petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar

PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar

This PetSafe wireless receiver collar delivers mild static correction through two contact points that touch your pet's neckIf your pet crosses the established boundary, a correction will be sent to get your pet's attentionPetSafe wireless fence collars have customizable correction levels to match your pet's temperamentPetSafe wireless collars are safe and effectiveModel: PIF-275-19
Average Customer Rating:
4.306 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
31 out of 36(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Review 1 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless fence

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
doglover98765
from WI
Great. Just love it. Don't have to worry about my dogs running the neighborhood.. An no nstallation. Just set radius.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safety first

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
TroisChiens
from CLAYTON, NY
All three of our dogs are contained by our PetSafe Wireless System. We had to find a replacement collar in a hurry. It was not an easy task to find the proper model. After searching other places, we found exactly what we were looking for on the Petco website. We have found the PetSafe system to be the most reliable way to keep our dogs within our yard. We received the collar very quickly and at a very good price. Thanks to Petco, our dogs are all safe again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
JJJJJJJJJ
from Massachusetts
Very hard time getting the two collars I bought to connect to main unit. One collar finally connected, but only after I put a new battery in it: however that connection is unpredictable in that the collar starts beeping near the boundary and will not stop beeping even after it has been removed from the boundary zone. Great system if you buy the initial unit with its collar; otherwise, good luck.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wireless fence collar

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisua
from Silt, CO
The collar works great. We have a new dog and she learned the system quick. Now she stays home with no issues.
Thanks
Lisa
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to adjust and put on.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fall
from Reno, NV
My dogs love their wireless fence collars. They get to go all around the house and be outside and not run away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless collar

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
vagramster
from Berryville, VA
We recently adopted a hound mix from the local kennel. She is a sweetheart. She easily trained to the collar. I would recommend it to anyone who has the space outdoors to use one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely love it

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
getit
We have 2 big dogs one is a golden and one is a black lab. It works awesome. At first we did a higher setting then once they got use to it we lowered the setting. It is so easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Fence

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
bmwwyo
from Wyoming
We have had our PetSafe instant fence for a year now. We have two Dachsunds and have just added a lab pup. The colars work well for the smaller dogs (ours are about 14 lbs). They have no problems with them. The system is great for portability. We take it with for vacations and also for camping. The only down side is the battery life and replacement cost, but we still think it is worth it for the safety of our dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
LoveMyLabs99
from Bath, Maine
I have two Labs and they love to run. We only had room for one run so only one could go out at a time. This collar allows them both to go out and chase each other. It only took one day for them to learn the bonderies. Well worth the money!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Security System

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
BABYSMOMMY1703
from Coal Township, PA
I Just want to say how pleased we are with the Petsafe system. We purchased our system for "BABY" a Siberian Husky 8 years ago. Unlike some of the reviews I read it is now time to replace the collar. We have NEVER regretted this purchase, in fact, seeing Baby have the freedom to stay outside alone and run to his hearts content makes the investment well worth it. Batteries last as long as you would expect a battery to last. If you are considering this system, my advice is RUN out and but it NOW!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petsafe Wireless Containment System works great!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
lacijane
from California
Jack Russell Terriers are notorious for chasing after things, like deer, and never coming back! With this easy, right out of the box set-up, we NEVER had to worry about our dogs running off! Several other family members use one, as well. So, when we take our dogs along for a visit, all we have to do is insert a new battery near the unit, and our dogs stay close by at our other family's homes. I highly recommend the Petsafe Wireless Containment System to use at your home or on the road while traveling in a trailer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Fence EVER!

