petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food

Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food

Optimal levels of calcium help control bone growth to ensure proper developmentNatural DHA from high quality fish oil supports healthy brain and eye developmentAntioxidant multivitamins C and E protect the immune systemMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
62 out of 68(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Review 1 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only one that will do!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
We've tried a few dog foods that didn't agree with our dogs. Our vet recommended this one and it totally works for the pups now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not "top of the line" - horrible ingredients, horrible food

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
I don't know why anyone still feeds their pets anything made by Science Diet. The shelter I adopted my dog from sent us home with a bag of this large breed puppy food, we got home and she would barely touch it. Her coat was dull and coarse, she didn't have a solid bowel movement for the three weeks I tried to keep her on it, and she had barely gained any weight in the two months since I found her and she went to the shelter to when I switched her to a better food. After doing extensive research on ingredients and brands, it's no wonder she wasn't doing better!
This food is junk, and the first five ingredients? Ground Whole Grain Corn, Chicken By-Product Meal, Corn Gluten Meal, Liver Flavor, and Dried Beet Pulp. The first five in any real "Top of the Line" food? An identifiable, human-food-grade protein source (no by-products, leftover bits, or unidentifiable "meals"), and real nutritious fruits and veggies.
Since switching my dog to Blue Buffalo large breed she has gained weight, her coat is soft, smooth, and shiny, there is no more eye goop in the morning or stinky ears, she has normal, solid bowel movements, and is happy and energetic. We may try Merrick or Wellness if she gets tired of Blue. These brands may be more expensive, but besides needing to feed 2 cups less per day (for her weight, anyway), your dog will be healthier.
Better food with better ingredients = fewer trips to the vet and a noticeably happier, healthier dog. Do your dog a favor and don't feed them this corn-based junk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This food is the top of the line!

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Grafton, WV
My Great Dane puppy really enjoys this food! It has him happy, healthy, and playful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy and tastes great too

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lynchburg, VA
I started out Roxie,our 4 month old Springer on a different premium puppy food at the breeder's recommendation. I noticed that Roxie was urinating frequently and making very little progress with housetraining. A urinalysis revealed a ph of 8.0. After a course of antibiotics and a ph reducer another urinalysis showed no change in the PH, her vet suggested that some puppy foods are high in mineral content and suggested switching to Hill's science diet. That did the trick! Her urine ph is now ~ 6.5 and she is making progress with housetraining. She loves the food as well (she makes piggy noises as she eats). In addition her coat was dull but now is so shiny sunglasses are required when she is out in the sunlight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent, healthy food for a picky eater

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from waukesha, WI
Our dog, Maxwell is a very picky eater. Our vet recommended we feed him large-breed puppy food to ensure he would get the vitamins and minerals he needs. We fed him three other products which he promptly refused to eat. I tried Science Diet reluctantly, and he loved it. Sometimes I add peanut butter, which he practically inhales. I am so happy and relieved we found a healthy food he enjoys eating. By the way- Petco is MARVELOUS about returning online purchases in their store. I am Petco loyal for many reasons- but the hassle-free returns is on the top of the list.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good food

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from forked river,nj
saved money ordering online and got free delivery too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Fort Defiance, AZ
Our vet recommended Science Diet Large Breed for our English Mastiff ever since he was 3 months old. He has been on it for about 8 months now, and he honestly loves the food. The bad part: he has developed dermititis because the food contains corn, which most mastiffs are allergic to. This food is filled with by products and fillers. Do not recommend if you want your dog to eat a good balanced diet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My girl deserves the best, not this.

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
My vet recommended Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food when I brought Luna, my Siberian Husky, in for her first 8 week puppy wellness check. I was given a sample of this food, and quickly switched her off of her previous brand, (Puppy Pedigree). She's been on this brand for approximately 8 weeks now, the price is average, she always scarfs down her meals, and has a voracious appetite. I was also pleased with her eliminations, (she had been having problems with loose stools while on her previous food). Unfortunately, upon further research of the ingredients in this food, I became VERY disappointed. It has insufficient meat content, with the main source being, "chicken by-product meal", and has a lot of filler. I am saddened that my vet would recommend such a poor quality food for my Luna. I will be switching her to a new food with more hearty ingredients the next time I make a trip to PETCO.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

big pupappointment

PostedApril 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from louisville, ky
I somewhat agree with the x-science diet reviewer. i have fed science diet since 1984 and find the puppy formula wanting. lots consumed and lots in waste. my chat with the 800 # got coupons thrown at me. i will use the adult formula in three months with less fed and less waste. i think science diet can do better for a puppy chow formula
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for large breed puppies

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Dulles, Va
My growing little Lab JASMINE just loves the taste of this food it fills her up and gives her just what she needs. A friend recomended it before we even got her home, her coat has been beautiful and her appitie is healthy she's not to fat and not too thing perfect food for those breeds at risk of being over weight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst

PostedFebruary 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nothing but corn, fillers and byproducts. How can they call this a premium food? My vet recommended it and my dog ate it fine, but the cleanup was constant and her skin was flaky. Then I read the ingredients. I researched and found a much better food at a comparable price. My dog is doing excellent now and I am taking my dog to a different vet. No more Science Diet for my pets!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

vet recommended, puppy approved!

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Sunny Florida
I've been going to the same VCA vet for the past year now and my two puppies and I love him! He has always recommended Science Diet for my two pups and when I finally tried it all three of us were astounded with the results!! For once my Ausie Mix actually chewed the large crunchy pieces and my Whippet Lab Mix actually enjoyed it too! Feeding time is no longer a hassel because I know they both can eat the same food and get amazing results such as a softer shiney coat and more energy to be puppies!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food

PostedMay 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have a new German Shepherd puppy, Maxx. The Vet told me this food was an excellent choice for large breed dogs. It is a bit more expensive but I believe it is worth it...he has done so good. He will be eating it the rest of his first year!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best DogFood Ever

PostedFebruary 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
My dog has used this food ever since he was a puppy. He has a sensitive stomach, and this food is perfect for him. A little on the expensive side, but it is so worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hills Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food

PostedFebruary 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Camarillo, CA
I became the proud parent of a four month old Boxer three months ago and have tried several foods with him. Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food has worked wonders; not only has it helped with Diesel's sensitive stomach, but it has also made my job of cleaning up after him a whole lot easier (if you know what I mean). He absolutely loves it, and I would recommend this product to any individual who owns or is considering getting a puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puppy's favorite food

PostedFebruary 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Long Island
With a very fussy puppy my vet recommended science diet for him and now he eats with no problems he actually gets excited when I bring the bag into the house
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Growth is Right!

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Fort Collins, CO
We bought this when we got a lab/husky mix puppy from a friend a few years ago. We expected that he was supposed to get to maybe about 50-60 pounds, but he grew and grew to about 90 some pounds!! My friend said that he was was the biggest puppy that they had ever had come from one of their dogs. Me and my parents both think it was due to the nutrition that he got, because the other dogs and puppies had to fight for their food. Great work Science Diet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hill's Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Science Diet Large Breed Puppy Food

PostedJanuary 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Griffin, GA
I have raised my one year old pitbulls on this and they look great and are very healthy. They also love it! Excellant product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.