petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors

PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors

Durable aluminum dog doorIdeal for a number of different wall materials including all types of siding, stucco, and brickTelescoping Tunnel allows for installation into walls 4.75" to 7.25" thickBest Wall Mount Dog Doors Double Flap system insulates for energy efficiency Easy do-it-yourself kit complete with instructionsSku / Model: 1050893 / PPA11-10915; 1050885 / PPA11-10916; 1050877 / PPA11-10917
Average Customer Rating:
4.262 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
6
54 out of 61(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Review 1 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
YourForgiven
from East Central
I'm a perfectionist and looked high and low for a dog door. Yes the aluminum part of the product description confuses buyers, but believe me it is sturdy, well built, and your pooch would never want a metal door to have to push open. It is made for a wall and there is nothing extra that needs to be purchased (a plus). I am so happy that the company changed the color to a beige color. Perhaps the most important thing besides construction, and price is that up front I know that later I will be able to purchase replacement door panels should I need them. With the thickness and quality of them, it will probably be many years down the road.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doggie door meets our expectations.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mollybee
from Roanike, BA
We installed this door where our previous door was installed. The other one was a Pet Safe also but just one flap. It fit fine with a couple of minor adjustments. Is getting colder now and we can see a big difference in the two flap vs one flap.
Much less cold air is felt inside. Our dog took a few days to get used to the double flap but uses it with no problem now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs luv it

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
TXVarmint
from Giddings TX
Well built and found installation simple. Dogs love the freedom and the double flap seals well. Would recommend to all home owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

looks better on paper

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
wvdogowner
from west virginia
While it is called an aluminum dog door the only metal pieces are the frames around the entry points. The rest is plastic. When I attempted to attach it to the wall the screws pulled through. I found another way to attach it since I didn't want to wait weeks to send it back and get a new one. One week later the inside aluminum frame screws pulled through the plastic. The only quality thing about ithis dog door is the seal on the flap is very good and keeps the weather out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best one yet!

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
fluffyone
from Salem, Oregon
We've installed a pet door in every house we have ever lived in. We would install one to the outside of a wall, cut through and finish trim the inside. Besides the tunnel effect of a framing lumber interior that would never come clean, the inside the room appearance was never something to write home about. This is great solution for wall entry. With two flaps and overlapping tunneling it really seals for the weather. We sprayed foam inside around it to stop any wind leaks. The cats took some adjusting to two doors, but that only took a day. It looks good too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lasted a month

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
buffy6161
from Morristown, TN
We have 4 dogs and kept this open very close to 100% of the time and it broke in a month. The middle is cheap plastic and broke very quickly and easily, along with where the screws go in, so that heavy duty metal front that IS good quality fell off! Terrible!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap parts, cheap warranty, cheap company

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Xeno
I have gone through 2 of these doors in just over a year and Pet Safe refuses to send me a replacement since it has been over a year since initial purchase and over 90 days since they sent the last replacement(each door lasted about 7 months). A warranty such as this tells me they have as little faith in their product as I do. If you have a toy dog their product may work for you, but my 50 pound dog is too much for even the large door to handle.
For anyone looking to buy this door, here is a heads up of what to expect. The break will occur where the metal frame with the flap screws into the plastic that makes up the "telescoping" part of this dog door. The plastic is not strong enough to hold up to usage and the screws will eventually crack and break the plastic where they screw in, preventing new screws from grabbing hold for an easy fix. For me this happened right around 6-7 months of ownership each time.
I strongly recommend spending your money elsewhere and saving yourself the hassle of dealing with them and installing the door multiple times.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more Flies

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
RunnerHalfs
from Maricopa, AZ
We used to leave the back door open so the dogs could go in and out. Finally just broke down and purchased this dog door for the wall since the sliding door is too tall for any to go in the door itself. It worked out well and the dogs like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet/Doggie Door

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvaterrier
from Ruby Valley, NV
We recieved our pet door with free shipping which was nice. It was of good construction.
Easy to install. Everything fit snug and looked nice too. By the end of the day our 2 dogs and 2 puppies had it mastered with no reservations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality Plastic

