petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan

Covered cat litter box with high-back pan for containing scatterEquipped with a no latch, secure locking lidAssorted pan colorsEco-friendly kitty litter box with privacy hoodMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
11
35 out of 55(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Review 1 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
I am very content with the product. It's big enough for 2 cats and needed a new one! the only thing is that is a little too low at front where the cats go in so the litter itself comes when they scratch to clean their mess, I find myself cleaning more of the litter on the floor, other than that it's good and the perfect size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jumbo

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from IL
My only complaint is that when I first ordered, I ordered the Large as the measurements given online matched what I already had. When they arrived, they were too small and not the measurements given. I had to send those back and order the jumbo. But I like the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

kinda flimsy

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
This litter box is pretty flimsy. You'd be better off spending a few more dollars for a better made box. I don't know what is deluxe about it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enclosed Litter Pan

PostedJune 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from California
Our family fosters kittens and have purchased a few of these. The kittens use them immediately and we have not had any problems with using other areas in the house. I think they like the enclosed feeling. I will buy more if I need them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Vacaville, CA
Item is as described. Attractive, spacious, easy to use, and reasonably priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Litter, Litter Everywhere!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
I very rarely write reviews of any product. However, I was really excited about this product and very disappointed only a few days after the purchase. I bought this litter box with the hope that it would CONTAIN the litter inside-not scatter it across the floor even further! One of my cats is quite the litter kicker so I really needed something that would keep it inside the box but this didn't do the trick. I have 3 cats who use this box along side of a litter box with the hole in the top-I'm wishing that I'd gotten another one of those instead.
It is really big, so I do like the size.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter box ever!

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Paradise, CA
I was having trouble with my cats (2) and their litter boxes. What I didn't realize was that as adults they needed a larger box. This box gives them adequate room to "do" their business without making a mess. I was worried they wouldn't like the flap that works like a door but it was no problem at all. Even the escape of loose litter has been curbed. I purchased two littler boxes because I have the two cats and information says they each should have their own. Great purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Faulty door flap

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Redding, CA
The flap door just hangs on two stubs and falls off easily into the litter pan. Don't buy this expecting to keep the door flap on it. The large size is very nice.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deluxe litter pan

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
I ordered the largest size litter pan available since one of my cats is 20lbs. He fits inside easily without hanging half out of the box. The lid attaches easily and securely. The high back on the lower pan is a huge plus to reduce messes. Plan to order another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
Cats love this and so do we! Great price and happy with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Hood

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from staten island ny
Impossible to make hood stay on, latches don't latch good, horrible design, it's going back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jumbo is never in stores

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Belen, NM
Great product, been using these boxes for seven years. I recently tried to change box styles and the cats wouldn't have it. So we're back to these. But really, they are great! I like the high backs and the size. It's hard to find XL or jumbo boxes in the store, so I always order online here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lid Hard to Put on, Litter Sticks to Sides

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I bought 2 of these for my siamese cats. The "used" litter sticks to the sides and is very hard to get off. I have tried 5 different kinds of litter and it still does this.
The lids are hard to get on/off and makes a hassle for cleaning. Very cheaply made for the price also.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jumbo size is perfect for big cats!

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WA
I have a fat and tall cat. He is 16lbs. He fits comfortably in the jumbo sized litter box. The quality of the box is pretty good. The cover attaches to the bottom easily. Taking the cover off is easy too. I can pick up the box by the handle with litter inside and it stays connected. My two cats have never had a flap on the opening before. They didn't understand how to get in so I pushed them in to show them the flap moves. One got out fine and one meowed until I moved the flap. I took the flap off so they could get used to the new box. I put the flap back on a week later and they both use the box with the flap just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product a disappointment

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nevada
The main problem with this enclosed litter pan is that the lid is difficult to fit and latch. There are only two latches on the sides and the contact is poor. The lid would not stay on.
On the plus side the high back helps keep the litter in the pan and the smooth interior is easy to scoop and clean.
Have decided to keep the product, but we are using it without the lid since we can place the pan in a secluded area for the privacy loving cat in our home. A poor compromise at best.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Design of product is great with adult cats

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Western PA
The sides have a "lip" to keep urine from leaking to the outside which makes it perfect for those felines that hit the walls. The higher back is a plus since they all go to the back wall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lake Mary, FL
I bought a hooded litter box because my cat lives outside, but on our screened lanai so I needed something to keep out over-zealos rain. This is a great solution and I am very pleased. No issue at all with how well top and bottom fit and click together securely. I put it in the same spot as the old one and kept the door flap off at first until he felt safe. Having a filer will be nice, too. I do wish they let you pick the color though. I ended up with green one but would have much preferred black, gray or blue, and don.t understand why color choice would be so hard to fulfill. Still, a good product for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Cat Litter Box

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco
I have had this box now for five years, and am going to now replace & buy another one. I have two, big healthy cats, & I have never had a problem with the top connecting to the lower box. It has a secure fit. I read in the other reviews that some people said it didn't lock right, but I never had that problem. This is big and roomy, and very easy to clean. It keeps the floor in front of it clean also which is very important to me. I clean the box once a day, & every week dump the old litter and wash out the interior. It's a hard material and wipes out very easy & makes it very easy to clean. I don't like the open pan cat boxes and this one is just perfect. If I did have a problem with the top not latching to the bottom, I would definitely send it back, but that didn't happen with mine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jumbo Covered Litter Box

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wayne, NJ
I recently adopted a rescued cat who weighs 9 pounds and urinates at or over the top edge of the litter box. After a few days of cleaning up the mess, I ordered the jumbo covered litter box. A couple days of introduction without the cover, and then with the cover on (and no other place to go!) and both my cats accept it. The heavier cat is still urinating "high" - but everything stays inside and cleaning up is much easier.
The only suggestion I'd consider offering: the rounded "corners" are difficult to get into with a scoop. Straight corners might be easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Deluxe Enclosed Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I bought two of these litter boxes in the jumbo size at a Petco store only because I am not able to choose the color of the pan if I ordered online. These litter boxes are great -- because (1) the front panel stops a lot of the litter from scattering all over the floor , (2) they give my cat the privacy he prefers when he uses it (3) they are very easy to clean and smooth to the touch (4) it has a carrying handle on the top to easily move it to the location you prefer or for cleaning purposes and (5) my cat just prefers a large jumbo size litter box to do his business and that is roomy inside for him to move and scratch.which this allows him to do. The trick to latching the top cover to the pan is to lift up the liner so it doesn't hang over on the side near the latches. If you do this -- the hood latches very securely to the pan and you will be able to easily move and lift this litter box to where you prefer to locate it. Highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>