petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KONG Flyer Dog Toy

KONG Flyer Dog Toy

Flexible and durableAccurate flight, soft catchNatural rubberMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
4
42 out of 51(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Review 1 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a frisbee

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Saint Louis, MO
I bought this online so I didn't get to feel or test out the product in the store before buying it. I do regret doing this because I'm really not a fan of this "frisbee" if that's even what you want to call it because it doesn't fly!! I paid the extra money for this frisbee or "flyer dog toy" because my dog likes to tug. After he catches a normal frisbee in the air it's hard as heck to yank the thing from his mouth. I wanted something more heavy duty because the plastic frisbees are all chewed up. However, when I got this in the mail and threw it for the first time it wobbled in the air and then fell to the ground. It's not a frisbee at all. So, if that's what you're buying this for, I recommend finding a better suited flying dog toy for your little pup.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kong flyer

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Granada hills, CA
It seems they are making this flyer a little thicker so that it lasts a little longer. Previous flyers seemed to be a little on the flimsy side. My dogs just love this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made for destructable dogs

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
My dog loves this Kong Frisbee and he hasn't broken it yet, even after a few months of everyday play. We play catch and tug-of-war with this Kong Flyer. One of the best toys I've ever purchased for my very destructible dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Turns out Kong is not indestructible

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Orleans, LA
A Kong frisbee seemed like a good idea, but it took my doodle 5 minutes to chew it to bits.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not last

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hudson,MA
I bought this for my dog, who isn't particularly hard on toys. But he chewed this apart after only a couple uses. Definitely don't allow your dog to chew on this at all. He will rip it apart. It's made of thin rubber, that doesn't seem to be particularly durable. As a chew toy, it won't last, so be sure to take it away from your dog when not playing fetch.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kong Frisbee

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Poughkeepsie, NY
My dog loves the Frisbee. Quality is much better than I expected. She shakes and chews the Frisbee in between allowing me to throw it. She has chewed through 2 of these Frisbees. Wish I could find something stronger. I gave it a 2 for durability only.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Frisbee

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Thornton, CO
We lost a few, but haven't destroyed any yet. They fly great, which gives them a chance to get out and catch it. It's softer than the plastic ones and a lot more sturdy than the floppy ones. We'd go through the floppys at about one a month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great exercise toy

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Darien Center NY
My blue heeler loves to chase frisbees, but detroys the plastic ones. He shakes and bites this one, but has yet to make a hole in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kong tough

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from california
the kong flyer lives up to kong's tough reputation. my pup loves a good tug in between tosses and this disc can handle the abuse---no tearing or teeth marks and still flies great. also love that it's soft on his mouth and made in the usa so i don't have to worry about him hurting his mouth or being in contact with a lot of toxins. highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great chew toy!!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from VA
This is wonderful for our 1 year old GSD who has teeth that can usually destroy any toy very quickly! It is very flexible, kind of soft actually. Our dog carries it in her mouth folded up, whole, sometimes with a tennis ball too. We haven't tried using it yet as an actual Frisbee, but as a chew toy for inside the house, it is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

KONG FLYER

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NASHVILLE, TN
FLEW VERY WELL BUT DURABILITY WAS LACKING. HAD ABOUT 2 DAYS WORTH OF PLAY IN ON 3 OCCASIONS TO AVAIL TORN AN NEED TO DISPOSE. WITH THE KONG NAME I WOULD EXPECT MORE DURABILITY.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this toy

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
My dog has had his kong "frisbee" for almost 2 years. It continues to hold up very well. He goes everywhere with it and even sleeps with it. If we ever lose it, we will be in big trouble!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kong rubber frisbee

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
Our Kong frisbee gets a lot of use with our resident BC. It also becomes the object of a tug-of-war game frequently. Our first one lasted about 2 years with said abuse so we just replaced it. It's better on her teeth than a traditional plastic frisbee.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cool but weak.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Muskogee,OK
I like it because even two humans can play catch, but while it took a little bit for my dog to pick it up she loved it. She didn't touch it when she was younger, and not until she was 6months did she start to use it. She played with it for about a month before it had a rip. I cut the rip off since it was starting to tear. Within a week after that the center started to come off. She didn't chew on it or anything other then fetch. She tugged it a couple times towards the end and I believe that is what cause it to break. I do like it, and if your dog plays frisbee well and releases easily or drops it at your feet.. this is great. If your dog likes to play keep away or chew/tug then no. My now 9month old puppy is an American Pit Bull Terrier so she does have very good jaw strength but is usually very gentle on her toys (our 2yr pit plays with puppy soft toys and doesn't destroy them lol).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

kong flyer dog toy

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from honolulu
I bought the 6"or 7"flyer for our little Staffordshire bull terrier and it's good but not the best. it'll last about 2 weeks using it about 10- 15 throws a day. The Kong puppy flyer lasted only 7 days, the full size flyer last about a month but is heavy for the little bully. it's good for the labs tho. But the large flyer is more durable than all the other tough brands except "ruff dawg" which is the best. the regular plastic Frisbees last only one day so it comes out cheaper with the good ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Easy Way to Enjoy the Afternoon

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lake Tahoe, CA
Pyrate is a pit/lab mix. He destroys nearly anything he can get his paws on. You name it; he's destroyed it - doors, beds, clothing, etc. Toys are even worse; most of the time, he'll shred something within about 20 minutes. I made that mistake buying a cheaper frisbee from a competitor. Within 5 minutes, it was a heap of wasted money.
This frisbee however, is a life saver. Pyrate goes bonkers for it; so much so that I've had to hide it from him so he won't destroy it. I've found that I will bring a towel with me, as the slobber collects pretty heavily on the inside rim. That said, I've seen him pull it, yank it, and do his best to puncture it, with no luck for over a year. We also live in Snow Country, and the bright red frisbee means you'll always find it.
As I've learned with Pyrate, no toy is indestructible - but I would much rather pay $$ for a toy that lasts a week, or a year, over a toy that barely gets out of the packaging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Peabody, MA
I have purchased Kong dog toys for many years due to their "durability" for heavy chewer dogs. This Flyer toy does not live up to its expectations. Within 30 minutes of play, my 2 yr old Golden Retriever had already pulled apart the edge of the Flyer. I had to take it away from him to prevent further damage to himself. A total waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia
Very good quality, nice product , my two German shepherd love it so much!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The "F" Word

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MA
We cannot say "frisbee" in our house because of this toy! Our puppy is an aggressive chewer so we don't let him keep this to himself but it has lasted over a year just using it outside for fetch and tug. Being such a highly valued toy has also allowed me to use it as a training reward with great success!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KONG Flyer Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stands up to Tug-o-War

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buying cheap plastic dog frisbee's we go through in one day. One day at the park of our dogs chasing the frisbee then trying to rip it out of each others mouths lands it in the trash. The kong frisbee is great, we have had it for about three weeks now and it is good as new (there are some teeth marks but no sign of tearing), still flying great. It requires a little more effort to throw it a distance but totally worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>