petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan

Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan

Covered cat litter box with high-back pan for containing scatterEquipped with a no latch, secure locking lidHeavy-duty construction infused with Microban for resistance to mold, mildew and odor-causing bacteriaAssorted pan colorsEco-friendly kitty litter box with privacy hoodMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.472 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
10
22 out of 36(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Review 1 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
luvtee
from New York, NY
I bought two of these litter boxes in the jumbo size at a Petco store only because I am not able to choose the color of the pan if I ordered online. These litter boxes are great -- because (1) the front panel stops a lot of the litter from scattering all over the floor , (2) they give my cat the privacy he prefers when he uses it (3) they are very easy to clean and smooth to the touch (4) it has a carrying handle on the top to easily move it to the location you prefer or for cleaning purposes and (5) my cat just prefers a large jumbo size litter box to do his business and that is roomy inside for him to move and scratch.which this allows him to do. The trick to latching the top cover to the pan is to lift up the liner so it doesn't hang over on the side near the latches. If you do this -- the hood latches very securely to the pan and you will be able to easily move and lift this litter box to where you prefer to locate it. Highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big Disappointment

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pat4pets
from NJ
I should have heeded other reviews I read. They were right. The locking clips that connect the top and bottom of this box are inadequate. The box doesn't even stay connected when the box is empty, much less when it has litter in it. This makes it unusable for me. I have to refill the box on the first floor and then take it upstairs. This box is a disaster. It doesn't stay connected. In addition, the cats scoot a lot of litter out even though it's covered. I'm thinking of donating it to the animal shelter with the caveat that it should be used bottom only as an open box. Oh well. Live and learn.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs quality

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
forourcats
from Wis.
First off, don't let the adds fool you about, "give your feline the privacy they want"(with an enclosed box). CATS DONT CARE. They will try to do their thing in the litter box while you are cleaning it. We use it to control odors and flying litter.
Second, ABOUT THIS LITTER BOX, order the jumbo. This was a large and it is small to me. If it were an open litter pan it's not a problem but I believe it is cramped when enclosed. Also - the latch system ... Be careful, don't trust it. You need to be very sure you pressed hard and it is latched or you WILL end up with a mess if you try to carry it. Lastly, the flapping door, it's just a small vinyl strip than hangs. It truly doesn't close tight but is sufficient.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Choice

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
darbaby
from Toms River, N .J.
I was looking for a kitty pan that was spacious, attractive and tall enough for my tallest cats, and at the same time pleasing in appearance. I took a guess that this one would be that littler pain and I was right. It was an excellent choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Litter box

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chuck1966
from NY
This item is a piece of junk. Cheaply made and doesn't even stay locked in place. Cover comes right off. The flap door another cheaply done think. It fell off in the first hour of my cat using it. F+ on this. A waste of money if I ever seen one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value for the price

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelesp
from Huntington, NY
Fancy litter boxes are a waste of money. This litter box is made of sturdy construction, making it a good value for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purrfect litter box!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
RachelRL
from Baltimore, MD
When I was little, I had a cat who, quite literally, shoveled litter out of the box with her paws (even with a litter box that had very high sides). Knowing this, I decided that this pan will be the best way to go when I adopt cats soon because it's enclosed with a lid and a flap at the entrance (which will keep odors contained a bit as well). It's not overly large or wide and fits nicely in my small apartment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Item not as pictured

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
truBfan
from Minnesota
I am sure this box functions properly; however a main factor in why I choose this box was the color it is pictured as a grey bottom with cream/white hood. I received a blue bottom with a cream/white hood...this clashes with my home and because I do not have a hidden location I wanted something that will blend in as best as a litter box can. I would recommend in store purchase only because item does not match picture.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
2of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
4keekats
from OKC
I have to keep this box in my living room. I tug on the handle to make sure the lid is secure for carry. Yep its on tight. Proceed to move it and it snaps off and dumps dirty litter all over my carpet!
This happened twice! And its only 3 months old this last time it dumped litter all over my floor though it broke the bottom piece broke in half.
And no the box was not at full capacity. Save yourself some grief.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
ColbyLebron2
from Connecticut
This box is a good value and does its job! Sometimes I have a hard time locking the top on, but once I line it up better, it works fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Top is cheap

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Petsmar1
from Florida
I love the depth of the bottom of the litter box. The top I don't use. It does not stay on tightly. Also, the top is poorly finished. There are pieces of plastic that need to be trimmed or they could scratch the cat. I only have one adult cat so I just use the botton part because it is deep.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large enough for my 18lb cat

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tommy1TJ2
from Toms River, NJ
This litter box is more than I expected. It has a large opening for easy in and easy out. I especially like the higher back. I purchased two of them since I have three cats. And the charcoal filter is a plus for reducing odors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter pan

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
icecreamlover
The problem we had with our old ones was that our cat would aim high when he urinated and urine would leak out between the top and bottom pieces. No problems so far with these new litter pans.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Petco Jumbo Deluxe Covered Litter Pan

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
ownerofcat
from Holden, MA
The side tabs that help hold the top break off very easily. The store does not carry filters that fit the Jumbo size properly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enclosed Cat Box

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sunmore
from Richmond VA
I have always relyed on the Petmate brand.......Box is large and love the material is made of. Easy to clean and clay litter clean right off. Not like some boxes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

*****

PostedJune 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
crmsndawn
Great buy! Previously purchased an open litter pan, and had litter scattered everywhere around the box afterwards due to overly enthusiastic covering/burying. This one is no mess, and I only need to vacuum the mat in front once a day. Also there is no smell at all, even at the end of the day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Litter Pan

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Key87
from Fort Smith,, AR
I bought this Litter Pan after looking at quite a few. I wanted one that served it's purpose, and was aesthetically pleasing.
And luckily this product has done both very well.
It's size is perfect for my cat. He loves the privacy, and i like keeping everything has hidden as possible. :)
It's also very sturdy, which makes cleaning easier.
I would definitely suggest this product for any happy cat owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Box Ever

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
whsknight
from Boynton Beach, FL
I love this box! Has plenty of room for my 3 cats and very easy to clean. Top snaps off in seconds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problem with Lid

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
cmbaba
Lid doesn't lock as it should. Our small kitten knocked it off and she's tiny! Cat litter everywhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Banker
from San Pedro, Ca.
We have two cats. One is 17 lbs. We have had a Petmate Deluxe litter pan in the dining room for 2 years. We just purchased another one for the bedroom. It never has any odor and is plenty roomy for our largest cat. The tall sides of the bottom piece do not allow any leakage on the carpet. The lid is easily removed for cleaning and it is easy to change the filter. The colors are very pretty.
I love this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>