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Smontgomery
from Kernersville, NC
I bought this wireless system for our Siberian Husky. She's very smart, loves to run long distances and very FAST (about 30-40 mph) so I was a little hesitant about this new product. We trained her like they said, and then set the correction level on 3 (because she's only 50 pounds). Then it was time for the real test, a squirrel, she was only 5 five feet outside the boundary zone and she came running back faster than we've ever seen her run! She came back and sat on the porch! She's a little scared when it beeps or corrects her, but it stops in a few seconds and then she's fine. However the company doesn't back their products for more than 30-90 days, depending on what went wrong (not working correctly, batteries wearing out in 2 weeks, damage to the collar). It says the collar is waterproof, however the company only backs it against water damage for 90 days, so far so good though because we have 2 creeks on our property and she goes in them all the time. Treat the collar like a fine piece of jewelry because replacing it will cost you about $100. Overall, it's a great product! Our dog gets plenty of exercise now, and she's not tearing up stuff anymore (the cabinets, the kitchen floor, the walls) and everybody's happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

you gotta have this

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
dogmom2010
For those of you who can't afford an invisible fence and don't want to build a privacy fence...or maybe you live in an apartment and can't- this product is for you! Purchase the PetSafe System and plug it into an electrical outlet (ours is plugged inside our garage) and set the boundaries. Our dogs wear this wireless collar and know exactly where they can run in the yard. When they get close to the boundary, the collar beeps and the dogs know to turn around and go back.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Collars don't last

PostedNovember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
TwoDoggieMama
from Central Florida
This whole system works great, very easy to train our two small and medium sized terriers with it. Each collar is at different setting for each dog. But collars started shredding within 2 months. The electrical unit on the collar itself unscrews (the two prongs) and we will be trying to replace the unit onto a sturdier, regular dog collar so we don't have to spend money on this replacement collar. Also batteries only last about 4 months. Otherwise works quickly and effectively.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

solved our problem

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
SafeinMN
from Minnesota
We have 2 small dogs that love to chase rabbits and squirrels at our vacation home. We ruled out an invisible fence due to the size of the yard and the problems our neighbor had with his installation..This system has worked perfectly for us. The dogs are able to enjoy the yard and we know they won't be running away or across any road.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

safe and sound!

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
3d2c
My recent purchase of an extra Petsafe Wireless Receiver Collar was the perfect addition for our newest addition, a 60 pound Cane Corso named Maya. We adopted her and don't know much about her previous training, but she is energetic, strong and can be scary to the jogger passing by. We have two small dogs and the wireless fence and collar have worked well for them. I was a bit doubtbul of how it would work for a large dog, but the potential peace of mind was worth the investment and it really paid off. Maya understands the boundaries of our large enough yard and not only is she safe and sound, but so are the joggers, bike riders, dog walkers, etc ... who pass by. I'd highly recommend the Petsafe Wireless system!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must buy for all dogs!!

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
jenifer5831
We decided to get an invisible fence since our city laws do not allow fences in the front yard and the dogs could get out of the backyard fence. We were going to have a guy install all the wires and the cost would be 2000 dollars. We had to talk to our neighbor behind us to make sure his dog wasn't on the same electrical fence or the dogs would be able to go into either yard. He told us he didn't have an inground electrical fence anymore because it got struck by lightning and shorted out. So we asked what he had and he told us about this system. We researched it and found that it would only cost about 500 dollars for us since we had to buy an extra collar. We have two VERY big German Shepards. They learned in just under two days where their boundaries were. One of our dogs did break the fence at a lower setting but as soon as we bumped her up it kept her in. I would recommend this product to everyone. The benefits to this product compared to the in ground fences are cost, no digging up your yard, and you don't need to worry about lawn care affecting it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless fence

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rooster19
My 2 little yippie dogs were excellent escape artists that could get out of the any fence by digging under, jumping over, even climbing! This wireless fence system was a Godsend that gave me peace of mind. I didn't have very good luck with it with my boxer, but I may have been the problem since I didn't take enough time to train him properly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so great

PostedJune 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bev37
from Syracuse, NY
I had the invisible fence installed and placed the collar on my dog. About an hour after I let him out I get a call from my neighbor that he is in her back yard. he ran right through it. What a wast of time and money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Extra Wireless Receiver Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Could not live without

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
kybluesteyes
I have used this product for 4 years on my 2 small dogs. I love it!!!! I can let them out and not have to worry about them getting out of my yard. Also when I go visiting, the fence and the collars go with me!!!!!!! The only draw back is the batteries only last a couple of months. I just had to replace one of the collars because one of my dogs went swimming b4 I got it off and it shorted out. But cannot complain, it was 4 yrs old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>