petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles

Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles

Eliminate your need to bend over when picking up after your pet with this poop scooper and rake setVersatile poop scoopers set for clean-up on grass, gravel and cementFeatures rust-proof aluminum for durability and long wooden handles for convenienceWooden handles with molded, non-slip comfort grips
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
17 out of 24(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Review 1 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have been relying on my husband to look after scooping

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Scoopwoof
from NY
But finally had to take care of it myself. Very easy with this scoop and rake. I would recommend it highly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Poor Construction

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
flint54
from Montana
Scoop arrived detached from handle. The two were punch-riveted together which is a very cheap and very unreliable means of fastening. Should have used real rivets which might have cost two cents more. Customer service actually asked me if it came with a manual and told me it was not defective. An otherwise decent product is rendered useless by this extremely poor construction.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs a few adjustments

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
foreverwelsh
The scoop is nice and large. The handle just needs to be angled back slightly to make raking into the pan easier. The rake's tines were so curled that the piles just stayed laying in it's cradle. I bent the tines straight (as in a leaf rake) by standing on the tines on our concrete patio and pulling up on the handle. Now it works just wonderfully. Overall I am satisfied with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
ivye
from Iowa
I had this scoop for two months and it was not overly used when the tray came unriveted to the pole. The last one I had lasted 10 years and this one 2 months. I should have read the other reviews, seems others have had the same trouble and of course my 60 day return policy is up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Second purchase

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
WGSDog
I recently just purchased this item for the second time. Unfortunately I should have gone with my gut...after using the scoop with rake twice, the scoop broke off the handle rendering the item useless. This is the second time this has happened with the exact same product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Yard Product!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
DeefromAz
from San Tan Valley, Az.
Our previous set was in bad shape, and, couldn't find another one., this one from Petco is far superior to the one we had, I surprised my husband with it., he uses it to pick up leaves every day, from the lawn, saving the old set for the dog waste function.
My husband, especially liked the longer handles on this set.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Scooper

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ameja
from Rva
Sturdy and reliable. The rake does curve at the blades. This feature makes it a little more difficult to scoop into the shovel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PET SCOOPER!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
swill
from so.california
My husband and i love this scooper, not only is it easy to use (the rake & scoop) without bending over, we also use this for scooping up weeds and other yard debris.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Scoop & Rake

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
SEbert
from Erie, PA
I had an entire fenced yard to clean up after winter....having two dogs. What I had been using fell apart. Ordered this and it made very QUICK work of a what I thought would be a really big job. Sturdy, can do a lot at one time and get the job done quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
mygreatpyr
I would not recommend this item to anyone as I just received it and have spent a half hour trying to get the labels off. On the scoop I used a razor and hot water and then the stuff that is supposed to remove glue. Well it is still sticky. Sadley the label covered the entire scoop. I will be throwing it away. The wooden handle is loose as well which is another reason it it being trashed. I also tried to get the stickers off the wooden handles with no success, as it would ruin the wood. The rake portion is fine other than I cannot get the label off without ruining the wood.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-35points
2of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product for the Price

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
kmsimone64
from Yakima, WA
I bought this set over 5 years ago and the scooper just today broke half off the handle. For the price you can't go wrong buying this product! We'll be headed to the store tomorrow to pick up a new set :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product needs extra help

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kiddo1206
from Greencastle, PA
Shovel/scooper part arrived disconnected. Dont think product could be used and hold together without reinforcement. Had to drill holes and add new screws to reconnect. Otherwise it's what I expected.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
3littledogs
from oregon
have use the product twice. really like it. have 3 small dogs. do "doody patrol" once a week and can pick it all up in one pass through the yard. sturdy and should last a long time. the only negative is the little connecting piece that hold the shovel and rake together for storage broke today, kind of a bummer, but does not affect the product use, that's the only reason i gave it four start instead of five. really nice not having to use sandwich bags and bending over to pick up mushy doody.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another good product

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Boliver
from Illinois
I graduated to this 'large' shovel and it is great... but the best part is the rake!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clean up Scoop and Rake

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianetcb
from Kirkwood, MO
This particular item is heavy duty and does a great clean up job. It is big enough to handle any large jobs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Georgi
from Nashua, NH
This item will come in handy. I like the wooden handles and easy-handling features. No more stooping!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bubba61
from Ellsworth, KS
This product is good and sturdy and a lot less bending to clean up the yard. Cleans the grass up too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Only one small problem

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
undercoverangel13
from Beloit, WI
I ordered the large scoop & rake...the scoop is great. It's made of solid steel (I think) and ofcourse wooden handle. The rake also is make of metal but flimsy. I was hoping it would be a little more sturdy but when you try to rake the poo into the scoop well, the rake gives way and it may take a couple tries to get it on the scoop or (and this happened) the rake flips the poo and your leg is covered. So then you wash your leg with the hose, finish cleaning the yard then go inside and hit the showers again. Alot of extra work due to a flimsy rake. All in all I'm happy with it but just wish the rake was better made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
walla2k5
No problems so far with this product. Beats using a shovel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Scoop and Rake with Wood Handles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it's supposed to do

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bensfamily
from CT
After looking around at several types "scoopers" we chose this one based on other peoples reviews and I'm glad we did. It feels sturdy and does a great job cleaning up. The features I like the best are the wooden handles and the fact that it is two pieces instead of one piece joined together. There is a small clip on top of the 'shovel' piece to clip the 'rake' on for storage. I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>