petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food

For breeds 50+ poundsControlled caloriesHighly digestibleOptimal kibble shape & sizeFortified with vitamins & mineralsNo corn, wheat, or by-products
Average Customer Rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been through countless bags

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
DobeMommy
from Boston, MA
Switched our dobe to this food after a recommendation from the vet after dealing with some of her gas issues. :P On her old food (taste of the wild...still a very good food ingredient-wise, just not for our dog) she had inconsistent stools, horrible gassiness and she just didn't like the taste. She'd regularly leave it in her bowl until she saw nothing better was coming or until we added canned food. With castor & pollux she will eat with or without add-ins and a true testament to how good it is, is that the cats will try to tear through the bag to get to the food (they never went near her old food). The real bonus (for us) is that her gassiness has gone down considerably and her stools are much more consistent.
What we mix-in with her dog food to switch it up and boost nutrients: tripett's canned tripe, Dr. Harvey's canine health (add your own meat and oil), and honest kitchen. Using these as add-ins only makes feeding a large dog affordable as it stretches out the food considerably.
Please note that while castor & pollux does carry an organic line (their organix products...it's what our cats eat), their ultramix is NOT organic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

keeps my dog looking and playing like a puppy

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
mefalcon
from leominster, ma
Great food. Keeps my dog in great shape! She only visits the vet once a year for her physical.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This dog food is a great nutritional product.

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ziggystardust
from Moreno Valley, CA.
My dog loves this dog food made by Castor and Pollux. Apollo our golden retriever mix is a very finicky dog when it comes to his kibble. We have to sometimes switch between other organic brands and Ultramix for large breeds. He does prefer the Ultramix because of the banana chips and other savory bite size pieces. I do notice that he has an allergy to wheat, corn and soy, so this product is great! Apollo's coat is also very shiny with no dandruff when we use this dog food. Thanks, Castor & Pollox.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The absolute best

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
bigdoglovers
from New Hyde Park NY
My 6 year old 80 pound mixed lab is a very fussy eater. We tried many dog foods over the years and after a short while, he walked away from the bowl. This food was different. BJ has been eating this food for a good 3 years now and every day does a doggie dance when he sees the bowl. Phenomenal. He has been able to maintain his weight and has high energy. He loves to dance in the street after eating! Try this for your large breed. It's a WINNER!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedMay 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phyllis
from Michigan
My mixed lab loves this food. It's nutritious & keeps her skin healthy. She's been eating this dog food, mixed with Natural Balance, for 6 years & she's doing great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Ingredients!

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
chiefscoutkid
from Kansas City, MO
I have a year old golden retriever. He is very weird when it comes to his food. He does not chomp down his food like a lot of dogs, he's slow and may even come back later after eating a couple mouth fulls. He'll stop eating his food after a bag of the same food. Vet told me to stop changing his food and he'll eat when he's hungry but then lost 10 pounds! Seeing this was not healthy vet told me to go a head and try to find something he would eat. I came to the conclusion of just changing his food once in awhile and putting a can of wet food with his dry food. I did research for 4 months before finding this food. It has the best ingredients and is even shaped like hearts! I love how it has real dried fruits and veggies in it. That way its like a special treat in each bowl of food. So far, even though he still does not chomp it down, he has not gotten tired of his food. I've noticed harder stools and have had tons of comments on how shiny and soft his coat is! He also seems to be itching less and sleeping better! After trying over 10 different brands..this food has had the best results! Pricey but worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Wonders

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cowgirl14
I adopted a bordeaux and he was on organic food. The food, though full of heathy things, was not good for my dog. It dried his skin out terrible, he was scratching until he had scabs, and this was not just hot spots or allegeries. It also gave him diarehha very badly and I had to mix yogurt in with it every time he ate. (2x) a day. I began looking for something that would be healthy and natural for him that wouldn't dry out his skin and would help with his stools. I came across this food and decided to try it out. Now it does take time to actually see full effects on your beloved friend. He has been on this food for about 3 weeks and he doesnt need yogurt, what scabs he had are gone and he doesnt scratch like he did. His coat is softer and it is shiny. This food works wonders for him and he seems to like it too. I would recommend this for large pets especially if they are having skin & stool issues with other foods.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liking this dog food...

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
ChrisAnneB
I've bought this brand/type of dog food twice already and my dogs really seem to like it. I've got a 7 year old 60 pound hound mix and the other is a 5 year old 100 pound Rottie/Chow mix. Usually my hound mix doesn't stand at her bowl and eat when it's feeding time, but with this food she eats all of it at one time. My other dog, he's such an emotional eater, he'll eat whenever. I would have to say that I'm happy with this food. The ingredients seem good, a little pricey, but nothing is to good for my dogs. ;-) I'm finding that I'm not having to feed them as much food and that it really does seem like they are pooping less and it's more solid. I just wanted to find a dog good that had good quality ingredients and that they liked. Of course at times I'll add a bit of meat or chicken and veggies in there just to "spice" it up a bit, but for the most part I give it to them right out of the bag and they haven't complained. My hound mix is a pretty picky eater, but she eats it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Food

PostedJanuary 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dukester
I'm amaized at how well my Dane has done on this food. No more skin problems, his coat is beautiful and his activity level is always at peak. The brand X I was recommended to feed my Dane when I got him just didn't cut it and I read about this food and tried it and wouldn't feed my Dog anyother. Highly recommend for large breeds like Great Danes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best i've found anywhere!!!

PostedDecember 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
gonementally2day
this immediately gave him firmer stools and less gas! he loves the taste and the banana chips and other fruit and veggies. his coat only got even better than before and his itching went down!!! couldn't find a bad review on this product anywhere........that's cause it's that good!!!!! try it price-wise it's great and product-wise you can't ask for better!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST FOOD - highly recommended 4 ur cat & dog

PostedNovember 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
SCHATZE
from PORTLAND. oregon, usa
ever since ive fed my dog and cat this food ive noticed a huge diff in their coat, very shiny and less allergies. i have a rotty and a cat and i feed them both, they love it. so much my cat will pinch the dog food, now thats something.
its better than some of the other brands that arent holistic/organic like royal canin. I buy this for about $37 tops for a 30 pound bag at petco, very impressive.
also if you visit their website they have a pet of the month, if you win you get sent some cool gifts for the pets and feel free to ask for a coupon if you want to try it.
this company is excellent, very nice people and its nice to know you know they care about where the ingredients come from.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS FOOD TO EVERYONE AND CANT EMPHASIZE ENOUGH on how good it is.
blueberries, payaya, bananas, acidiphoulus, glucosaime just to mention a few of the ingredients, wow my pets eat better than me.
This is a pic of my rotty with the pet of the month gift box she received. Schatze will be on their Dec 14th 2008 at the castor & pollux website. Also the first photo is her at 5 1/2wks old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.