petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob

Features bunches of colored ropeDifferent types and sizes of wood pieces to keep birds occupiedMade with natural cotton rope, wood and pet-safe food coloringSpecially designed bird toys that help to satisfy your pet bird's natural pecking instinctIncludes a sturdy, durable metal clasp that attaches to any wire cageFun pet bird toys that are ideal for small parrots and medium to large sized birds
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Review 1 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute at best.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
When they say five inches, they're counting the thing that attaches it to your cage. The threads seem short enough that they won't get pulled out and then wrapped around a foot or stuck between wing feathers like other shred toys, however. The other materials seem safe and like something most birds would enjoy chewing on, and aren't too thick to turn smaller birds away from doing so. If anything, at least it won't scare our little parrotlet- he thinks he's three times his size, when really, he's as big as this toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun Bird Toy!

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Conures like this toy, but they don't play with it very often. They have about 50 percent interest in this toy. But when they DO play with it, they look like they're having loads of fun! They'll bite it and dangle by one foot on it. The hook that you use to hang it in a cage can be easily come undone by my birds, however they never come off the cage! Maybe it's just the ones I bought. Overall, my birds seem pleased with this toy. It's not their favorite, but they do enjoy this toy when they feel like playing with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank Kabob!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mass, MA
Gabby, my parakeet, has destroyed two other toys and when I placed a stonger toy for him to destory he stayed away from it for a week not knowing what it was, thinking maybe another bird of some sort moved in...now he loves it..he climbs on it, talks to it, pecks at it and even cuddles it..I know this toy will last a very long time to come. Thank you for making a safe, stronger toy for Gabby to enjoy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

We'll see

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from So. Cal
My parakeets still haven't discovered what it's for but i'm sure they will in time. It seems like a good buy, like the size of it and the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shaggy Kabob

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from pittsburgh
I got this toy for my small Conure, and as soon as I got it, she starting to grab and play w/it, It is a good buy, normally she is very leary of anything new I put into her cage, but this was not scarey to her, glad I got it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Product For Other Birds

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fayetteville, NC
The toy seems very sturdy, but my african grey wanted nothing to do with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Toy

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Lodi, NJ
My Tiel loves this toy. He especially likes biting the leather and bark off the wood.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

finches don't like.

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NY
my finches peck at it now and again but its mostly just a toy to sit on rather than play with.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

shaggy kabbob

PostedJune 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Sparks, NV
My Jenday Conure loves the shaggy kabbob to cuddle and chew upon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice toy

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Buffalo, ny
My parrotlet loves shredding this toy - it has paper wrappers attached.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

good for small birds

PostedMay 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
from OC, CA
This toy would be good for smaller birds, but for a triton cockatoo, it was destroyed in a day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Penn Plax Shaggy Kabob
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Penn Plax Toys

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
from South Dakota
I have purchased several of these toys for my aviary. This toy is good for most size birds as it is versitle. It has chewey, preening and climbing written all over it. Excellent way to get all the needs met in one toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.