petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion

Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion

Spacious ferret cage is big enough for twoEasy to assembleFolds flat for simple storageThree metal mesh platformsThree metal mesh rampsThree access doorsPlenty of room for toys and ferret supplies
Average Customer Rating:
4.349 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
5 stars
72
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
5
95 out of 106(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 67 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Review 21 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Marshall Folding Mansion

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
chinsgalore
from Chugiak, AK
We are very happy with our Marshall Folding Mansions. The only improvement could be to the plastic tray. It is difficult to keep the bedding in the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price, amazing size

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
carefree123
from Minnesota ~ land of 10k frozen lakes
I bought this cage for my family's three pet rats so that they would have more room to grow. They have SO much room and are so much happier. One of them has always been extremely timid, and since being moved into the new cage has become excited and friendly.
The concerns about the wiring being too large on the sides was not a problem for us. Our rats are six months old and are already too large to fit through the bars. With the wire platforms I took precautions to prevent problems with their feet getting stuck, although, really, the spacing is too compact for anything to happen.
As for the small litter pan, it doesn't make a problem here. I have a small litter box with biodegradable litter in the lower level. The rats learned what it was for within about half an hour and haven't had an issue with any mess.
The instructions could have been a tad bit better. It was incredibly simple to put together though. Truly the only part that gave us difficulty was trying to figure out which part was top or bottom. Though once we realized which was which we both felt somewhat stupid for it taking us so long, lol.
Needless to say I love the cage. The rats are so much more energetic and adore running up and down all the levels chasing each other in play.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Cage

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
chindaddy
from San "Antonio, TX
This cage is large and very easy to assemble. Could use a barrier around the bottom to keep the wood shavings in, but very good for the price, lots of access doors and most of all...the chins love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Ferret cage for the money

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
sommersof69
from Lockport, NY
The cage is large and gives our ferret plenty of room to run around. The only problem with the cage is the base pan is cheap and flimsy and showed up cracked otherwise a good buy for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs Lots of Work

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
DoubleTroubleWuzzy
from Albuquerque, NM
I loved the height and the width of the cage. However, for a company that has produced hundreds of generations of ferrets, you'd think they would know that a high plastic bottom would be essential - the pan that comes with the cage doesn't even entirely cover the bottom and does not cover any sides. My ferrets are babies so, potty training is coming along, but as it stands now they back up in to any corner in the cage or even just the wall of the cage and the waste just falls between the bars and onto the floor. Also, the ramps and shelves move too easily and my wuzzys can just pop them up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect!!!!

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
chinski
from seattle, wa
We bought this for my teenage daughter so her chinchilla would have more space to run around. It was so easy to assemble, the girls did it without even asking me for help. It's lightweight and they were able to get it up the stairs. It's so big, and so affordable! My only concern was that being collapsible it wouldn't be sturdy, but it is. It's perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marshall Folding Ferret Mansion

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Luv2shop10
from Muskegon, MI
I love this cage! After the last cage I put together, this one was a piece of cake. It is huge. My chinchilla definately has a lot of roaming room. She is pretty spoiled so all her toys made the last cage cramped. This one I could spread them all out in and still have room for more. The pull out tray is exciting as well as cleanup will be easier as well. Electra has plenty of room for a playmate now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy, hassle free cage

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roosteroby
My husband and I bought this cage for our 2 ferrets. We absolutely love this product. It was so easy to put together and is even easier to clean. Our babies love all of the space and we could not have asked for anything more. The fact that the cage is on wheels makes it easy to move when cleaning and the latches are good and strong so the ferrets cannot escape. We cannot say it enough, we love this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Iguanas!

