petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan

Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan

Covered cat litter box with high-back pan for containing scatterEquipped with a no latch, secure locking lidHeavy-duty construction infused with Microban for resistance to mold, mildew and odor-causing bacteriaAssorted pan colorsEco-friendly kitty litter box with privacy hoodMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.568 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
11
28 out of 44(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Review 1 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jumbo is never in stores

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Belen, NM
Great product, been using these boxes for seven years. I recently tried to change box styles and the cats wouldn't have it. So we're back to these. But really, they are great! I like the high backs and the size. It's hard to find XL or jumbo boxes in the store, so I always order online here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lid Hard to Put on, Litter Sticks to Sides

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I bought 2 of these for my siamese cats. The "used" litter sticks to the sides and is very hard to get off. I have tried 5 different kinds of litter and it still does this.
The lids are hard to get on/off and makes a hassle for cleaning. Very cheaply made for the price also.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jumbo size is perfect for big cats!

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WA
I have a fat and tall cat. He is 16lbs. He fits comfortably in the jumbo sized litter box. The quality of the box is pretty good. The cover attaches to the bottom easily. Taking the cover off is easy too. I can pick up the box by the handle with litter inside and it stays connected. My two cats have never had a flap on the opening before. They didn't understand how to get in so I pushed them in to show them the flap moves. One got out fine and one meowed until I moved the flap. I took the flap off so they could get used to the new box. I put the flap back on a week later and they both use the box with the flap just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product a disappointment

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nevada
The main problem with this enclosed litter pan is that the lid is difficult to fit and latch. There are only two latches on the sides and the contact is poor. The lid would not stay on.
On the plus side the high back helps keep the litter in the pan and the smooth interior is easy to scoop and clean.
Have decided to keep the product, but we are using it without the lid since we can place the pan in a secluded area for the privacy loving cat in our home. A poor compromise at best.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Design of product is great with adult cats

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Western PA
The sides have a "lip" to keep urine from leaking to the outside which makes it perfect for those felines that hit the walls. The higher back is a plus since they all go to the back wall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lake Mary, FL
I bought a hooded litter box because my cat lives outside, but on our screened lanai so I needed something to keep out over-zealos rain. This is a great solution and I am very pleased. No issue at all with how well top and bottom fit and click together securely. I put it in the same spot as the old one and kept the door flap off at first until he felt safe. Having a filer will be nice, too. I do wish they let you pick the color though. I ended up with green one but would have much preferred black, gray or blue, and don.t understand why color choice would be so hard to fulfill. Still, a good product for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Cat Litter Box

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco
I have had this box now for five years, and am going to now replace & buy another one. I have two, big healthy cats, & I have never had a problem with the top connecting to the lower box. It has a secure fit. I read in the other reviews that some people said it didn't lock right, but I never had that problem. This is big and roomy, and very easy to clean. It keeps the floor in front of it clean also which is very important to me. I clean the box once a day, & every week dump the old litter and wash out the interior. It's a hard material and wipes out very easy & makes it very easy to clean. I don't like the open pan cat boxes and this one is just perfect. If I did have a problem with the top not latching to the bottom, I would definitely send it back, but that didn't happen with mine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jumbo Covered Litter Box

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wayne, NJ
I recently adopted a rescued cat who weighs 9 pounds and urinates at or over the top edge of the litter box. After a few days of cleaning up the mess, I ordered the jumbo covered litter box. A couple days of introduction without the cover, and then with the cover on (and no other place to go!) and both my cats accept it. The heavier cat is still urinating "high" - but everything stays inside and cleaning up is much easier.
The only suggestion I'd consider offering: the rounded "corners" are difficult to get into with a scoop. Straight corners might be easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I bought two of these litter boxes in the jumbo size at a Petco store only because I am not able to choose the color of the pan if I ordered online. These litter boxes are great -- because (1) the front panel stops a lot of the litter from scattering all over the floor , (2) they give my cat the privacy he prefers when he uses it (3) they are very easy to clean and smooth to the touch (4) it has a carrying handle on the top to easily move it to the location you prefer or for cleaning purposes and (5) my cat just prefers a large jumbo size litter box to do his business and that is roomy inside for him to move and scratch.which this allows him to do. The trick to latching the top cover to the pan is to lift up the liner so it doesn't hang over on the side near the latches. If you do this -- the hood latches very securely to the pan and you will be able to easily move and lift this litter box to where you prefer to locate it. Highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big Disappointment

