petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Claw Scoopers

Petco Claw Scoopers

Dog poop scooper with spring-loaded claw to eliminate bending overEasy to operate design makes it simple enough for practically anyone to usePoop scooper conveniently cleans up on grass, gravel and cementLight and durable plastic constructionEasy to clean and to maintain
Average Customer Rating:
3.05 / 5
3
 / 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
13
21 out of 40(52%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Claw Scoopers
Review 1 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington State
This is the fourth time I am buying this product. It is a back saver and I like that face that it is a one handed process, allowing me to hold a bag in my other hand. No, it is not perfect. The handle has broken in the exact same place 3 times, although two of the times it has had help. (It was run over by a car once and hit buy a baseball once.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost makes yard clean-up fun!

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
So far, I am impressed with this scooper. I really like how I can use this with one hand while my other hand holds the bag. The springs look a bit flimsy, but if they do happen to break, I hope to find replacements. Rest of scooper looks well made. Kind of pricey, but I would buy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good Quality

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from michigan
This is a great idea but it's not made well at all. The spring streches and the platic piece on the side broke really quick. NOT worth the price at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't Recommend

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought this scooper thinking it looked a little more heavy duty than some. I was wrong. It broke the second time I used it. Not worth the $30 spent on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

dog picker uper

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from phila.pa
this is the second on I bought, and the springs seem to exband after daily use, and the plasic parts seem to brake-off easy. good gripping , if it was made of metal, could be a better product, and now I see why it was made overseas.Don't even spend you money on this piece of junk,will get my old shovel out and do my scooping.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

flimsy scooper

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from olivebridge ny
This should be made in metal. The basket breaks fairly easily and in the winter in ice it is useless. Metal would hold up much better and not crack.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I recommend this product, however...

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from N Texas
I absolutely love this item's design, however, I buy it knowing that it has a short lifespan.. It's frustrating, but we have 6 big dogs so it's a must-have item and I haven't found a better design in other scoopers. The 'claws' enable you to clean up best. My husband has replaced parts with hardware which increases the lifespan. Until I find a scooper made with better quality materials, I'll keep buying this one...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back Saver

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
I bought two scoopers 1 1/2 years ago. I waited to
review because I wanted to see if these lasted.
This scoop has saved my back and is still in perfect
condition 1 1/2 years later. I never have to bend
to pick up my dogs business and when I get home I
have a bag ready to put the droppings in. Its easy and
not cumbersome. I don't understand why everyone doesn't use one. No more bending for me and my
back is holding up. This scoop is sturdy and easy to rinse off if needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Well, I did buy a few

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Asoko, NY
I like the concept of this scooper but the product seems flimsy. This is my third one. One of them I threw during winter when the ground was full of ice and snow and it broke as it hit the ground so that one was my bad. The other two broke through no fault of my own in less than a year. It's definitely a product flaw as it's always the handle that controls the spring that breaks. I've seen other reviews stating the same problem. I won't buy another one. I'll look for a similar back saving design with a sturdier build as it is only used twice a week by me and as such should last more than a few months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Claw Scooper

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Joliet, IL
I'm so glad I ordered this makes my life so much easier with 3 dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor scoop design limits effectiveness

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
The squeeze-to-close handle works fine just like other scoops. But this scoop has many small teeth that mesh together when closed. It does not maneuver well around the target. You rip up grass and crush and slice up the contents making it harder to get the job done. A more open design with fewer large opposing teeth lets grass escape and allows more accurate scooping. I wish I had stayed with that design. This scoop is nowhere near as good, but it costs about the same.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy, very poor product.

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from fremont, ohio
IT BROKE THE VERY FIRST DAY WE BOUGHT IT. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Claw Scooper - must have tool for all dog owners.

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Katy, Texas
The scooper has made my life easier and my backyard is alway clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco Scooper

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from florida
The scooper handle broke after about a month of owning it, and now the side has broken as well. We won't be buying another one of these..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good idea major design flaw

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from KS
Great idea but the quality/design is a problem. The handle breaks very easily, we've had probably 6 of these because they are so handy but the grab part of the handle breaks. Next time I'll reinforce it before using it, should be easier than trying to fix it after it's broke.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprised by negative reviews

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from franklin, ma
I purchased this in Oct 2011 and have used it daily since then and have had no problems with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Just bought this from my local store & used it for 20 minutes at home before it broke. It's going back today & getting a different brand. Wish I had read the reviews before I went to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor product

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Southington, CT
first scoop, plastic broke. Thin material, not surprised. Going back as soon as I can get back to the store. Don't waste your time or money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Methuen, Ma
I like these scoopers. They clamp tightly and grab on the first try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Claw Scoopers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PETCO Claw Scoopers

PostedMay 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Bloomsbury, NJ
I but almost all my dog supplies from Petco and I am pleased with the quality & price. Recently, I puchased the plastic large size claw scoop and it worked great for 5 times before it broke. nI was given a replacement and the replacement lasted 2 times before it broke in the same place.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PIECE OF JUNK!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>