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
guanalovr
from Boise, ID
My buddy has this set up for his younger iguana (2-3 feet) and as far as i can tell he loves it! He did some customization to make it more iguana friendly but it works perfect! Definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

mansion cage

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
babyboy1
from tampa fl
we love this cage and so dose are ferret it got alot of room in it for him I am so glad we got this one
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Flimsy and escapable

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
PhoebeFerret
from Spokane WA
This cage seemed like a great deal for its size, but its very noisy and a little cramped for a ferret. Also the bottom lifts up and my ferret was able to escape out of it, so you have to tie it down or put a pen around it. Once its together its very hard to readjust. I snapped off one of the arm pegs just trying to lift it. Its really a hastle. Probably better for rats or smaller animals.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The collecting tray is far to shallow.

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrellerbe
from Laurel,MD
After only a few minutes of my iguana being in this cage, the Repti Bark was everywhere. The lower tray is simply to shallow to.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ferret Home.....

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
SharkyJ1
Yes, we ordrer the BIG home off on line. We put it together, it's really BIG for out little babie; LOL, but he loves it now. The home was verry easy to put together; not hard at all. I would tell anybody to go get the same one for their Ferret.
Thank You.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Easy to Assembly

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
jaytee3
from Adrian, MI
This is a very nice cage. We have 5 Chinchilla's living in it and they are having a blast. Easy to get Chinny's for people to hold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stray away from this cage

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
dmphoto
from Southern Maryland
I purchased this cage for two ferrets that my wife and I adopted. Not my first time with these animals, but my old cage was not big enough for two so we purchased this unit. Unfortunately from the day we received this cage its been a disaster. The plastic liner was damaged when i opened the box. The casters on the bottom are cheap, do not roll or rotate well, and 2 of them did not fit into the bottom without a fair amount of hammering. (note this is suppose to be a tool free build). After assembly i noticed that all the ramps and different levels did not sit securely, so i cable tied everything down, as my ferrets managed to knock every ramp down in just a few minutes. After less than 6 month, i have had to build a new tray for the bottom and replace one level with a new platform. One of the casters broke of completely and the door always seems to come loose. Take my advice and look into other cages available here on the website, as this unit is in my opinion not of good quality or design.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

poor construction, but workable

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
twoferrets
When I opened the box and pulled out the cage a lot of bars were bent. I had to bend them back. Instructions are very poor. Had to tie down the ramps so the ferrets wouldn't knock them off. You pay a lot of money for poor construction. It is very roomy for my two ferrets, but the landings are very high and the ferrets fall off them sometimes and I'm worried that they will get hurt, so I put thick blankets on the bottom for padding. Overall if you don't mind a little extra work fixing bars and securing ramps it's a nice cage. Still think it's a little over priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Missing Piece

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
ShortStop88
from Roselle, IL
The cage was missing a piece, VERY INCONVENIENT!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the least bit impressed.

PostedMay 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
YeahNo
I bought this cage about a month ago, and it came to me with bars broken off. My litter boxes didn't fit in the cage because the horizontal bars are too high for the box to hang off of so my ferrets got the idea it was okay to go to the bathroom anywhere they wanted and since the shelves are all metal wire, they're poo gets mashed in the openings and cannot be cleaned unless you remove the top half of the cage to stick your fingers in it or remove the whole shelf. Also, when they go, it falls out of the cage all over the floor and causes a huge mess. Lastly, I've only had the cage for a month and one of the doors fell off completely and cannot be used for it is now zip-tied to the rest of the cage. Biggest waste of money I've ever spent.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ferret Luxury!

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
VictoriaQueenieSwinburne
from Lawrenceville, GA
Excellent home for my two ferrets. Lots of room on the bottom and the 3 ladders provide good climbing exercise. Easy to clean too, no awkward bending or twisting to clean hard to reach places because there are no hard to reach places.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Marshall Pet Products Folding Ferret Mansion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

what you want from a cage

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
caseyncalia4
from Montclair, CA
The cage is big enough for several ferrets. There are a few different levels for your ferret to run around, climb, and hangout in. The cage is easy to assemble and If I can do it ANYONE can! The cage is easy to clean and I love that it has wheels so when my boys Miko and Stanley make a big mess and it ends up outside their cage I can easily wheel it to a different area in order to clean up after them. The cage is affordable and sooo worth it!! Im very happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>