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
I should have heeded other reviews I read. They were right. The locking clips that connect the top and bottom of this box are inadequate. The box doesn't even stay connected when the box is empty, much less when it has litter in it. This makes it unusable for me. I have to refill the box on the first floor and then take it upstairs. This box is a disaster. It doesn't stay connected. In addition, the cats scoot a lot of litter out even though it's covered. I'm thinking of donating it to the animal shelter with the caveat that it should be used bottom only as an open box. Oh well. Live and learn.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs quality

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wis.
First off, don't let the adds fool you about, "give your feline the privacy they want"(with an enclosed box). CATS DONT CARE. They will try to do their thing in the litter box while you are cleaning it. We use it to control odors and flying litter.
Second, ABOUT THIS LITTER BOX, order the jumbo. This was a large and it is small to me. If it were an open litter pan it's not a problem but I believe it is cramped when enclosed. Also - the latch system ... Be careful, don't trust it. You need to be very sure you pressed hard and it is latched or you WILL end up with a mess if you try to carry it. Lastly, the flapping door, it's just a small vinyl strip than hangs. It truly doesn't close tight but is sufficient.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Choice

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Toms River, N .J.
I was looking for a kitty pan that was spacious, attractive and tall enough for my tallest cats, and at the same time pleasing in appearance. I took a guess that this one would be that littler pain and I was right. It was an excellent choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Litter box

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NY
This item is a piece of junk. Cheaply made and doesn't even stay locked in place. Cover comes right off. The flap door another cheaply done think. It fell off in the first hour of my cat using it. F+ on this. A waste of money if I ever seen one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value for the price

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Huntington, NY
Fancy litter boxes are a waste of money. This litter box is made of sturdy construction, making it a good value for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purrfect litter box!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
When I was little, I had a cat who, quite literally, shoveled litter out of the box with her paws (even with a litter box that had very high sides). Knowing this, I decided that this pan will be the best way to go when I adopt cats soon because it's enclosed with a lid and a flap at the entrance (which will keep odors contained a bit as well). It's not overly large or wide and fits nicely in my small apartment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Item not as pictured

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
I am sure this box functions properly; however a main factor in why I choose this box was the color it is pictured as a grey bottom with cream/white hood. I received a blue bottom with a cream/white hood...this clashes with my home and because I do not have a hidden location I wanted something that will blend in as best as a litter box can. I would recommend in store purchase only because item does not match picture.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-15points
2of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from OKC
I have to keep this box in my living room. I tug on the handle to make sure the lid is secure for carry. Yep its on tight. Proceed to move it and it snaps off and dumps dirty litter all over my carpet!
This happened twice! And its only 3 months old this last time it dumped litter all over my floor though it broke the bottom piece broke in half.
And no the box was not at full capacity. Save yourself some grief.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
This box is a good value and does its job! Sometimes I have a hard time locking the top on, but once I line it up better, it works fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Top is cheap

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I love the depth of the bottom of the litter box. The top I don't use. It does not stay on tightly. Also, the top is poorly finished. There are pieces of plastic that need to be trimmed or they could scratch the cat. I only have one adult cat so I just use the botton part because it is deep.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large enough for my 18lb cat

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Toms River, NJ
This litter box is more than I expected. It has a large opening for easy in and easy out. I especially like the higher back. I purchased two of them since I have three cats. And the charcoal filter is a plus for reducing odors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>