petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black

Allows your pet greater freedom while still being under your supervisionEasily control the length of the leash with the push of a buttonComes with a rugged body design and a wide tape style leash
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
8
6 out of 16(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Review 1 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Look to another brand

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Loveland, co
Wish I would have read the reviews on the new model! I had an original for the past 11 years and it worked great............but this new design has a very week spring, and will not retract very well once pulled out, so both the dog and I are stumbling over it and getting entangled. I will definitely read the reviews on alternative retractable's.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy on the hands

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Corpus Christi TX
I looked for some time for a new leash. I was very pleased when I found this leash as the stop button is on the inside of the handle as opposed to the rest of the leashes with the button up on top. I have arthritis in my thumbs and this is so much easier to squeeze to control than to have to push down with my thumb. It certainly fits the bill for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Broke after a few months.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
I bought this leash less than 3 months ago for my dog. To be fair, she is strong and hard on leashes, but usually our leashes last at least 6 months. I was walking her and the leash broke, and she wasn't even pulling on it. The spring inside must have broken, because the leash stopped retracting. I won't buy this brand again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Slow or NO Rewind

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Durham, NC
Does not operate smoothly. The lead line does not retract 95% of the time. The button to stop lead movement on top- does not releash easily- must work with two hands to operate this.?retractractable leash. Would not recommend this brand
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT worth the price I paid

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from SF,CA
I have a 3 month old puppy. I originally purchased a regular leash wich worked fine for our puppy but decided to purchase a retractible one too. Well at the time I purchased it I paid around $25-30 dollars..for that price I would have expected this to last at least a year! We only started using it 3 weeks ago! Today it snapped in half! I guess Im just disappointed that I expected a stronger nylon for the price and the fact that he is so young and we were simply walking and it snapped it half...its just so annoying!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, Va
Have purchased two of these (1 medium, 1 large) for my 28 pound schnoodle. Both of the leashes broke at the clip when the dog started to run and the locking mechanism was engaged.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best one yet

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
well made and long enough for dog to wander a little bit away from you. Good connections
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

doesn't last

PostedJanuary 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
We decided on this leash because our puppy chewed through the Flexi leash she had. My son also complained that the flexi was not comfortable for his big hand. Indeed, we both found this leash's soft grip to be very comfortable. I also liked the trigger stop button. It was convenient and worked well (although sometimes I pushed by accident). Then after two weeks, I noticed that the cord was fraying in one place. It could have been because our puppy would catch the leash on our cars, picnic table and other things when she was running around. Still the flexi leash stood up to it. I put duct tape over the fray, but I don't know how long it will last.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

awkward to use

PostedNovember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
The button is in an awkward place on the inside where you grip. Tend to keep hitting it when I don't want to then it locks when I don't want it to
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

petmate retractable leash-don't buy

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
from new hampshire
We purchased this product for our rottie because it was for large dogs. When you want it to retract, it won't. Sometimes we have to manually pull out the trigger for it to work. Sorry but when you have a big dog, you need it to work fast sometimes. Do not like this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Retractable Leash

PostedJuly 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have had this leash for my dog for a while now and it is comfortable to hold. The one finger trigger brake mechanism works very well and it gave me a good command over my Rottweiler when walking him. Overall its and excellent leash for the price as long as your dog does not chew it up. My dog just chewed his and now I'm off to get him another one.
:-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Walkabout tape retractable lead

PostedOctober 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Two leads, rated for large dogs have not lasted. Seem strong, but retact mechanism has not worked long.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Walk about leash

PostedSeptember 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
I bought one of these as it felt comfortable to hold however the belt is already fraying and it keeps getting stuck. This has been the worst leash I have had in 20 yrs of dog ownership.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Leash

PostedAugust 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
This was gift for my neighbor, since my dog chewed through hers! She has raved over this leash and has said that it is longer and more durable that the old one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Leash

PostedMay 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
I got this when I first got my puppy at 10 weeks. He's 6 months now and the leash has been great until he decided to eat it one day! So I'm here buying a second one! So it's a great leash until your dog decides it's a new chew toy!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Walkabout Wide Retractable Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Leash!

PostedMay 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
I got this leash for my bichon/shih-tzu mix puppy. I wanted to wait for a retractable leash until she weighed a little more so it wouldn't strain her. Her nylon leash kept tangling under her legs so I decided to go ahead and purchase this leash. It works great - I use it with a harness and it doesn't strain her at all. It doesn't tangle and its really comfortable for me to hold!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.