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
DEdog
from DE
The plastic frame/tunnel is too thin and too brittle. The four screws that hold the metal frame to the plastic frame/tunnel stripped right away. I had to use screws with nuts. After 8 months the plastic broke around 2 of the nuts and they pulled through. I have now put steel plates behind them and will see how long that lasts. As the plastic is brittle I am sure it will crack again. For what these cost spend your money on another brand that has a better design.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

smaller than last one

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
readingdogs
from Iowa
We have had a Petsafe door for about 8 years and when doing some remodelling decided to update our dog door as well. The new door is beautiful and now has 2 flaps for our wall entry to really help keep out the wind etc. HOWEVER, it is several inches smaller than our previous door. Both times we ordered a large for our Belgian Malinois. One weighs about 80 bls and the other now has arthritis. Neither one of them will use it!!! I wish we had known it was going to be that much smaller and we would have ordered a larger size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very strong and keeps weather out well!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
SusieQ71
from Tulare, CA
I had this professionally installed by a handyman. After using treats to train my dog it only took a couple days for her to go in and out as she pleased. The only problem was inside the wall the plastic tunnel bowed a little from the side instead of flushing against the wall but the handyman remedied that easily by drilling and putting screws to hold it. The handyman also added a silicone sealer around the frame of both sides of the dog door to keep it weather and bug proof. I like that it completely stops the cold weather from coming into the house. I also like that I can put the sliding door on either the inside of the house or the outside when I don't want my dog to go in or out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ok but watch corners

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alan2012
from reno nv
Was a good buy vs others out there you have to buy parts separate. But when doing drywall you will need to cut corners out more for it has rounded pieces in corners bigger then cutout, so as not to damage drywall or panel on outside. Best thing bought for dogs.Also bought dog house on outside and cut hole in back to camouflage hole and if someone looks in back all they see is dog house.Then I chalked outside rim just to give it a extra seal but you don't half to. Product does what it says and unless you own a large sliding door this works better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Aluminum?

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
joec2303
from Bellevue, Ne
Product showed up with the inner plastic frame already broken. The only reason I had to buy this was because the previous owner of our house installed a different type of door that is no longer manufactured so I couldn't just replace the flaps. Ended up just taking the metal frame off of the cheap plastic outer frame and installed my own wood frame.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice door

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
rescuehazel
from Kokomo, IN
door is very nice and well-made. I don't regret buying it and I would recommend it to friends/family. I do regret paying for 2 day shipping. I ordered it on thursday and didn't get it until monday since it wasn't shipped via the post office.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a wonderful product that ANYONE can install! Trust me!!!

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bigpugmomma
from Oklahoma
For a long time, we have had the doggie-door panel that goes with a sliding glass patio door. It was okay, but I wanted a doggie-door that would work around my lifestyle, not the other way around. So I decided to give this a try. I asked a local handyman service to give me a quote, but the guy freaked out, "You can't install a doggie-door through a wall!" Just watch me. I did it! Girls, let me tell you--you can do it! Get yourself a drill, a grinder (if your home is made of brick), and get dirty (tip: after you cut the interior wall, be sure to cover it well. If you don't, any dust created from cutting the exterior wall will enter your house. It will get VERY dirty and dusty; you'll have to clean your whole house!) I finished the doggie-door WITHOUT ANY HELP FROM ANY MAN (not a man-hater, but that "handyman" was very condescending about the project). Installation was easy IF YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TOOLS. Make sure you do. After cutting the wall, the rest of the set-up is a piece of cake. Drill a hole on the outside before screwing on the door frame. The only negative thing I will say about the door is that the plastic frame will crack if you aren't careful. If the hole in the wall is not large enough, it will bow out, so be sure to make your cuts large. I had to call customer service about an extender (my wall was wider than the inside frame, it didn't meet flush on the inside), they were very friendly and helpful. I was sent (free of charge) a sheet-metal extender for the inside. No one else could see the flaw without the extender, but I knew it was there. Also, as far as training is concerned, for the first day (full day) remove the outer door (not the frame, just the door. It screws off.) Let your dog get used to using the door. Once they figured out that it's actually a door you can screw the other door back on. They'll get it pretty fast.
Bottom line: You don't have to settle with putting a doggie-door in the "normal" spots. If you don't want to deal with one in plain sight, get this product. I love it. My dog (and cat) love it. Plus, the fact that it was done by me, I'm proud!
Woman-1 Handyman-0
Woo-hoo!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
MochaLink
from Phoenix
I think the small one should only be for pets up to 10 pounds. The medium is huge compared to the small one, but it is a high quality product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our dog took right to it

PostedApril 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
TrevorHolly
from Tucson, AZ
Fairly good instructions. Fairly easy to install. We had to use the toggle screws to install it. Good price - - surprising that it was less to buy it online than at the store! Plus, free shipping! Go figure!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cyndieb57
from Coeur d Alene, ID
This was so easy to install in our wall. It has lived up to expectations. The wind blows here alot and not once have we had a breeze come thru it. Both my Springer and my Corgi use the door. My cats on the other hand don't want to use it. Maybe because of the double flap. We are hoping they will use it eventually. It is a great door and will recommend to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wall Entry Door

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Calhoun
from Fullerton, CA
It was easy to install. My dog got use to it right away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>