petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors

PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors

Durable aluminum dog doorIdeal for a number of different wall materials including all types of siding, stucco, and brickTelescoping Tunnel allows for installation into walls 4.75" to 7.25" thickBest Wall Mount Dog Doors Double Flap system insulates for energy efficiency Easy do-it-yourself kit complete with instructionsSku / Model: 1050893 / PPA11-10915; 1050885 / PPA11-10916; 1050877 / PPA11-10917
Average Customer Rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
7
64 out of 72(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Review 1 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fits snugly and no air leaks

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from boulder, co
like it, wish this would have been my first doggie door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For Cats

PostedJune 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Orange Beach, AL
Building a house and builder suggested a wall entry so as not to weaken the door. plus later if we did not need it, it would be easier and less costly to enclose.
Did my research on the internet and chose this door. can not wait to have the cats use it. I have used other products from PetSafe. They have good products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog door definitely delivers!

PostedJune 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hutchinson, KS
After our lab puppy ate her dog house I needed to build a new one. I decided to build inside the shed in the space underneath the work bench. After the box was insulated and built, I decided a hole in the wall would not protect my dog from the mosquitoes and stable flies. I looked on the Internet and found this dog door perfect. It installed very easy. It seals up great to keep out insects and the extreme weather. After feeding my dog in it a couple of days, she now uses the door freely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality for the price

PostedJune 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
This is good quality, easy to install and looks nice in our new home. Well built and dog loves it! He is a whippet and we got the Large size - it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Door, Perfect Fit

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Palm Desert, CA
I was hesitant to exchange the existing doggie door but it was 10 years old and falling apart. Finally had to find
a replacement and am so glad I did. The new pet door is easy to install and my Bichon had no trouble learning
to go through the two flaps, This is a sure way
to keep out bugs and frogs and other critters, and is
easy exit and entrance for my dog to come and go as
he pleases. I am so pleased with this product and
would highly recommend it. My dog is 23 pounds and
this is a good fit for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent pet door

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from green valley, az
our 5 pound puppies learned to use the door in 15 minutes. She comes into the house with no problem. She does not like to be outside alone so we are still working on that. She goes to the pet door to let us know she wants out but does not go out unless one of us goes out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wall Dog Door - size medium

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
We did have to make a little modification due to a previous dog door. The previous flap broke and the replacement flaps are no longer available. Once we made the modifications, the door was fairly simple to install. The flaps seem to seal really well. My dog is a little unsure of the 2 flaps, but I think she will be fine in a day or two. Pretty happy with this door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good door

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
The door won't last for ever but will work for us, it was easy to install. The door flaps are durable and easy to replace or remove.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petsafe Wall Mount Dog Door

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
This is the greatest item you could get your dogs (and yourself). My poodle and little mixed dog - 10 pounds each - have had their door for 3 days. They are continually running in and out and have so much more gusto for life; appear happier, dog laughing - more wags, smiles and play wars than they ever had before. No accidents since installation. Very sturdy and Installation was a snap (only 2 hours, with breaks - for wall install!!!) My 8th dog door; I would rate this a 15 on a 1-10 scale! Do yourself and your dogs a favor - if possible at all put this door in, you won't regret it. Within 24 hours dogs who'd never used a door were acting as they had one all their lives - no training problems what-so-ever. Can't say enough about this door; being in the wall is so much more sturdier and more convenient than in a door!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

like the looks of this product

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mexico
Our item was delivered quickly and in excellent condition... it fits well and works well for my three dogs...very happy with this item...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greeley, Co
Easy to install but poor quality product. The aluminum door frame pulled away from the plastic frame the first time the dog went thru it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from East Central
I'm a perfectionist and looked high and low for a dog door. Yes the aluminum part of the product description confuses buyers, but believe me it is sturdy, well built, and your pooch would never want a metal door to have to push open. It is made for a wall and there is nothing extra that needs to be purchased (a plus). I am so happy that the company changed the color to a beige color. Perhaps the most important thing besides construction, and price is that up front I know that later I will be able to purchase replacement door panels should I need them. With the thickness and quality of them, it will probably be many years down the road.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doggie door meets our expectations.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Roanike, BA
We installed this door where our previous door was installed. The other one was a Pet Safe also but just one flap. It fit fine with a couple of minor adjustments. Is getting colder now and we can see a big difference in the two flap vs one flap.
Much less cold air is felt inside. Our dog took a few days to get used to the double flap but uses it with no problem now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs luv it

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Giddings TX
Well built and found installation simple. Dogs love the freedom and the double flap seals well. Would recommend to all home owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

looks better on paper

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from west virginia
While it is called an aluminum dog door the only metal pieces are the frames around the entry points. The rest is plastic. When I attempted to attach it to the wall the screws pulled through. I found another way to attach it since I didn't want to wait weeks to send it back and get a new one. One week later the inside aluminum frame screws pulled through the plastic. The only quality thing about ithis dog door is the seal on the flap is very good and keeps the weather out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best one yet!

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Salem, Oregon
We've installed a pet door in every house we have ever lived in. We would install one to the outside of a wall, cut through and finish trim the inside. Besides the tunnel effect of a framing lumber interior that would never come clean, the inside the room appearance was never something to write home about. This is great solution for wall entry. With two flaps and overlapping tunneling it really seals for the weather. We sprayed foam inside around it to stop any wind leaks. The cats took some adjusting to two doors, but that only took a day. It looks good too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lasted a month

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Morristown, TN
We have 4 dogs and kept this open very close to 100% of the time and it broke in a month. The middle is cheap plastic and broke very quickly and easily, along with where the screws go in, so that heavy duty metal front that IS good quality fell off! Terrible!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap parts, cheap warranty, cheap company

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
I have gone through 2 of these doors in just over a year and Pet Safe refuses to send me a replacement since it has been over a year since initial purchase and over 90 days since they sent the last replacement(each door lasted about 7 months). A warranty such as this tells me they have as little faith in their product as I do. If you have a toy dog their product may work for you, but my 50 pound dog is too much for even the large door to handle.
For anyone looking to buy this door, here is a heads up of what to expect. The break will occur where the metal frame with the flap screws into the plastic that makes up the "telescoping" part of this dog door. The plastic is not strong enough to hold up to usage and the screws will eventually crack and break the plastic where they screw in, preventing new screws from grabbing hold for an easy fix. For me this happened right around 6-7 months of ownership each time.
I strongly recommend spending your money elsewhere and saving yourself the hassle of dealing with them and installing the door multiple times.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more Flies

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Maricopa, AZ
We used to leave the back door open so the dogs could go in and out. Finally just broke down and purchased this dog door for the wall since the sliding door is too tall for any to go in the door itself. It worked out well and the dogs like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet/Doggie Door

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ruby Valley, NV
We recieved our pet door with free shipping which was nice. It was of good construction.
Easy to install. Everything fit snug and looked nice too. By the end of the day our 2 dogs and 2 puppies had it mastered with no reservations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>