugust 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pink101
from Johnstown, PA
I got this substrate for my hermit crabs and they love it a lot. It is perfect for molting and burrowing for the crabs. Also, it keeps the humitity very well whenever you mist it. Please buy this for all types of hermit crabs!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>